We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Gran Duca
Nearby Hotels
$204
$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $188/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$94
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $95/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$103
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $104/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cavour(Livorno)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (426)
Filter reviews
426 results
Traveler rating
46
124
160
70
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
124
160
70
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboiled eggscity taxquattro morismall roombusy roaddecent hotelrecommend this hotelfree wifiyogurttrain stationgranducastatueharbourskylightlucapillows
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 426 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2009

we needed 1 night in Livorno before catching an 8:15am ferry to Corsica. The Hotel Gran Duca is right on the water front and served the purpose well.

The rate we received by booking the day before was excellent and the hotel was clean, well equipped and the staff very welcoming. Our room overlooked a busy road along the water front and had electric shutters to control the noise level into the room.

free car parking was provided - you get a permit upon check in and then it's a bit of a game to secure a park out front. Be patient and one will free up. Otherwise, 12 Euro gets you secure parking undercover.

The hotel has a nice looking restaurant, however, across the road we found some excellent restaurants overlooking a marina.

if i was staying in the city of Livorno again and needed to be near ferry departures, I'd stay at the Hotel Gran Duca

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeebooTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2009

We stayed at Gran Duca for one night. The room was comfortable and the view of the harbor was wonderful. Our room was hot when we checked in. We had trouble adjusting the thermostat on the air conditioner. The front desk sent someone up to adjust it right away. The restaurant of the same name is sensational! The buffet breakfast was also very good. Lots of different choices and excellent coffee.We reserved a parking space which we highly recommend as there is not much street parking. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indianwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2009

The Gran Duca is well situated for those who want to take a ferry to the island of Capraia. For Corsica and Sardinia it is not the best situated. It is very noisy, the rooms are nothing special - there are some renovated rooms, our room is a "De Luxe" room for 180 Euros - old, loud, hot... and FAR too expensive!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zh-frog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2008

I chose this hotel just because it's very close to the port. I was very happy with the location considering the fact we needed to take ferry at 8 a.m. Hotel is average, it was fine for us just for 1 night. The major thing i didn't like was service.
Some ferries leave at 8 a.m and you have to check in 1 hour in advance at the port, so it would be nice if they provide some early breakfast (at least coffee), especially considering the fact that most guests who stay there are people who take ferry. When we asked the guy if there's any early breakfast provided - he was kind of shocked by our question. He was very indifferent, cold and very unfriendly. I was shocked. Common, you can say, no, but not like he said.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julia-lz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2008

Ignore the other reviews of this wonderful hotel. Most of the rooms have been totally remodelled in the last year or so and they are terrific. Our bathroom had a full shower and plenty of room. The bed was very comfortable and the view, since we were facing the port, was great. I'd suggest requesting a room facing the port since the views from the other rooms would not be very good. And be sure that you ask for one of the remodeled rooms for your stay until they finish the remodeling project. But don't worry about the work that may be going on - it's only in the individual rooms so you won't see or hear a thing.

The pizzeria off the lobby also offers the best pizza in town and the upscale restaurant attached to the lobby has excellent food.

The location couldn't be better either. The hotel's almost adjacent to the main street through Livorno, sits right on the water and is walking distance from some of the cruise line piers.

As if that's not enough, the hotel and restaurant staff is friendly and very helpful for anything you might need.

We loved this place!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CaryandMindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews