We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Recommended if passing through Livorno!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Livorno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Recommended if passing through Livorno!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

There's not a lot to do in this port town but that didn't stop us from enjoying our stay! This was our first stop on our honeymoon and we were lucky enough to get a gorgeous sea view on the 3rd floor. Our room wasn't ready because we arrived early, so we walked to the boardwalk and park in front of the hotel and had lunch at a cute outdoor restaurant.

The room was beautiful. Much larger than I was expecting! We opened the window in the morning to let the sea breeze in. The staff was very helpful and attentive. The breakfast was delicious and had the most options (fruits, sweets, meats, breads, eggs, cereal, juices) I've ever seen in an Italian hotel. The parking lot was a plus. The rooftop bar and restaurant also have great views and friendly servers. The wifi was spotty but can't complain about it being free. :)

While staying here we visited Cinque Terre, Pisa and Lucca. It's an easy trek by car or train to any of the neighboring cities. The hotel is near the bus stop which was easy to catch to the train station. We did get lost trying to find the hotel though. This could be because it was our first attempt at driving in Italy but even after obtaining directions from the hotel before we even left our house, we still got turned around! But it was a learning experience and we were so happy to finally find it.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrvlngMexscotalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    394
    184
    69
    36
See reviews for
188
598
39
235
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Wonderful hotel, great value for money when I stayed, loved the luxury of the rooftop pool, the dinner in the rooftop restaurant and the splendid breakfast selection.

Livorno is a surprisingly interesting place and I enjoyed my stay immensely

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Livorno was a great surprise! Widely known as port city I was not prepared for how beautiful it was or how peaceful and calm we found it to be. After the previous week of Venice and Verona it was a very nice contrast to have so much beautiful scenery mostly to ourselves. The previous reviewers citing a lack of good food must have stopped short of the places we found, which had some of the best seafood we had on the entire trip. We liked it here and plan to go back just to relax!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
Level Contributor
507 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We chose this hotel as it was one of the best in Livorno and has car parking, we like a nice hotel before a night on motor rail then ferry! Check in was terribly slow but It was a good hotel with a good breakfast. The upstairs 5th floor pool looked nice though we didn't use it. The bar area there was ok but once you were sitting down there was no view just the wall!
Livorno is somewhere to go on the way to somewhere else, it's a port town and not a beach one although there are some Lidos.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank toniShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a night last month, and found the hotel to be quite pleasant. The rooms were nice, and the breakfast buffet had a good range of foods for all tastes. The waterfront outside is nice to wander as well, although maybe lacking for some decent restaurant options. The view from the rooftop bar is very nice, and we watched a magnificent sunset from up there. All in all, I’d definitely recommend this place, even though it’s a bit far from the action.

Room Tip: waterfront views are obviously nicer than a view of the carpark, so ask for one, or book if you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This hotel was perfect for us. We landed in Pisa, went to Cinque Terre, Lucca and wine country (Bolgheri). The hotel is beautiful, room was great and the bathroom was good. The breakfast had a large selection and was good. Unfortunatly there isnt much in the area. The reception recommended Chez Rene for dinner in the area and the food was great!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Mel977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Åkrehamn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Very good hotel, nice staff nice room, perfect view.
should have heated pool , but very nice any how.
brekfast very good.
i can recomend this hotel, and always book a room with ocean view.
Livorno is not the best place in Itali , but it is ok

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Dag K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livorno
3.7 mi away
Hotel La Vedetta
Hotel La Vedetta
#1 of 22 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 stars 407 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Gennarino
Hotel Gennarino
#5 of 22 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 stars 201 reviews
2.5 mi away
Max Hotel Livorno
Max Hotel Livorno
#3 of 22 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 stars 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hotel Il Romito
Hotel Il Romito
#7 of 22 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 stars 277 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Gran Duca
Hotel Gran Duca
#10 of 22 in Livorno
3.5 of 5 stars 279 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Universal
Hotel Universal
#4 of 22 in Livorno
4.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo

Property: NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo
Address: Viale Italia 195 | Terrazza Mascagni, 57127, Livorno, Italy (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Palazzo)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Livorno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Livorno
#1 Romantic Hotel in Livorno
#1 Green Hotel in Livorno
#2 Business Hotel in Livorno
#2 Family Hotel in Livorno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo is an exquisite five-star hotel with breathtaking views of the Ligurian Sea, exuding the luxurious charm of over one hundred years of glorious history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, NHHotels, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Livorno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing