We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exactly what we hoped for a honeymoon hotel in Lucca” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palazzo Tucci

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palazzo Tucci
Ranked #34 of 165 Lucca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Savannah Ga
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exactly what we hoped for a honeymoon hotel in Lucca”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

This hotel was just amazing. And the owner (we assume he was the owner) was so sweet. It was centrally located, and the restaurant across the street was delicious, so we didn't have to travel very far to come back after our meal!

The room was BEAUTIFUL! It was clean, there was a window that had a great view of the street, two nice large wardrobes, breakfast in the morning, free wifi… There's nothing I can say that was bad about this hotel. And the KEYS were beautiful, and it was SO cool to walk into the huge front doors to this hotel. It was a great honeymoon hotel. And we just got the Notturno room, which was a "double"… I think there are 2 other "better" levels of rooms. I can't even imagine!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thekuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    22
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
42
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed here for one night while in Lucca.
This property is the Tucci palace in the heart of Lucca. The halls, bedrooms, dining rooms (large enogh for wedding receptions) are absolutely breath taking. Gold woodwork, exceptional artwork on the walls, frescoed ceilings, etc.
We stayed in a room with a combined bedroom and family room which had a pull out sofa for our children.
The rooms were very beautiful and historic. The bathroom was absolutley gorgeous, large and modern.
The breakfast was truely exceptional.
The young woman who was our hostess at the hotel (we can't remember her name now) was one of the best if not the best on the trip.
The hotel was close to everything - you can walk to everywhere in Lucca from it.
They had car parking behind a gated wall which was very secure.
If you are arriving by car you have to drive into the heart of historic Lucca and manage some very narrow lanes.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelopalooza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

Our room must have once been a grand ballroom. My mouth dropped when I walked in, I had never seen anything like it in my life. I believe we were upgraded because it was our honeymoon and a bottle of champagne was waiting for us. I LOVED this hotel, if you are staying in Lucca, stay here, you won't regret it. You feel as if you are transformed in time, an experience I will never forget.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gmsilve2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY NY USA
Level Contributor
128 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

Some places are described as palaces. This is a genuine palace. Family owned and managed by a Marquis. The public rooms are "palatial" and are yours to roam as you please. Your private room will be so grand and comfortable that you will have no need to explore beyond. We were the only guests in the Palazzo that we were aware of, and luxuriated in our surroundings. If you think the rates are high, do it anyway. You will be telling friends and family about for a long time. PS: It is inexpensive by Rome standards.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
267 reviews
236 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 578 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2011

The moment I had laid eyes on the pictures of the red themed Loreley Suite at the Palazzo Tucci's website, I enquired about its availability and immediately cancelled the other booking with another popular Palazzo in Lucca. Before I travel, there were only a couple of reviews for the Palazzo Tucci, nevertheless, I took the plunge and was well rewarded!

To be frank, I knew before hand that the bella Loreley suite (so is the Wally suite) is facing a quiet street and there would be some traffic noises as the windows in this historical residence are not allowed by the authorities to be changed to double paned ones. However, I reckon that Lucca is not as busy as Rome or Florence, hence, I booked it with the fact that it will not be a very quiet place to stay. Fortunately, I slept very well during the night and due to jetlag, I am usually get up at 6 or 6.30am.

Upon arrival at the Lucca train station, we paid 9 euros for the taxi to the Palazzo, telling the driver to enter via 'Porta Santa Maria' and he had found the Palazzo with ease. Buzzed in and we were welcomed by Signore Carlo and his younger assistant. There was even an elevator to the 1st floor of this high ceilinged 400 year old Palazzo!

Shown to our beautiful and palatial suite, it was exactly as featured on their website - totally covered in shades of the romantic red, with white walls and ceilings lined with stuccos that are painted in solid gold! It was also very bright as it is a corner room with 4 tall and large windows. The whole suite was at least 50 sqm in size!

Sig. Carlo and his assistant were so efficient in helping to arrange a driver within half an hour of our arrival for us to tour Villa Torrigiani! This was indeed the most opulent and grand villa that we have visited around Lucca. The next best was Villa Reale, and please forget about Villa Grabau ...

The attached bathroom was huge in size with a comfortably sized bath tub (no shower and no screen here). So when you shower, do be discreet, otherwise the whole floor would be wet. The gigantic bed was also very comfy with the best pillow that we have found in the whole 10 days Italian trip - no neck nor back ache here!

Breakast the next morning was only average in range as the Palazzo has only about 6 rooms and suites. But quality of food is high and they even cook you eggs to order for free. And the common areas of the Palazzo, are needless to say, very opulent, very grande! It felt as though we were living in a historical museum of sorts.

Location of the Palazzo was really superb - it was only one block to the shopping street of Via Fillungo and two blocks to Piazza San Michele. Nearby on Via del Moro, you can even find the one and only Chinese ristorante within the walls of Lucca - good, cheap and hot food there! For Italian food, we dined twice at nearby Osteria Via San Giorgio - perfectto!

There was two bottles of free Mineral water for us in the suite (nice gesture) and the important Wifi was also very strong and free here - better than some 4 or 5 star hotels where it could be spotty or even chargeable! The Palazzo also offers special Winter rates and discounts for a stay of 2 nights or more.

Being more of a B & B establishment, Sig. Carlo is not always around. But his is reachable via an internal line since he is living upstairs on the 2nd floor and he even gives us his cellaphone number - so remains contactable at all times in case you needed something. He had even thought us how to enter the Palazzo without being buzzed in. Hence, you come and go as freely as you want!

OK, now for the little gripes of staying in such a grand Palazzo - breakfasts is only served from 8.30am onwards, deemed too late for early risers like us due to jet lag (prefer breakfasts at 7am-7.30am). The TV was very small in the suite and it has no English channels at all. There was also no minibar, could be a problem in summer for people who may want to enjoy cold drinks and beer. And as mentioned previously, traffic noises will stop you from catching an afternoon nap or sleeping late as they start from about 6 or 6.30am. Ask for an inside room if you are like me, a light sleeper.

Overall, we did have a very enjoyable time in lovely Lucca - a very rich Tuscan town with plenty of beautiful villas, just right outside the city walls (too bad, didn't find time to explore this area just outside the walls). Be sure to ask Sig. Carlo to recommend you his driver via www.luccatour.it. Their charges are very standard, 40 euros for an hour - totally worth it!

Grazie mille Carlo, for a wonderful 2 nights stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JChua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2011

I stayed here with my girlfriend for 3 days in September. I would like to clarify the type of experience you may find in the Palazzo Tucci. Because not knowing what to expect was what gave us the most trepidation in deciding to choose to stay at this hotel.

The Palazzo Tucci is what is called a “Residenza d’epoca” - which I think translates into English roughly as historic residence or building of historic significance. The building itself is nothing if not impressive, using myself as a reference standing at the doorway to our room, my girlfriend and I both agreed that the ceiling must be at least 6 metres high! Basically you are staying in a restored historic home of an Italian aristocratic family of the type you’d imagine from a Shakespeare play or Stendhal novel. The ceilings in the main hall are covered in beautiful frescoes and the ceiling in our room had a kind of rococo motif on it. The previous TripAdvisor reviewer who commented that it is like staying in a palace was in no way exaggerating.

But don’t be fooled into thinking that you will be staying at the Four Seasons Florence. The Palazzo Tucci is a “Residenza d’epoca” not a five star hotel. This means that notwithstanding the magnificence of the actual building, the hotel service is not much more than what you should expect from a bed and breakfast. There is no 24-hour concierge for example, nor room service. In fact, the building isn’t even very clearly signposted outside - we got so lost looking for it that we had to ask at the Tourist Office! Also it can be quite noisy inside, the hallways and large rooms echo and the windows aren’t double-glazed so a lot of street noise comes into your room - including from a nearby restaurant where people dine late into the night. The TV in the room that we shared looked at least 10-years-old and the screen was probably no bigger than an A4 sheet of paper.

So with that in mind, I would definitely recommend that you do stay at the Palazzo Tucci. It is above all an outstanding experience, with a great atmosphere in a beautiful and authentic Italian city. The hotel has free wi-fi for example, shaming the many establishments that still charge for an internet connection, and making the question of the old TV a bit redundant (I just wish I knew the websites of Italian TV channels). Breakfast, included in the price, was great, ostensibly a continental breakfast, but being English we asked the lady serving us for scrambled eggs and she was happy to make some for us, plus the fruit and bread and cheeses were really delicious.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AkseliKoskela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
138 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2010

Pros: Palazzo Tucci is truly that--a palace! It has been in the Tucci family since the 1600’s. They have made a 5 room B & B out of the first floor. It is unbelievably elegant and the rooms are huge! Our room was about 20 x 20 and our bathroom about 15 x 15 ft! Blue silk wallpaper and absolutely elegant velvet drapes, spread etc . The room had everything needed included wireless internet. The bathroom was very nice with walk–in shower and heated towel bars. The staff, especially Beatrice, were very nice and helpful in suggesting places to see and do. The breakfast was plentiful and they even cooked eggs to order, unusual in Europe. It is very convenient to all the sights in the town and made a great base to visit a very pleasant medieval city most Americans have never heard of. Private parking off the street. We would go back any time.
Cons: Very difficult to drive to and find, and some street noise in our room, but those are minor compared to the beauty of the palace. The driving problem can be mitigated by getting EXACT arrival instructions into the walled city.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RockyMtnBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.2 mi away
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
0.0 mi away
Relais San Lorenzo
Relais San Lorenzo
#16 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
0.1 mi away
La Boheme
La Boheme
#7 of 165 in Lucca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.3 mi away
B&B Il Duomo
B&B Il Duomo
#17 of 165 in Lucca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Tucci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Tucci

Property: Palazzo Tucci
Address: Via Cesare Battisti 13, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Tucci is situated on the first floor of the 17th century palace located in the centre of Lucca, next to the shopping area and the main monuments and museums.The are 3 bedrooms and 3 suite, decorated with frescos and stuccos and the original furniture ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Palazzo Tucci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Tucci Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing