We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free minibar - a sneer!”
Review of Max Hotel Livorno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Max Hotel Livorno
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Livorno
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
332 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Free minibar - a sneer!”
Reviewed May 24, 2011

First of all - our GPS said to us that such building number... doesnt exist, but we didnt give up :)
When we finally located the Hotel we, at first, found it modern and nice. Also we were told proudly that minibar is free of charge. Only when we got into the room we realized that that must had been a jeer!! In the fridge - two small cokes & mineral water... Very generous! Further on in our bathroom, shower handle wasnt held properly (falling down), very short shower guard didnt prevent water from falling down to the floor.
B/F finished us up! Cold becon, no eggs, only milk, tea/coffe and cereals!! Our mood was spoiled... that morning I had a birthday, but during check-out nothing was said... It's not a bif deal, but still...
So we've got a not very good overall impression, in spite of all the modern and new building appearance/design/interior.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina_Ivashina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    315
    106
    17
    7
See reviews for
84
193
18
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2010

The hotel max livorno os very modern and confortable!
We liked very much! We would like to thanks the recepcionist Sara! She was very kind!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kibons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2009

As has been commented on, this is a good business hotel. We actually stayed here for the first leg of our honeymoon as it seemed to be the nicest around and I wanted something close to the port (I had completely got the hotel in the wrong place - it's a couple of miles away!). We had an executive room booked through Expedia which seemed good value for what you got. The bed was enormous. The minibar was complimentary (coke and sparkling water only, but hey...) and the bathroom was amazing. Air con worked flawlessly. Breakfast was a good continental style with lots of choice, but service was definitely not with a smile (efficent, but not friendly). The reception staff, however, were very friendly and gave us a map to help find our way around. Found it quite hard to find, but think that's more to me not setting the Sat-Nav up properly as it appeared afterwards there were loads of signs within Livorno.

Would happily stay here again - especially if Sterling ever gets any stronger!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piblet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rutherglen,scotland.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2009

We stayed at the max hotel for one night in July as we were going to a concert in the stadium.We arrived early but we got our room after a small wait of 5 minutes and took advantage of the free coffee/water/or fruit juice available in the comfortable and cool reception.The room was super clean and very modern with air-con which was good as it was boiling outside.
The location is only maybe ten minutes away from livorno centrale and can be reached easily via a pedestrian subway.It is built into a small shopping mall which has a nice and busy cafe which is really handy,and the breakfast was great in the hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMAN75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
174 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2009

You are away from the downtown fun, I suppose. But you are close to the Autostrada, and right beside a mall. The hotel rooms are some of the nicest I've seen in Italy -- it would be a 4-star even in the US. The design is very modern, no puffy touches. I like it. There is no view worthy of the work; but again, that's not what this hotel is about.

The restaurant is fine. Too much salt, perhaps. The breakfast is one of the least ambitious that I've seen, but still OK.

Definitely a choice if you don't look for a downtown experience. Me, I was on the way between north and south, and this hotel was perfect for me. Parking is free.

A complaint: the internet is Swisscom, and crazy expensive.

Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank calvino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2007

We stayed one night at the hotel. The place is quite new and very modern. Room was great with a view of the city, great bed, free minibar and very funky bathroom with hot tub. One little weird thing was, that there was only a glass door between the room and bathroom, so not much privacy :) Staff was friendly and spoke good english, and breakfast was quite ok with yoghurt, egg, bread juice and cake. The hotel is located outside Livorno in a new development (still feels quite dead out there), but was great for us as we were arriving by car. It's close to the autostrada and 5-10 minutes from downttown by car. Got a great price as we stayed there during the business holiday (early august).

  • Liked — Facilities
  • Disliked — Location (although great for us)
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pkh7913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolind, Denmark
Level Contributor
81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2006

If you've got to stay in Livorno, stay here - the Hotel AC is a modern minimalist hotel, well decorated throughout. The staff were pleasant and professional, and fairly proficient in English.

The room was spacious - bathroom included - and was spotlessly clean as well. The air conditioning was very welcome, as temps outside were well into 90s...The bed was quite comfortable (if a bit firm), as were the pillows; linens were nice as well. Toiletries were also just fine, and the blowdryer was powerful enough even for me!, Note that they are a wee bit stingy with the towels (my husband - who arrived 2 days before me - had to demand that extra towels be provided for me...).

As to food, room service is excellent, well presented and available until 10.30p; the restaurant was on the higher end of in house hotel establishments.

Location is a bit strange - on the outskirts of Livorno, opposite side of the tracks from the train station, and next to a shopping mall (decent shopping, a couple of small cafes for a quick bite). It does feel strangely isolated, and it is a good 45 minute walk to the Livorno seaside, the old fort, etc. Train station was a 15-20 min walk away, taxi service to/from station takes about 10 min and costs ranged from 5-8 euros. I really suggest that you get a taxi if arriving/departing via station, as the walk is not terribly condusive to dragging along bags...

Tourist note: Livorno Centrale station is on a major train line, allowing you to travel to Rome, Firenze, Pisa, etc quite easily (Pisa being the nearest airport) and station has a decent cafe and sundries shop. The autostrada is less than 1/2 mile away and is very well signposted.

Basically, the AC is a nice, very well priced business hotel that has all the modern conveniences and is well placed for travel throughout the region. The only negative I have (and this should be a good indication of how good the AC is) is that there were no pens or notepads in the room...

  • Liked — modern accomodation, convenient location for train station
  • Disliked — really, nothing to complain about
  • Tips/Secrets — as above, do get a taxi from the station if traveling with baggage
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tiffany L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livorno hotels
4.6 mi away
Hotel La Vedetta
Hotel La Vedetta
#1 of 21 in Livorno
541 reviews
2.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Palazzo  – MGallery by Sofitel
2.7 mi away
Hotel Gennarino
Hotel Gennarino
#4 of 21 in Livorno
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Gran Duca
Hotel Gran Duca
#12 of 21 in Livorno
341 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#8 of 21 in Livorno
218 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Navy
Hotel Navy
#7 of 21 in Livorno
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Max Hotel Livorno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Max Hotel Livorno

Property: Max Hotel Livorno
Address: Via Giotto Ciardi 28 | Zona Porta a Terra, 57121, Livorno, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Livorno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Livorno
#2 Best Value Hotel in Livorno
#4 Romantic Hotel in Livorno
#5 Business Hotel in Livorno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Max Hotel Livorno 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Max Hotel Livorno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Livorno Max Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing