We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only the rates are 4*!”
Review of Hotel Gran Duca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Gran Duca
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Livorno
Reviewed July 12, 2009

The Gran Duca is well situated for those who want to take a ferry to the island of Capraia. For Corsica and Sardinia it is not the best situated. It is very noisy, the rooms are nothing special - there are some renovated rooms, our room is a "De Luxe" room for 180 Euros - old, loud, hot... and FAR too expensive!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zh-frog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 385 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2008

I chose this hotel just because it's very close to the port. I was very happy with the location considering the fact we needed to take ferry at 8 a.m. Hotel is average, it was fine for us just for 1 night. The major thing i didn't like was service.
Some ferries leave at 8 a.m and you have to check in 1 hour in advance at the port, so it would be nice if they provide some early breakfast (at least coffee), especially considering the fact that most guests who stay there are people who take ferry. When we asked the guy if there's any early breakfast provided - he was kind of shocked by our question. He was very indifferent, cold and very unfriendly. I was shocked. Common, you can say, no, but not like he said.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julia-lz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2008

Ignore the other reviews of this wonderful hotel. Most of the rooms have been totally remodelled in the last year or so and they are terrific. Our bathroom had a full shower and plenty of room. The bed was very comfortable and the view, since we were facing the port, was great. I'd suggest requesting a room facing the port since the views from the other rooms would not be very good. And be sure that you ask for one of the remodeled rooms for your stay until they finish the remodeling project. But don't worry about the work that may be going on - it's only in the individual rooms so you won't see or hear a thing.

The pizzeria off the lobby also offers the best pizza in town and the upscale restaurant attached to the lobby has excellent food.

The location couldn't be better either. The hotel's almost adjacent to the main street through Livorno, sits right on the water and is walking distance from some of the cruise line piers.

As if that's not enough, the hotel and restaurant staff is friendly and very helpful for anything you might need.

We loved this place!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CaryandMindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2005

Avoid as possible this terrible hotel. It is noisy, expensive and you can't sleep all the night.
Nothing more to say...

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank uscemu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelo Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Secondo piano con vista sulla darsena (porto)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Federico M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Laurence P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livorno hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Palazzo  – MGallery by Sofitel
1.8 mi away
Max Hotel Livorno
Max Hotel Livorno
#2 of 21 in Livorno
616 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel La Vedetta
Hotel La Vedetta
#1 of 21 in Livorno
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#8 of 21 in Livorno
230 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#20 of 21 in Livorno
286 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Gennarino
Hotel Gennarino
#5 of 21 in Livorno
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gran Duca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Duca

Address: Piazza Giuseppe Micheli 16-18, 57123, Livorno, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Livorno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Livorno
Price Range: $99 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gran Duca 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Gran Duca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Duca Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing