We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Vedetta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel La Vedetta
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Livorno
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2006

After finding the hotel which was a bit tricky we were thrilled with the room, the views, and the quiet. The staff were helpful and everything was of an excellent standard. We stayed for 3 nights and it was a beautiful escape after the pace of Rome. And the foreshore cafes of Livorno are only a few minutes away ... if your looking for something out of the city that captures Tuscany then this is it.

  • Liked — The lovation - views
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    185
    64
    23
    5
See reviews for
107
216
15
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Co.Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2006

A superbly well-appointed hotel in the hills of Montechero.
The hotel is superb, the location fantastic, although somewhat challenging to find. However, the effort is well rewarded.
The staff were courteous, considerate and most helpful. The room was in immaculate condition and very comfortable.
The facilities at the hotel are good; in particular there is a fine terrace overlooking the valley and a plentiful supply of sun-loungers to use.
The main area of disappointment was the restaurant. The food was average but pricey for what was supplied and the menu lacked imagination; had the food been of a higher standard the experience would have been second-to-none!

  • Liked — Cleanliness; delightful staff; style of hotel
  • Disliked — Food
  • Tips/Secrets — Have detailed directions for the hotel
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank daoshaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2006

My 2 sons, 7 and 14, and I stayed for 4 nights in one of the superior rooms. It had a great view! It was clean, spacious and well cared for. The front desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful. You must visit the Sanctuary while you are there and there are several resturaunts within walking distance. Need a work out? Walk to the bottom of the hill and walk back up or take the funicular. Great time and great fun!! To avoid the tight roads on the way up follow the signs to the Sanctuario di Montenero. The road to the hotel is right next to the sanctuary and clearly marked. I will definately stay here again and again!

  • Liked — It was removed enough from the hectic areas but close enough to get to the beach or sightseeing easily
  • Disliked — The breakfast was a little sparce but the staff was very accomidating as far as other choices.
  • Tips/Secrets — Once you get off the Autostrada follow the signs for the Sanctuario di Montenero. The road to the hotel is right next to the sanctuary.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank trvlinfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2005

My husband and I and our two teenagers stayed for one night in this small hotel. We had a double and a twin room which were called the standard rooms. They were nicely furnished and a reasonable size, although the walls were a little bare of any mirrors or paintings. They had air conditioning and ensuite bathrooms which were a good size with a powerful shower. We were on the ground floor. If we had been staying longer, we may have opted for the slightly more expensive rooms on the floors above, which have either panoramic views of the sea or the hotel garden and are more sumptuously furnished. However, everywhere was clean and well cared for. Breakfast was a cold buffet and the food was good. The staff were very helpful and as we did not want to eat fish that evening, they recommended a great trattoria about 10 minutes walk from the hotel and even rang them to reserve a table for us. There is a very nice terrace on top of the hotel where you can lounge with a drink and admire the view. The hotel also has a car park. The only downside was that we got a little lost trying to find the hotel and ended up on some very narrow unmade roads! We encountered a friendly local who pointed us in the right direction but I gather from her that this happens quite often!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livorno hotels
3.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Palazzo  – MGallery by Sofitel
4.6 mi away
Max Hotel Livorno
Max Hotel Livorno
#2 of 21 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Gennarino
Hotel Gennarino
#4 of 21 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Il Romito
Hotel Il Romito
#6 of 21 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Universal
Hotel Universal
#3 of 21 in Livorno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#5 of 21 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Vedetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Vedetta

Property: Hotel La Vedetta
Address: Via della Lecceta 5, 57128, Livorno, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Livorno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Livorno
#2 Romantic Hotel in Livorno
#2 Best Value Hotel in Livorno
#3 Business Hotel in Livorno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Vedetta 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1700, La Vedetta has a hilltop location with panoramic views across Livorno and the surrounding green hills. It offers air-conditioned rooms, a large buffet breakfast and free parking.Your room at Hotel La Vedetta comes with satellite TV, a minibar and inexpensive Wi-Fi access. Each bathroom features a hairdryer and toiletries.Once a minister's residence, La Vedetta Hotel now features a large sun terrace, a bar and a Tuscan restaurant open from May until September.The hotel is 5 minutes' walk from Montenero Church and Sanctuary. It is a short drive from the seaside and 10 km from the centre of Livorno. The port, for ferries to Sardinia and Corsica, is 15 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsClick, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel La Vedetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Vedetta Di Montenero Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing