We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“OK for the money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Rex
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Livorno
Durham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“OK for the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Hotel rex is not situated in Livorno, but instead finds itself in a dusty backwater 10km away. On arrival we were greeted by a very friendly recptionist called Lynda who gave us useful local information and made us feel very welcome. The room itself was typical 1970's italian, but was clean and roomy with fabulous views, where we enjoyed the evening sunset. The private beach (commonly known as concrete) was actually rather pleasant, with 2 free chairs, 1 bed and an umbrella. They had no problem in giving us a second bed. The 'beach' is also used by paying locals who seem to love the place. Accessing the sea is not recommended without footwear as it is rocky and smelled a little stagnant. There is also an inexpensive cafe/bar. For 2 nights it was fine, but the lack of any facilities near the hotel, meant our hire car was a necessity. Castigliano was a great place to visit as was the Venezia area of Livorno.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DurhamKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    84
    50
    38
    26
See reviews for
32
93
14
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

We were made to feel welcome as soon as we arrived. Our room was overlooking the private bathing area so when we opened the curtains for the first time we saw a blaze of blue umbrellas and sunbeds and the sea as a back drop. The bathing is very safe, with a rocky breakwater to prevent waves crashing onto the bathing area. The breakfast was scrumptious and plentiful with the opportunity to eat it on the terrace under the morning sun. No rush for the sunbeds, they are allocated to each room when you arrive by the lifeguard. The sunsets are breathtaking and the car park ample both at the front and to the side of the hotel. Pisa is only half an hour away.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Touringbycar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arrowtown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
222 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2009

Beautiful weather and this was just the place to enjoy it after being on the road and needing a break for a few days. The evening meal upstairs was lovely overlooking the sea. The sun chairs all laid out perfectly are a photo shot, and it is very relaxing outside in the sun. It is great that the locals use the beach too, adds to the continental feel (and they do pay ). Clean and spacious, and certainly get the sea view, its worth it. Close to Pisa after a busy day there, a short drive to come back and relax. Their internet is very fast and only a euro an hour.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwiguests
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2008

We stayed for five nights in July. The first room we were in, the air conditioning did not work and it was very hot. We complained twice and it was not fixed. We then moved rooms and the air conditioning was barely adequate. The hotels rooms are large, excellent views and good bathrooms. Breakfast is also good.

However, in two years we have stayed at the Hotel Rex, they have not fixed the air conditioning problems. We will not return.

  • Liked — Location, View, size of rooms, good breakfast
  • Disliked — Poor to no air conditioning!!!!!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Italytraveler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Livorno hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2008

My husband & I booked this hotel for our last night in Tuscany. We wanted a quiet night away from the hustle & bussle of Florence. I believe that there is a train station close by, but we had a rental car & drove to the hotel. The hotel is very easy to find & the surrounding area looks like your typical beach/seaside town.

The hotel has it's own parking & it is free which is nice. The room is very clean & a much larger room than most European hotels. The room wasn't very important after we walked out on the balcony & saw the view. WOW! We had a room that looked over the Mediterranean Sea & it took my breath away. The buffet breakfast is very nice with a good variety! There is a very nice restaurant right next door to the hotel that we enjoyed & it was very convenient. If we vacation in Livorno again we would stay this hotel again.

  • Liked — The sea view
  • Disliked — The decor is a bit dated
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MOJOSETI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livorno hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Vedetta
Hotel La Vedetta
#1 of 22 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 stars 433 reviews
0.0 mi away
NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo
1.9 mi away
Hotel Il Romito
Hotel Il Romito
#9 of 22 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 stars 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Gennarino
Hotel Gennarino
#5 of 22 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 stars 208 reviews
4.8 mi away
Max Hotel Livorno
Max Hotel Livorno
#3 of 22 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 stars 486 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Universal
Hotel Universal
#4 of 22 in Livorno
4.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Property: Hotel Rex
Address: Via del Littorale 164, 57128, Livorno, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Livorno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Livorno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rex 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most beautiful inlets of the Etrurian coast, Hotel Rex with its 64 comfort rooms, offers relaxing stays by the sea with the best tradition of the Tuscan food and wines. Two restaurants, one of them with a panoramic terrace facing the sea, night music by the Modi American bar, private parking, free access and facilities to the private beach, diving centre. All of the most important artistic towns of Tuscany are reachable in less than an hour by car. Hotel Rex convention centre offers three meeting rooms and low tariffs for business long stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Livorno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing