We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Hotel ok, but do NOT eat at the restaurant!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Max Hotel Livorno

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Max Hotel Livorno
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Livorno
Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
“Hotel ok, but do NOT eat at the restaurant!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Hotel was alright, situated away from the city though, and a bit hard to find. Very remote and next to a dead shopping mall in an industrial area.
You definitely need to have a car to get there, parking is easy though right in front of the lobby. Where we were met by an unfriendly, bored staff. We checked in for a single night - luckily no more.
The wifi is slow and the air condition kept switching off during the night. Also the bathroom floor gets extremely slippery when wet.

We made the mistake of eating at the hotel restaurant. Do NOT, no matter how hungry you are, do that. The waiter had troubles understanding English and was not that helpful at all and couldn't carve a fish.
I had a vegetable soup for starters that was disgusting. It didn't taste of anything, half the vegetables were slimey and the rest uncooked. Despite complaining and not eating more than a spoonful, we still had to pay for it (€15)
My boyfriend ordered fish skewers for seconde but received a plateful of undistinguished fish and shellfish in a mess. He had a few tastes and had to stop eating it because the shellfish was bad.
We still had to pay - A bill of a whooping bill of €72 for the worst meal I've ever had.

Breakfast was ok, but the bread was stale and the meats had gone bad.

Ok for a single night if you have a car and have already eaten, otherwise, find something closer to the city and the restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SidseGry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    279
    87
    16
    7
See reviews for
80
175
16
143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Excellent Hotel with very good breakfast (included with room) Nice restaurant on site. The Hotel was somewhat isolated not real easy access to train station. There was a small mall next door.
would have been better if more centrally located to city

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mulhouse, France
Level Contributor
133 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Nice and clean hotel, very close from ferry lines, quite and a very good restaurant. Nespresso corner available, nice breakfast if you are early, to late you will have poor choice but personnal is very helfull. Have also find some gluten free food for my wife.
Quite area with a outside or inside parking. We have booked for the way to Corsica and book again for our return night.
Outside parking was safe for our motorbike.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabian210662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
317 reviews
191 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 419 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Located near the motorway but somewhat isolated on the edge of town, the 9-story Max Hotel offers comfortable rooms at competitive prices. Ample free parking space is available in front of the hotel. A small shopping center with a few shops is attached.

An English speaking receptionist assigned us to room #810, which came with dark wood imitation laminate flooring, a fridge, desk, small TV, comfy king size bed, no safe, good WI-FI, and a view towards the city of Livorno and the distant Mediterranean. Though newer, furniture and area rug show signs of wear, but clean overall. At night it was super quiet. The A/C in our west facing room did not respond to the thermostat in the room, requiring a call to reception to activate the system and to bring the temperature down into the comfort zone. The super modern bath with its glass vanity counter top, clear glass sink, a bidet, and a tub/shower combo was well lit and spotless.

The in-house restaurant served excellent fare from a menu selection with something for everyone. Breakfast served from six a.m. consists of a typical enhanced continental assortment, plus a very nice spread of baked sweets.

For the price of 99 Euro, the Max hotel offers business travelers and road wary tourists a comfortable, quiet place to spend the night in modern comfort.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank silvergate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
117 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Arriving at 1930h on a Sunday evening, I was suprised that the restaurant was closed. Had to grab some slices of pizza in the nearby shopping mall which was like a ghost town. I was told that most of the shops had closed due to lack of business, after the hyper market had opened. The room was noisy and one could hear guests checking in late in the night. The room was otherwise comfortable. Despite being on only the fourth floor there was no pressure in the shower head, which has also needs to be changed.
The buffet breakfast had a limited offering and this was the worst breakfast I had during my ten days in Italy. Except for the proximity to the train station, there is no excuse to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coffeetrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, US
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I would recommend this hotel, if the price is right.

The hotel is a 15-minute walk from the train station. However, I was forced to walk on the road in a couple of places. The front desk attendants spoke fluent English. The hotel provides free Internet. I found the breakfast to be OK and the restaurant staff somewhat lacking in
customer focus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wtraveler06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

these is a glass door to the bathroom, you even cannot lock it, there is an opening between this door and wall about 3-4 inches(10 sm), so you can enjoy(?) the view and smell of the person using shower or toilet!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank al52ex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livorno hotels
4.6 mi away
Hotel La Vedetta
Hotel La Vedetta
#1 of 22 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 stars 437 reviews
2.5 mi away
NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo
2.7 mi away
Hotel Gennarino
Hotel Gennarino
#5 of 22 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 stars 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo
Hotel Mediterraneo
#13 of 22 in Livorno
3.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#6 of 22 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 stars 208 reviews
1.6 mi away
Al Teatro
Al Teatro
#12 of 22 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Max Hotel Livorno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Max Hotel Livorno

Property: Max Hotel Livorno
Address: Via Giotto Ciardi 28 | Zona Porta a Terra, 57121, Livorno, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Livorno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Livorno
#2 Luxury Hotel in Livorno
#4 Romantic Hotel in Livorno
#5 Business Hotel in Livorno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Max Hotel Livorno 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Max Hotel Livorno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Livorno Max Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing