We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“loved it, quiet and relaxing!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Rex
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Livorno
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“loved it, quiet and relaxing!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

really lovely hotel, with excellent reception staff!
the amazing terrace to have breakfast was perfect, and you can see the beach easily!
the hotel haas a resturant too, whcih was very nice and the price was good.

there is a bus nearby that can take you to the town centre which is not far.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony not facing the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dancinggirl88London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    86
    53
    38
    26
See reviews for
34
95
14
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

Livorno and hotel Rex was our base for the trip to tucany in mai/june 2011.

perfect located for trips in to lovely tuscany with rental car, about 25 minutes from Pisa and 80 minutes from siena.

The hotel standard is back to the 80's but we found that very charming. Italien hotelstandard is rather poor... but this hotel is not as bad as many others. the location is on the beach, not sandy but rocky and they built a plattform of concrete, good clean water. a lot of free sunbeds to hotelguests. a small cafe at beachlevel with good pricelevel. in the weekends its a lot of local peoples using the beacharea.
it can be hard to find place to park the car on daytime because of this.

the rooms are big, and have nice balconys with seaview. breakfast was ok, like all italian hotels the breakfast are rather simple, but good.

Good value for the money, free wifi at the rooms and a good base for trips in to tuscany.
its a must with car, and its located outside of centre of livorno, so if u look for nightlife, try something else!

Room Tip: choose rooms with seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Runjarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

Went for two nights. Was clean, friendly, well positioned away from the main strip. Room clean and spacious. Fab Shower, Clean surroundings. Lovely outside seating area by restaurant. will def return.

Room Tip: Check for best price via competitive websites.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ladyteaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

Hotel rex is not situated in Livorno, but instead finds itself in a dusty backwater 10km away. On arrival we were greeted by a very friendly recptionist called Lynda who gave us useful local information and made us feel very welcome. The room itself was typical 1970's italian, but was clean and roomy with fabulous views, where we enjoyed the evening sunset. The private beach (commonly known as concrete) was actually rather pleasant, with 2 free chairs, 1 bed and an umbrella. They had no problem in giving us a second bed. The 'beach' is also used by paying locals who seem to love the place. Accessing the sea is not recommended without footwear as it is rocky and smelled a little stagnant. There is also an inexpensive cafe/bar. For 2 nights it was fine, but the lack of any facilities near the hotel, meant our hire car was a necessity. Castigliano was a great place to visit as was the Venezia area of Livorno.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DurhamKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2009

We were made to feel welcome as soon as we arrived. Our room was overlooking the private bathing area so when we opened the curtains for the first time we saw a blaze of blue umbrellas and sunbeds and the sea as a back drop. The bathing is very safe, with a rocky breakwater to prevent waves crashing onto the bathing area. The breakfast was scrumptious and plentiful with the opportunity to eat it on the terrace under the morning sun. No rush for the sunbeds, they are allocated to each room when you arrive by the lifeguard. The sunsets are breathtaking and the car park ample both at the front and to the side of the hotel. Pisa is only half an hour away.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Touringbycar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arrowtown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
221 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2009

Beautiful weather and this was just the place to enjoy it after being on the road and needing a break for a few days. The evening meal upstairs was lovely overlooking the sea. The sun chairs all laid out perfectly are a photo shot, and it is very relaxing outside in the sun. It is great that the locals use the beach too, adds to the continental feel (and they do pay ). Clean and spacious, and certainly get the sea view, its worth it. Close to Pisa after a busy day there, a short drive to come back and relax. Their internet is very fast and only a euro an hour.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwiguests
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2008

We stayed for five nights in July. The first room we were in, the air conditioning did not work and it was very hot. We complained twice and it was not fixed. We then moved rooms and the air conditioning was barely adequate. The hotels rooms are large, excellent views and good bathrooms. Breakfast is also good.

However, in two years we have stayed at the Hotel Rex, they have not fixed the air conditioning problems. We will not return.

  • Liked — Location, View, size of rooms, good breakfast
  • Disliked — Poor to no air conditioning!!!!!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Italytraveler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Livorno hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livorno hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Vedetta
Hotel La Vedetta
#1 of 21 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Palazzo  – MGallery by Sofitel
1.9 mi away
Hotel Il Romito
Hotel Il Romito
#7 of 21 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Gennarino
Hotel Gennarino
#4 of 21 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
4.8 mi away
Max Hotel Livorno
Max Hotel Livorno
#2 of 21 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Universal
Hotel Universal
#3 of 21 in Livorno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Property: Hotel Rex
Address: Via del Littorale 164, 57128, Livorno, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Livorno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Livorno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rex 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most beautiful inlets of the Etrurian coast, Hotel Rex with its 64 comfort rooms, offers relaxing stays by the sea with the best tradition of the Tuscan food and wines. Two restaurants, one of them with a panoramic terrace facing the sea, night music by the Modi American bar, private parking, free access and facilities to the private beach, diving centre. All of the most important artistic towns of Tuscany are reachable in less than an hour by car. Hotel Rex convention centre offers three meeting rooms and low tariffs for business long stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Livorno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing