We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel very clean but tatty now. Gym only open in request and is tiny and expensive!”
Review of Hotel Gran Duca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Gran Duca
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Livorno
newcastle
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Ok hotel very clean but tatty now. Gym only open in request and is tiny and expensive!”
Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is given a four star rating. This is more like a three star. Our room was extremely clean and airy but the aircon was intermittent. The gym and pool is tiny and was only open on request and was 9 euros each. It was tatty and crammed into a lift space. Breakfast was average with no hot eggs etc and no toaster just cold stuff. The location is ok as it is right on harbour but there is very little to do in Livorno. The staff range from helpful to abrupt. Ok hotel but too pricey for what it offers.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonteapot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    105
    134
    58
    22
See reviews for
44
106
21
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I stayed one night before getting the ferry to Corsica. I'd asked for a non-smoking room, which I did not get. The room was not perfectly clean, and was quite tired-looking. Service at check-in and from the front desk was very good. Breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Livorno hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

It was our last day and we thought we would treat ourselves. The location is right next to one of our favourite wine bars that has live music. The bathroom was new yet the room was tired but clean. Now the negatives;I got bitten 3 times during the night, it may look like a double but it was two singles made up as a double so there was a crack in the middle - not comfortable, we had to pay 6 euros for a film on the television but at least there was a good choice, finally the traffic woke my partner first thing, it is very noisy. The good point was that the breakfast was good and fresh.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJH1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Post cruise we got on a train and headed north to see some of Italy. We arrived in Livorno on a Sunday, not a good idea as everything was closed. Couldn't even get a cab, so we dragged our luggage into town seeking a hotel. The few we passed were old and run down until we got to the harbor and found the Gran Duca. It was a bit more than we planned to spend but was very nice. It is in an old building but nicely remodeled. Our room was large and quiet with an adequate bathroom and comfortable bed. Best of all was the large balcony overlooking the harbor.

Staff spoke English and were very helpful. They let us use internet free, provided maps and even opened our bottle of wine for us. Breakfast is included and was very good by Italian standards. The attached restaurant had some of the best food we had in our 3 weeks in Italy. We would recommend it.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Very very noisy hotel! Some of the staff not friendly. Very smelly room (sewage pipes from the toilet). WIFI 10 euros per day? Will certainly not book here again.

Their restaurant is good though. I asked for the fitness room but it was not open.

Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank BA_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2010

The room we had was a bit noisy but not impossibly so. The hotel overlooks the port and had we been taking a car onto the ferry to Bastia we would have been pleased with the location. But we were on foot and with luggage so we had to take a taxi costing about 12 euros.

The port itself is huge and badly signed. The taxi dropped us off at the ticket office but we found ourselves having to walk for about twenty minutes until we finally found our boat.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RGLLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

we needed 1 night in Livorno before catching an 8:15am ferry to Corsica. The Hotel Gran Duca is right on the water front and served the purpose well.

The rate we received by booking the day before was excellent and the hotel was clean, well equipped and the staff very welcoming. Our room overlooked a busy road along the water front and had electric shutters to control the noise level into the room.

free car parking was provided - you get a permit upon check in and then it's a bit of a game to secure a park out front. Be patient and one will free up. Otherwise, 12 Euro gets you secure parking undercover.

The hotel has a nice looking restaurant, however, across the road we found some excellent restaurants overlooking a marina.

if i was staying in the city of Livorno again and needed to be near ferry departures, I'd stay at the Hotel Gran Duca

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeebooTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livorno hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Palazzo  – MGallery by Sofitel
1.8 mi away
Max Hotel Livorno
Max Hotel Livorno
#2 of 21 in Livorno
590 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel La Vedetta
Hotel La Vedetta
#1 of 21 in Livorno
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#20 of 21 in Livorno
263 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Gennarino
Hotel Gennarino
#5 of 21 in Livorno
256 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#9 of 21 in Livorno
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gran Duca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Duca

Property: Hotel Gran Duca
Address: Piazza Giuseppe Micheli 16-18, 57123, Livorno, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Livorno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Livorno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gran Duca 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Gran Duca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Duca Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing