We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good location but a bit tired overall” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gran Duca

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Gran Duca
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Livorno
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good location but a bit tired overall”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This hotel is well located right on the waterfront next to Livorno's famous '4 Mori' statue. The rooms are variable in quality, some a modern and well furnished, others like 221, are cold, remote and old fashioned with no wi-fi signal. The bar is over-priced and the breakfast is pretty hopeless but then you don't come to Italy for the breakfast. The restaurant, however, is good and definitely worth a visit if you like fish - try the Cacciucco, the local fish stew and the wine list is reasonably priced. 3 euros a day for wi-fi is just being cheap but the hotel is very helpful about car parking - a pass for out-front or 10 euros a day in a locked car park behind the hotel. Staff were all very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the modern rooms at the front - I had 205 or 203 on my second stay and it was just f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BaggyQuin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    73
    107
    45
    12
See reviews for
29
72
16
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This hotel is at walking distance from the piers where ferries to the Tuscany islands depart. The room (mine was 323) was rather large and very clean, despite that not really impressing when furniture is concerned. Clean bathroom as well. Staff at the reception was very kind. Internet wi-fi was not free and this is absurd in an hotel of this price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paolo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is given a four star rating. This is more like a three star. Our room was extremely clean and airy but the aircon was intermittent. The gym and pool is tiny and was only open on request and was 9 euros each. It was tatty and crammed into a lift space. Breakfast was average with no hot eggs etc and no toaster just cold stuff. The location is ok as it is right on harbour but there is very little to do in Livorno. The staff range from helpful to abrupt. Ok hotel but too pricey for what it offers.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonteapot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I stayed one night before getting the ferry to Corsica. I'd asked for a non-smoking room, which I did not get. The room was not perfectly clean, and was quite tired-looking. Service at check-in and from the front desk was very good. Breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Livorno hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

It was our last day and we thought we would treat ourselves. The location is right next to one of our favourite wine bars that has live music. The bathroom was new yet the room was tired but clean. Now the negatives;I got bitten 3 times during the night, it may look like a double but it was two singles made up as a double so there was a crack in the middle - not comfortable, we had to pay 6 euros for a film on the television but at least there was a good choice, finally the traffic woke my partner first thing, it is very noisy. The good point was that the breakfast was good and fresh.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RJH1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

Post cruise we got on a train and headed north to see some of Italy. We arrived in Livorno on a Sunday, not a good idea as everything was closed. Couldn't even get a cab, so we dragged our luggage into town seeking a hotel. The few we passed were old and run down until we got to the harbor and found the Gran Duca. It was a bit more than we planned to spend but was very nice. It is in an old building but nicely remodeled. Our room was large and quiet with an adequate bathroom and comfortable bed. Best of all was the large balcony overlooking the harbor.

Staff spoke English and were very helpful. They let us use internet free, provided maps and even opened our bottle of wine for us. Breakfast is included and was very good by Italian standards. The attached restaurant had some of the best food we had in our 3 weeks in Italy. We would recommend it.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

Very very noisy hotel! Some of the staff not friendly. Very smelly room (sewage pipes from the toilet). WIFI 10 euros per day? Will certainly not book here again.

Their restaurant is good though. I asked for the fitness room but it was not open.

Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank BA_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livorno hotels
1.2 mi away
NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo
0.4 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#4 of 22 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel La Vedetta
Hotel La Vedetta
#1 of 22 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 stars 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Max Hotel Livorno
Max Hotel Livorno
#3 of 22 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 stars 435 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Gennarino
Hotel Gennarino
#6 of 22 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 stars 189 reviews
0.5 mi away
Al Teatro
Al Teatro
#10 of 22 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 stars 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gran Duca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Duca

Property: Hotel Gran Duca
Address: Piazza Giuseppe Micheli, 16-18, 57123, Livorno, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Livorno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Livorno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gran Duca 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Gran Duca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Duca Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing