We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What you see is not what you get, but what you get is good”
Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rex
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Livorno
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Livorno is not a very attractive town, a busy working port but not a destination. For me it was an overnight stop driving from the South of France to Rome.

The photos of this hotel have you dreaming of a room overlooking the sea. What you get is a room overlooking an urban streetscape and railway line.

Having cleared away this gripe the rest is good news. The room was quite large, with an excellent bathroom. The hotel has a great terrace (that does overlook the ocean). This makes it very attractive for parties but, despite being busy, the restaurant managed to find a table for a stray overnight guest.

Breakfast is only OK. There is an extensive free carpark. The hotel is easy to access by road and a short drive from town.

It is not a four star, but then it doesn't charge four star prices.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LeoChessell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Rex
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 279 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2014

The room was OK but not really four star. I requested that they emptied the mini bar and they refused. The paint was peeling on the balcony dividers and the chairs (no cushions) were the cheapest plastic.

All the staff were very good, especially the waiters on the sun terrace bar/restaurant. But again it was three star not four.

There is nothing close by to do that is walking distance except for an excellent restaurant that is next door, we ate there more than anywhere else. The railway line that is just over the road is not really intrusive but can be heard clearly.

The hotel says its in Livorno but its not it is really in a small place called Antiganano, however as we were there to relax it was fine, you will need a car if you get bored easily. We did walk into the village there is not much there.

Breakfast was a bit of a joke, one poorly performing coffee machine (queue's) the fruit juice machine was broken and the substitute was a watered down substitute. No chance of buying a few cartons in the supermarket? The bread was disappointing as the option was the smallest, thinnest, cotton wool available. Be careful if toasting as the toast machine gets switched off, so I switched on the let it warm up queued for coffee and it was off when I got back to it. I switched on again and went for something else and had to stop the waitress switching it off again. Obviously desperate to save every cent!

I would stay again for a night but only to go to the restaurant next door.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view. Hire a car or stay in Livorno itself.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter_63_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

had a lovely time in this hotel at end of may.the bedroom was spacious and the bathroom was good size.The view from the room was excellent.Free parking and free sunbeds and umberella and free paddle boat was a bonus.It is a bit outside the city but if you have a car this is no problem.The only downside was the noise of chairs being pulled along wooden floors as this created a terrible problem early in the mornings but overall great value for money,

Room Tip: ask not to be in a room under restaurant ask for sea view
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graham c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

The room was somewhat musty but too be expected with the age. The rooms are a little older and the bedding was a bit scratchy but it wasn't the worst. Everything in there could use an update. Once you opened the patio and let some air in, it was great. We were there in September and it was hot. We booked via hotels.com and if you are used to Canadian star ratings then you know that a 4 for Italy is definitely lower than a 4 at home. The restaurant was good, the atmosphere was classy. Parking was a definite plus as we struggled with parking at a lot of hotels that do not offer it. The location can't be beat as far as being on the ocean, sunsets were amazing and even though there was no sand the waterfront was perfect. Easy to find and would probably stay there again.

Room Tip: Definitely want the ocean side as the back view is a highway and parking lot.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vimviolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

On arrival the room allocated smelt somewhat musty and not aired, so asked to be moved which they did no problem. However do not be mislead by some of the pictures.on websites when booking. There is one room only with corner windows giving (in the pictures) a stupendous view and airy look- room 500. The swimming pool would be the sea and the hotel as it's own 'beach'. More often than not in Italy a beach is access to the sea via concrete landscape ie not always sand. The umbrellas and beach chairs had already started to be stacked away, but looked like there were plenty.

My friend living in Tuscany did warn me that 4star in Italy is not 4star in the Uk. So I would rate this as a good 3star hotel. As a consequence it is clean and a huge plus was the free Wifi. So often in the continent this is not free so I was impressed. For the ladies I would highly recommend to take your own hairdryer as the one in the bathroom is hopeless.

Yes, the breakfast, as reported in a previous review is the same every day, but there is a good variety of jams, honey, cakes and coffee.

I arrived 3rd October which is the 'end of the season' so no dining out on the terrace for breakfast, bit disappointing, however, as there are balconies with bedrooms this was compensated. Mini bar not extortionate prices.

I noted that here were a few restaurants locally and that the no.1 bus is the one to catch from Livorno Centrale - it's cheaper to get bus tickets from to tobacconists. Quite frankly public transport is cheap abroad.

All in all a pleasant stay and for the purpose I was using it, to visit my friend locally, was perfect. I would probably return but only due to the close locality to my friend.

Room Tip: -3 floor the room was good. Looked over the 'beach' and sea.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orangepepe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We booked 3 nights at this hotel after arriving in Livorno on the train from S'hertegenbosch in the Netherlands along with the motorcycles. Only a short distance from the railway station so that was a bonus.
On booking into this hotel the reception staff were excellent,our rooms were ready and so the holiday began.The rooms were of a decent size,clean,tidy and most welcoming.Used the free safe and also the mini-bar (prices not bad).
The hotel has its own private beach,no sand but nevertheless plenty of space to soak up the rays.
The hotel is in an area outside Livorno main centre so we used the local buses to get around(cheap as chips!!),Livorno is well situated,i.e to visit Rome,Pisa,all using the network rail system,again so easy to use.
We spent 3 days at this hotel and to be honest it was a pleasure,we used the downstairs bar(the shorts weren,t shorts if you know what I mean and the beers were well chilled,the restaurant ,which had to be booked in advance served us excellent meals and the one member of staff who spoke good English was a credit to the hotel.
You won,t be disappointed with this hotel.We enjoyed every moment and would certainly use again if the situation arose.

Room Tip: The mosquitoes are not fussy,take plenty of repellent (depending on time of year). Request a room w...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertm470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We came here straight from landing in Florence to start our trip on the coast. A seaside hotel mainly used by vacationing Italian families. Extremely well kept but simple room, with balcony overlooking the Med. Plenty of space for two, clean, and free wifi. Pretty quiet, well out of the central Livorno area. Breakfast on the patio overlooking the coast was wonderful, with good breakfast selection. Fun to watch the ship and ferry traffic out on the water. Excellent and courteous staff, and all spoke English well enough to be helpful, and they certainly tried very hard to please us! From the lower level there is a typical Italian umbrella deck with lots of sunbathers. Took a while to find the lifeguard staff on two occasions for an umbrella and towels, but we got a spot. A breakwater a short distance offshore makes for a very nice swimming area in which to relax. Would be great for families or couples. We recommend it, especially because there are mostly all Italian guests -- not a "tourist" hotel for non-Italians, but authentico.

Room Tip: Higher is better; lower rooms are fight over the sunning deck and probably hotter and noisier.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livorno hotels
3.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Palazzo  – MGallery by Sofitel
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Vedetta
Hotel La Vedetta
#1 of 21 in Livorno
598 reviews
4.8 mi away
Max Hotel Livorno
Max Hotel Livorno
#2 of 21 in Livorno
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Gennarino
Hotel Gennarino
#5 of 21 in Livorno
262 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Il Romito
Hotel Il Romito
#9 of 21 in Livorno
328 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Gran Duca
Hotel Gran Duca
#12 of 21 in Livorno
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Address: Via del Littorale 164, 57128, Livorno, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Livorno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Livorno
Price Range: $99 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rex 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most beautiful inlets of the Etrurian coast, Hotel Rex with its 64 comfort rooms, offers relaxing stays by the sea with the best tradition of the Tuscan food and wines. Two restaurants, one of them with a panoramic terrace facing the sea, night music by the Modi American bar, private parking, free access and facilities to the private beach, diving centre. All of the most important artistic towns of Tuscany are reachable in less than an hour by car. Hotel Rex convention centre offers three meeting rooms and low tariffs for business long stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Livorno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing