We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Gennarino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Gennarino
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Livorno
menton
Level Contributor
120 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“overrated”
Reviewed July 14, 2011

This hotel tries very hard to be chic... but there is a fine line between chic and kitsch. I am not a fan of plastic flowers nor of red ribbons tied around plants..... and I don't want to see signs everywhere that smokers will be find........
One did not have the feeling of being made welcome at this establishment.

There is no lift. This is no place for the elderly or infirm.
Our room was on the second floor and although the receptionist, who I believe to be the owner, kindly carried our case upstairs, we had to carry it down the next day.
The hairdryer in the room did not work
The outside temperature on the day we arrived was 40 degrees and although we had booked, the air conditioning in our room had not been switched on beforehand. Indeed, it appeared to have been set to function at no lower than 27.5 degrees and it was impossible to lower the temperature. Quite uncomfortable, as the bathroom was very warm.

Although breakfast the next morning was adequate. It was self service all the way. A tray was handed to us and we sat outside. I had to go inside and ask for a second cup of coffee. There was only one other couple breakfasting at the time and no effort was made to be hospitable. Did we enjoy our stay? Nobody asked us.
I had the feeling of having stayed at a boarding house where the owners couldn't wait to
get rid of us.
Would I use this "hotel" again? No!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brigitteMenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    117
    30
    9
    5
See reviews for
71
71
10
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Level Contributor
266 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2011

A nice place to stay that was a bit different from the norm. Parking. A walk into town of about 30 minutes. Friendly staff. Nice breakfast. Livorno is major port. We had trouble finding open places to eat on a Sunday, but were OK in the end,

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EKSAYERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2010

This is a charming hotel formally a Naval house that has been done-up fantastically. It looks brand new with old world charm. Excellent rooms - very clean - good bathroom etc. Very friendly people working at the hotel. In summer this place would be fantastic. Nice breakfast and lovely bar area. Free - Safe parking.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PedroandTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA USA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Excellent rooms - clean and comfortable. Very friendly and helpful staff. The decor (interior and exterior) was fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuzzDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2010

The place is spotless and the owners are so friendly. You can tell they have put a lot of work into remodeling and decorating the house. It was raining so hard when we were there and we sat and chatted with the entire family and felt so at home. We walked away feeling like we had new friends! We would love for them to come visit here in the U.S.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaliforniaTravel4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2010

Nice room, reasonable breakfast, plenty of warm water with significant force, large room, king size bed, well appointed and friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lud2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livorno hotels
3.0 mi away
Hotel La Vedetta
Hotel La Vedetta
#1 of 21 in Livorno
506 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Palazzo  – MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navy
Hotel Navy
#8 of 21 in Livorno
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Max Hotel Livorno
Max Hotel Livorno
#2 of 21 in Livorno
535 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Il Romito
Hotel Il Romito
#6 of 21 in Livorno
310 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Universal
Hotel Universal
#3 of 21 in Livorno
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gennarino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gennarino

Property: Hotel Gennarino
Address: Viale Italia 301, 57127, Livorno, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Livorno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Livorno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Gennarino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description: Welcome to Hotel GennarinoHotel Gennarino is a delightful castle in liberty style and it is located in Viale Italia no 301 on the seafront in front of the Naval Academy.In this beautiful area you can admire all the villas in liberty style that dates from the beginning of the 20th centuryTurning right from the hotel walking down towards San Jacopo in Acquaviva you will see a church that has been built on a 7th century hermitage ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Orbitz, HRS, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Gennarino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing