We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's ok!”
Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rex
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Livorno
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“It's ok!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

On arrival the room allocated smelt somewhat musty and not aired, so asked to be moved which they did no problem. However do not be mislead by some of the pictures.on websites when booking. There is one room only with corner windows giving (in the pictures) a stupendous view and airy look- room 500. The swimming pool would be the sea and the hotel as it's own 'beach'. More often than not in Italy a beach is access to the sea via concrete landscape ie not always sand. The umbrellas and beach chairs had already started to be stacked away, but looked like there were plenty.

My friend living in Tuscany did warn me that 4star in Italy is not 4star in the Uk. So I would rate this as a good 3star hotel. As a consequence it is clean and a huge plus was the free Wifi. So often in the continent this is not free so I was impressed. For the ladies I would highly recommend to take your own hairdryer as the one in the bathroom is hopeless.

Yes, the breakfast, as reported in a previous review is the same every day, but there is a good variety of jams, honey, cakes and coffee.

I arrived 3rd October which is the 'end of the season' so no dining out on the terrace for breakfast, bit disappointing, however, as there are balconies with bedrooms this was compensated. Mini bar not extortionate prices.

I noted that here were a few restaurants locally and that the no.1 bus is the one to catch from Livorno Centrale - it's cheaper to get bus tickets from to tobacconists. Quite frankly public transport is cheap abroad.

All in all a pleasant stay and for the purpose I was using it, to visit my friend locally, was perfect. I would probably return but only due to the close locality to my friend.

Room Tip: -3 floor the room was good. Looked over the 'beach' and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orangepepe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    88
    54
    39
    26
See reviews for
36
98
14
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We booked 3 nights at this hotel after arriving in Livorno on the train from S'hertegenbosch in the Netherlands along with the motorcycles. Only a short distance from the railway station so that was a bonus.
On booking into this hotel the reception staff were excellent,our rooms were ready and so the holiday began.The rooms were of a decent size,clean,tidy and most welcoming.Used the free safe and also the mini-bar (prices not bad).
The hotel has its own private beach,no sand but nevertheless plenty of space to soak up the rays.
The hotel is in an area outside Livorno main centre so we used the local buses to get around(cheap as chips!!),Livorno is well situated,i.e to visit Rome,Pisa,all using the network rail system,again so easy to use.
We spent 3 days at this hotel and to be honest it was a pleasure,we used the downstairs bar(the shorts weren,t shorts if you know what I mean and the beers were well chilled,the restaurant ,which had to be booked in advance served us excellent meals and the one member of staff who spoke good English was a credit to the hotel.
You won,t be disappointed with this hotel.We enjoyed every moment and would certainly use again if the situation arose.

Room Tip: The mosquitoes are not fussy,take plenty of repellent (depending on time of year). Request a room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertm470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We came here straight from landing in Florence to start our trip on the coast. A seaside hotel mainly used by vacationing Italian families. Extremely well kept but simple room, with balcony overlooking the Med. Plenty of space for two, clean, and free wifi. Pretty quiet, well out of the central Livorno area. Breakfast on the patio overlooking the coast was wonderful, with good breakfast selection. Fun to watch the ship and ferry traffic out on the water. Excellent and courteous staff, and all spoke English well enough to be helpful, and they certainly tried very hard to please us! From the lower level there is a typical Italian umbrella deck with lots of sunbathers. Took a while to find the lifeguard staff on two occasions for an umbrella and towels, but we got a spot. A breakwater a short distance offshore makes for a very nice swimming area in which to relax. Would be great for families or couples. We recommend it, especially because there are mostly all Italian guests -- not a "tourist" hotel for non-Italians, but authentico.

Room Tip: Higher is better; lower rooms are fight over the sunning deck and probably hotter and noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

It's a great place to be. Rooms are clean, it has a beautiful terrace were you can dine overviewing the sea. Personnel is very helpful and friendly. The architecture and design is classic Italian from the 70's. at first it seemed funny, I became to appreciate it later on.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We came here with 3 little kids (including a 4-month old) so we were staying in a room with two bedrooms and a parlor. Room was big and clean... but perhaps our room was at the end of the corridor, the wifi reception was not very good and the view from the balcony was much worse than other rooms... breakfast was good but it didn't change much (we stayed there for 4 nights)... so basically we had the same thing everyday. but they offered outdoor dining area with great sea view... so it was fine. The private beach was pretty good and we enjoyed the sunset view there everyday...

Room Tip: Ask for the room with sea view... but don't get the room at the end of the corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zayababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 1 night , was a good choice
I agree with most reviews , it needs an refurbishment , but is was clean and efficient
The view when you open your window in the morning makes it worth staying here
Would stay here again !!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gemo5566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrevieja, Spain
Level Contributor
299 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The service from Analiese in reception was outstanding. There was plenty of sunloungers,and umbrellasand all the rooms had balconies overlooking the sea. The restaurant was nice if a little basic. All in all a good place.

Room Tip: Any room will do
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livorno hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Vedetta
Hotel La Vedetta
#1 of 21 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
3.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Palazzo  – MGallery by Sofitel
2.7 mi away
Hotel Gennarino
Hotel Gennarino
#4 of 21 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Max Hotel Livorno
Max Hotel Livorno
#2 of 21 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Il Romito
Hotel Il Romito
#6 of 21 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Navy
Hotel Navy
#7 of 21 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Property: Hotel Rex
Address: Via del Littorale 164, 57128, Livorno, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Livorno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Livorno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rex 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most beautiful inlets of the Etrurian coast, Hotel Rex with its 64 comfort rooms, offers relaxing stays by the sea with the best tradition of the Tuscan food and wines. Two restaurants, one of them with a panoramic terrace facing the sea, night music by the Modi American bar, private parking, free access and facilities to the private beach, diving centre. All of the most important artistic towns of Tuscany are reachable in less than an hour by car. Hotel Rex convention centre offers three meeting rooms and low tariffs for business long stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Livorno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing