We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Do not stay here, please” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Giappone Inn Parking Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Giappone Inn Parking Hotel
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Livorno
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Do not stay here, please”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

The room, a quadruple, stank with cigarette smoke. The air condition did not work, and the ceiling fan did not cool us during the night. In addition, the bathroom was dirty and smelt like sewage. Disgusting! I felt that the room sucked up a lot of my energy, leaving me tired and a bit cranky.

The only pro, I would say, was the helpful employee giving us a lot of information about the surrounding part of the city and how to get to the ferries for Corsica the next morning.

Room Tip: Just avoid choosing this hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kethom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    23
    76
    47
    40
See reviews for
35
53
18
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

We looked on the Internet and could see there were rooms available so as we were passing we dropped in to ask for a room for the night. The receptionist was busy chatting to a man there who was smoking and obviously didn't want interrupting and told us they were fully booked?! It was a quiet Sunday in Livorno and all the Internet sites showed vacancies so make your own mind up.
Somebody did comment that Livorno was a dump, it isn't and has good shopping, an excellent market and wonderful restaurants + lots to see, so don't be put off.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJH1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Livorno hotels

Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

We booked the hotel for one night because we were looking for a secure parking so we could leave the luggage in the car.

On arrival we learned that the reservation of the parking lot via internet didn't work, however, the receptionist did make some effort to give us the "last" free parking lot. Our Audi A6 Avant did just about fit into the garage (bigger cars would certainly not fit in). However, once you are in, it's a single garage, that can be locked, i.e. secure.

Our room was towards the main road, which was very loud so we did not open the windows. The room had A/C which worked not very well, if not to say, next to nothing. However, the bed linen and the shower were reasonably clean. The interior is run down, so is the hotel lobby. When you enter the lobby, the tobacco smell is unpleasant.

If you have to catch a 8:00o'clock ferry you will not have enough time to have breakfast, since breakfast is from about 6:30.

Livorno itself is a dump. Next time we would take a night-ferry.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PAULI5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow
Level Contributor
79 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2009

Slept there before embarking on a ferry. The hotel is old, dark, expensive. If you have to sleep there just do not choose the room from the street side. The windows are old and all the noise (this is on eof Livorno main alleys) will not let you sleep. My advice - take a night ferry and avoid it.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topolnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2009

My booking: Hotel Giappone Inn,Via Grande 65,Livorno; Standard 4 Bed Private. Incl. parking + free breakfast.
On arrival: your reservation is for the "residence La Querciolaia" an apartment with kitchen in the room....
So we can assure the free parking but not the breakfast ??????????????????????????????

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guilermo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrimonio, Corsica, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2009

We arrived late at night after a hectic time getting there, to find that the room we had booked was not the one they were going to give us. Instead they took us across the street into another building (an apartment building, not a hotel) and presented our room to us in there. It was all very strange and indeed I still do not fully understand what happened. The room itself had the heat on full blast and it was like a sauna. It never really cooled down even after we turned it off. We were traveling with a one year old and so a hot room wasn't the best situation for her. The bathroom was scary - old, noisy, musty. Thankfully were were only there for a few hours to sleep before catching our ferry early the next morning.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2007

This hotel is in the middle of Via Grande, one of the busiest street in Livorno, where you are able to find good pizzerias and you will also be within walking distance to the harbour and the main attractions, which ain't much in this laid back town.

The rooms are basic but sizeable for its price and the staff are friendly. There is also wifi access in the rooms.

The only downside is the lack of english channels on TV and the relatively bleak breakfast.

Will consider staying here again if I return.

  • Liked — Location and Price
  • Disliked — No English TV Channels and Poor Breakfast
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AnzacTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livorno hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#5 of 21 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.8 mi away
Parking Hotel Giardino
Parking Hotel Giardino
#17 of 21 in Livorno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Gennarino
Hotel Gennarino
#4 of 21 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo
Hotel Mediterraneo
#13 of 21 in Livorno
3.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gran Duca
Hotel Gran Duca
#10 of 21 in Livorno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
1.5 mi away
Max Hotel Livorno
Max Hotel Livorno
#2 of 21 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giappone Inn Parking Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giappone Inn Parking Hotel

Property: Giappone Inn Parking Hotel
Address: Via Grande 65, 57123, Livorno, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Livorno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Livorno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Giappone Inn Parking Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Giappone Inn Hotel is situated in the commercial zone of Livorno. It's a few hundred meters far from the Ferry Port, and 1km far from the Railway Station. In front of the entrance there is a bus stop for the city and from which it's possible to reach the majority of Tuscany's main cities. Wireless Internet high speed access is available (wi-fi network) Giappone Hotel offers a private garage and a very good bar/restaurant with a large TV room. The Hotel also offers an internal room with computer and videoprojector, suitable for meetings and professional training courses. All the rooms are equipped with private bathroom, lcd tv, Wi-Fi, air conditioning and direct telephone. Pets are allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Giappone Inn Parking Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giappone Hotel Parking

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing