We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only the rates are 4*!”
Review of Hotel Gran Duca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Gran Duca
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Livorno
Zurich
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Only the rates are 4*!”
Reviewed July 12, 2009

The Gran Duca is well situated for those who want to take a ferry to the island of Capraia. For Corsica and Sardinia it is not the best situated. It is very noisy, the rooms are nothing special - there are some renovated rooms, our room is a "De Luxe" room for 180 Euros - old, loud, hot... and FAR too expensive!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zh-frog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    93
    128
    54
    20
See reviews for
40
97
19
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2008

I chose this hotel just because it's very close to the port. I was very happy with the location considering the fact we needed to take ferry at 8 a.m. Hotel is average, it was fine for us just for 1 night. The major thing i didn't like was service.
Some ferries leave at 8 a.m and you have to check in 1 hour in advance at the port, so it would be nice if they provide some early breakfast (at least coffee), especially considering the fact that most guests who stay there are people who take ferry. When we asked the guy if there's any early breakfast provided - he was kind of shocked by our question. He was very indifferent, cold and very unfriendly. I was shocked. Common, you can say, no, but not like he said.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Unfriendly receptionist (service)
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julia-lz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Livorno hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2008

Ignore the other reviews of this wonderful hotel. Most of the rooms have been totally remodelled in the last year or so and they are terrific. Our bathroom had a full shower and plenty of room. The bed was very comfortable and the view, since we were facing the port, was great. I'd suggest requesting a room facing the port since the views from the other rooms would not be very good. And be sure that you ask for one of the remodeled rooms for your stay until they finish the remodeling project. But don't worry about the work that may be going on - it's only in the individual rooms so you won't see or hear a thing.

The pizzeria off the lobby also offers the best pizza in town and the upscale restaurant attached to the lobby has excellent food.

The location couldn't be better either. The hotel's almost adjacent to the main street through Livorno, sits right on the water and is walking distance from some of the cruise line piers.

As if that's not enough, the hotel and restaurant staff is friendly and very helpful for anything you might need.

We loved this place!

  • Liked — Location and View
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CaryandMindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corsica, france
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2005

Avoid as possible this terrible hotel. It is noisy, expensive and you can't sleep all the night.
Nothing more to say...

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank uscemu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livorno hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Palazzo  – MGallery by Sofitel
4.6 mi away
Hotel La Vedetta
Hotel La Vedetta
#1 of 21 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Gennarino
Hotel Gennarino
#4 of 21 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Max Hotel Livorno
Max Hotel Livorno
#2 of 21 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#8 of 21 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Navy
Hotel Navy
#7 of 21 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gran Duca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Duca

Property: Hotel Gran Duca
Address: Piazza Giuseppe Micheli 16-18, 57123, Livorno, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Livorno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Livorno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gran Duca 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Gran Duca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Duca Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing