We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming waterfront hotel”
Review of Hotel Gran Duca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Gran Duca
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Livorno
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“charming waterfront hotel”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We arrived late without a reservation and the hotel reception manager called Luca was very helpful, Luca also upgraded our room at no extra cost to a balcony room on the second floor with an ocean view. Very quiet room and comfortable bed.

Room Tip: Large balcony room with ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Animalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    95
    128
    54
    20
See reviews for
41
97
19
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stalybridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The reception staff greeted us very warmly and was most helpful.
The room was a single at the back of the hotel which was noisy especially early in the morning, the bar was not the best and certainly not the cheapest, breakfast was adequate I suppose.
The bathroom floor is like ice when wet so beware.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Well let's start with the hotel, it's clean and tidy, so no issue with standards. The food is OK, although the restaurant lacks atmosphere. The bar ceiling is nice, and I'm general is fine. The room alas turned out to be a single, right on a street corner, the noise was dreadful. No duvet always irritating to me as is the lack of bath, the room was on the small side & cold. The wifi is 3 euro per day and patchy reception.
However the most annoying thing about the hotel is the rude obnoxious staff that are on the whole just unpleasant........ Especially the barmaid

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Livorno hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Carson City
Level Contributor
134 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located in an older property right on the harbor of Livorno. We had a small, small double room over looking the Quattro Mori statue. The room was crowded with a huge wardrobe two chairs, a desk and double bed. You had to turn sideways to sit on the toilet. The shower was good though. I had to argue about the internet, there was a charge. There is free parking however. The hotel is located close to good restaurants and cafés.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank robren88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

In my opinion does not qualify as a four star property. The rooms are very basic. Had to switch rooms twice during my three day stay. Once because of a water leak flooding the tile floor and once as there was no hot / warm water. Although the staff at the front desk was very apologetic there was no urgency to fix the problems. The location is great - the port and center of town is within walking distance. The dining experience at the hotel was very pleasant and the food very good. The staff was friendly. However, should I visit Livorno in the future, I would most likely look for another hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camilla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

What I love about this hotel is the location, side of the street is the popular Via Grande which is filled with retails and also leading to the train station. Laundry "bubbles" is 5mins by the cannel, numerous eateries nearby with the recommended "Le Votlre" seafood restaurant ahead.

The counter and front desk are polite and generally helpful. thumbsup.

The rooms are basic, bathroom are good, clean bedsheets and towels everyday, with refill of toiletries soap/shampoo/bath now and then. Theres mineral water but we aint aware that it was chargeable until the third day.

One disfavour to the hotel is that the hotwater shower wasn't consistent, when the occupancy goes up, the hotwater runs low and this is miserable when you are showering halfway.

One credit is to the honest chambermaids, there is occasion where my baggage wasn't secured properly and to my ease, nothing is missing. Ups for that.

Breakfast is average and the same everyday (no change in variety), being there for a long 3 weeks, this can be rather boring; standard European food- hardboiled eggs, sweet croissant, breads, ham and cheeses, fruits and yogurts.

End of the day, though rated as a 4-stars hotel, I thought that something is missing.

Room Tip: Avoid the Eastern wing, facing the rear. The bistro behind by the fountain gets pretty noisy esp wee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dexufto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

the first night on our tour we stayed here. I still wonder why!
reception were brusque but efficient.

rooms were comfy. happy to only stay one night as the traffic noise was very noticeable even with shutters and windows closed.

breakfast was basic, but adequate.

the building of the hotel is interesting, thick walls- from the old fort. comfy chair at reception to sit back in.

restaurant was tasty, although members of our party who arrived late because of an airport delay were told that the restaurant was closed and they could not help.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Di_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livorno hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Palazzo  – MGallery by Sofitel
4.6 mi away
Hotel La Vedetta
Hotel La Vedetta
#1 of 21 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Gennarino
Hotel Gennarino
#4 of 21 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Max Hotel Livorno
Max Hotel Livorno
#2 of 21 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#7 of 21 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Navy
Hotel Navy
#8 of 21 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gran Duca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Duca

Property: Hotel Gran Duca
Address: Piazza Giuseppe Micheli 16-18, 57123, Livorno, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Livorno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Livorno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gran Duca 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Gran Duca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Duca Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing