We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“8 lovely rooms in the heart of historic Livorno” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Teatro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Al Teatro
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Livorno
Certificate of Excellence
Barga, Italy
Level Contributor
316 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“8 lovely rooms in the heart of historic Livorno”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

my wife and I wanted to celebrate her birthday in Livorno; we chose this hotel because it is central and had excellent reviews; we were very happy with our choice; the hotel has 8 rooms; we stayed in the Mascagni room: not very large, yet decorated in good taste; it is the perfect place to stay for a couple of nights; near the port, near the center of town, near the Theatre, near a beautiful Restaurant (La Cantina senese); I'll come back next time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bianches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    33
    1
    3
    5
See reviews for
18
23
2
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Overnighted in Livorno and Al Teatra was perfect. Short taxi ride from the port and central to Grande Piazza and bus station for transfer to station, as recommended by the staff who were very nice and helpful. This is a charming little boutique hotel, rooms are not large but fine for short stay.

Room Tip: Breakfast is basic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jule1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We booked this hotel at the last minute for a one night stay before joining our cruise ship. We picked the hotel mainly from previous trip advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. The hotel is slightly tricky to find, situated down a small side-street but close to the Goldoni Theatre, with shops, restaurants and bars all a short walk away. The hotel was clean with a reasonable sized bedroom and bathroom with an excellent shower. The walls throughout the hotel were covered with paintings, with numerous sculptures, objets d'art and antiques around the hotel and in the garden area, which had been collected over the years by the owner, giving an interesting feel to the hotel. The Continental breakfast, served in a small breakfast room or on the outside terrace, was a self service buffet, with all the usual choices, which was perfectly adequate. Free WiFi was available throughout the hotel. The staff spoke some English and were friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again for a few nights as it is very convenient, by taxi for the port, if joining a cruise ship or ferry.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldWideWanderers13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

After landing at Pisa airport we took a bus (tickets purchased inside airport) directly to Livorno and got off at the end of the line. From there it was perhaps a 4 block walk to the hotel. We did have to ask directions because it is on a small side street with very little traffic. The room was small, but charming and furnished with pretty, antique furniture. The bathroom was large with marble tile, shower, bidet, hairdryer. There was a bit of a problem with the shower nozzle spray and the shower floor was very slippery. I would also have liked a little rug outside the shower, but we used a towel. Other than that, it was lovely. Our room was "Vivaldi" I believe and overlooked the garden. The room was very quiet and we saw no other guests. There is just a small lobby, there is no bar and continental breakfast (which we did not have) is apparently served in the garden. There are two great restaurants on the same street and a bar with outside seating across the street. There is a shopping district nearby and the canals are also within walking distance. The owners/staff were pleasant and I found Livorno to be a very pretty town to spend two days exploring while waiting to board our MSC cruise ship.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GADSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livorno hotels
4.2 mi away
Hotel La Vedetta
Hotel La Vedetta
#1 of 22 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 stars 371 reviews
1.0 mi away
NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo
1.5 mi away
Hotel Gennarino
Hotel Gennarino
#6 of 22 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#4 of 22 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
1.6 mi away
Max Hotel Livorno
Max Hotel Livorno
#3 of 22 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 stars 436 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Navy
Hotel Navy
#9 of 22 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Teatro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Teatro

Property: Al Teatro
Address: Via Enrico Mayer 42/57, 57125, Livorno, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Livorno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Livorno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Al Teatro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Al Teatro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing