We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good place in Livorno” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gennarino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gennarino
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Livorno
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good place in Livorno”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

It is not the best hotel where you can go but at least a good alternative if you don't want to spend double going to the grand palazzo
I did all hotels there and I was very satisfied with this place
Hotel was just refurbished , room very clean , good family staff and fair price
Good Tips indeed !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Seb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    93
    23
    6
    5
See reviews for
50
58
9
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Reading about this establishment on their web page foretells a story of grand splendor, a castle like villa, a romantic hideaway. It is none of these.

It is in fact; a pretty average place that does not truly deserve the title hotel, far less one with three stars

Think of it more, as a bed and breakfast with crowded, thin walled, high ceilinged, rooms that appear small with even smaller bathrooms. They do not have a bath and scarcely have a shower because it is so small and the water pressure is so low. Now you get a good idea of what you might find. Add in hard mattresses and lumpy pillows and the scene becomes more realistic.

Then, to complete the accuracy, consider the incessant and never ending cacophony of barking dogs from the adjacent property. These dogs bark, morning, noon and night! But do not worry, the hotel does not charge any extra for the noise!

Do not bother bringing an alarm clock. If the noise of the dogs does not do it the heavy traffic on the raod outside the hotel will do the trick.

It does not charge for the free wifi Internet either, but while that sounds good, the reality is the free Internet is so slow that it is quicker to use the post office for mail

And they only deliver once a day

On the plus side the staff are friendly and appear very willing to please.

Room Tip: Rooms on the left have quieter dogs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BolshyNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights with my husband and two small boys. The hotel is located on Viale Italia, which is one of the main roads in Livorno. The location for our purpose was perfect, close to the city, but even closer to the beach.
The service was helpful. We got to switch the room after first night and got a room that suited us better (instead of 4 regular beds we got then 3 regular and one baby bed).
The room got cleaned everyday and it was cozy.
There were breakfast tables outside and we enjoyed our breakfast there every morning.
The owners were helpful and friendly and suggested us things to do with the boys.
Warmly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellin77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed in this hotel and couldn't have asked for a better place. The exterior of the building was beautiful and the interior was just as nice. The room we were into seemed recently redone and the bathoroom was very spacious for the price range. The breakfast had a lot of choices. Definitely a top place for your stay in Livorno.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank timleroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Gennarino is a lovely liberty building just in front of the sea in Livorno.
It could be an amazing cosy place, but is not run properly.
Room are quite large and nice, with amazing showers. But no amenities, nor room service is provided - Breakfast is dreadful and room policies ridicolous (check out by 1030 am!).
You don't even get help with your luggage!
At least is quite unexpensive, and if you don't mind waking up early, it could be a good choice!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pippi_Rome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

This is a small family-owned establishment near the Naval Academy in Livorno. Recently rennovated, it has a BEAUTIFUL decor ! It's a "Libertine" style villa. The family staff is excellent - they helped with anything I asked (the younger ones speak good English; the grandparents don't but they will understand what you want/need anyway:)...There is free parking right behind the building; I had no problems with my rental car.
Breakfast isn't cooked to order on-site, it's the continental type: rolls, butter/jam, juice, fruit, etc. Not much variety, but enough for me. Excellent coffee! Also, there is a small but complete bar and you can buy a drink or beer anytime, day or night. My room was very comfortable (although the bed was harder than I'm used to; this is something I find all the time in Europe), the room and bathroom was SPOTLESS and very sanitary. My only problem with the room was the air conditioning, as I'm used to the more powerful American variety and I was staying there in late July/early August, the hottest time for that area. My room had a "frigo bar" - a small refrigerator in the room, stocked with a couple of Italian beers, small bottles of wine, fruit juice and cola - well appreciated. They were in the process of installing an elevator (lift) at the time, but I don't know if it's finished. Anyway, I didn't need it.
There is a gym (palestra) within easy walk; its behind the stadium.
A few cons: the internet is spotty and a bit expensive. There are few retaurants nearby; be prepared to walk a good ways or drive. You also have to drive to get to the public beaches.
I highly reccomend this place and I hope to go back soon...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robb44535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vitoria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

very kind people that really care about me. i d say that every morning i got a genuine smile from all staffs. i had bring my bike and they let me put it inside my room (it may be not important for ones that dont ride a 8000 BIKE). good breakast. i would say that u got more than u pay for your stay in this hotel. of course it could be much better but than u should go to other place a pay doble. so thanks c u next time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marmotaVitoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livorno hotels
0.7 mi away
NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo
3.0 mi away
Hotel La Vedetta
Hotel La Vedetta
#1 of 22 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 stars 370 reviews
2.7 mi away
Max Hotel Livorno
Max Hotel Livorno
#3 of 22 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 stars 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Universal
Hotel Universal
#5 of 22 in Livorno
4.5 of 5 stars 85 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Navy
Hotel Navy
#9 of 22 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Il Romito
Hotel Il Romito
#7 of 22 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 stars 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gennarino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gennarino

Property: Hotel Gennarino
Address: Viale Italia 301, 57127, Livorno, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Livorno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Livorno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Gennarino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description: Welcome to Hotel GennarinoHotel Gennarino is a delightful castle in liberty style and it is located in Viale Italia no 301 on the seafront in front of the Naval Academy.In this beautiful area you can admire all the villas in liberty style that dates from the beginning of the 20th centuryTurning right from the hotel walking down towards San Jacopo in Acquaviva you will see a church that has been built on a 7th century hermitage ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Gennarino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing