We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, and rude owners”
Review of Hotel Ariston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Ariston
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Livorno
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My girlfriend booked 1 night here for us. When we arrived the owners started shoeing us out of the door until we managed to explain we had a booking. The room was dirty and the staff unhelpful or just ignored us. The worst place we stayed in Italy by far. Livorno isn't worth a visit despite being called little Venice. We would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich_Telford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ariston
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 162 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

Our family LOVED this hotel. The location is fantastic- close to everything, near restaurants and clothing stores etc. The staff was super friendly and helpful, recommending the best restaurants and beaches. There was a complimentary breakfast in the morning with cappuccinos, cereals, meat/cheese, croissants etc so everyone got something they like. The room was big enough (bunk beds for kids, beds were all comfy) and had a nice bathroom. The shower was always hot and had impressive water pressure for a hotel. We really enjoyed our stay and if we return to Italy we will stay at Hotel Ariston again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheyenne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We needed a place to stay for one night before taking the ferry to Corsica, and I don't think we could have chosen better in a small, relatively untouristed town such as Livorno. First of all, the photos on the hotel's website do not do justice to just how good this place looks on the inside. It's very charming and old world, though not at all musty. The room itself was huge by European standards, and everything was as it should be. The young man at the reception desk was extremely helpful and spoke excellent English. True, not everyone at this hotel speaks English--but then the hotel is in Livorno, which, last time I checked, is in Italy. Breakfast begins at 7:30. However, when the older gentleman who took our key learned we were leaving at 6:30 nest morning for the ferry, he was kind enough to provide coffee and breakfast one hour earlier. Lastly, Livorno is quite scenic, and the hotel is nicely located to encourage leisurely strolls either by the canals or through the central district.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roganddrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We drove from Lake Como to Rome this trip and meandered a bit on our way down. Found Hotel Ariston on the web. Looked like a nice place right on the main square (Plaza Republica) and had a descent rate of 129 Euros for a quadruple room. As we were just crashing for the night, we didn't require a luxury hotel, just beds and a nights rest. The hotel was more like a motel. They was a lift, but it only got you up one floor. Then you walked up the second floor to get to a long dark hallway that led to a room. My children were actually frightened of the neighborhood and the hotel. I would not recommend this place as it's nothing at all like the pictures (location or the hotel itself). There is no hotel parking, and the street parking in front of the hotel was full of transient people drinking beer from bottles and small "gangs" of young people who looked like they were hoping for unlocked cars. The city is pretty drab and the plaza seemed the same.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seasonedtraveler70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

we booked through the hotel s website inc breakfast. the receptionist was very rude as he said the rate did not include breakfast and we were the only ones to complain. apart from this the hotel is old including rooms, lobby and the rest. apart from this the booking site for the hotel namely offerhotel.it rated the hotel for us. can you believe it? they did not let us rate it, they just put 9 themselves. there must be some agreement between the 2. my advice, stay away from this hotel and definitely do not book directly from its website.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
1  Thank JoGrima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2007

Hotel was undergoing repairs. Rooms were basic, airconditioned and spacious bathroom attached. All in all, you get what you paid for. Lifts were a bit dodgy, you need to switch lifts just to get to the 3rd floor! Breakfast was basic. Staff was helpful, even though some could not really communicate in English.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnzacTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2006

If you have the misfortune to have to spend a night in Livorno, then you could do a lot worse than this hotel. If you're driving, as we were, then it's easy to find and they offer secure garage parking (which we would strongly recommend). The staff were helpful, the room was clean and adequate. We had to catch an early ferry the next day, but would say that unless you have a similar reason to be there you'd be much better off staying in another town eg Lucca - it's basically a port town with not a lot else going for it, and not very pleasant either apart from the canals and the old fort which are pretty. We had a nice meal in a nearby trattoria, Galileo, but elsewhere we got hassled a lot and most of the town felt pretty dodgy at night - if I'd been on my own I wouldn't have felt at all safe.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Casa-Paradis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livorno hotels
1.4 mi away
Max Hotel Livorno
Max Hotel Livorno
#2 of 21 in Livorno
607 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gran Duca
Hotel Gran Duca
#12 of 21 in Livorno
375 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Palazzo  – MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#8 of 21 in Livorno
230 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel La Vedetta
Hotel La Vedetta
#1 of 21 in Livorno
600 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Gennarino
Hotel Gennarino
#5 of 21 in Livorno
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ariston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ariston

Address: Piazza della Repubblica 13, 57123, Livorno, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Livorno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Livorno
Price Range: $88 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ariston 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Ariston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariston Hotel Livorno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing