We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo to your Saves list
NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Italia, 195 | Terrazza Mascagni, 57127, Livorno, Italy (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Palazzo)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
LOOKING FOR BETTER DEAL?
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Livorno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a night last month, and found the hotel to be quite pleasant. The rooms were nice, and the breakfast buffet had a good range of foods for all tastes. The waterfront outside is nice to wander as well, although maybe lacking for some decent restaurant options. The view from the rooftop bar is very nice, and we watched a magnificent sunset from up there. All in all, I’d definitely recommend this place, even though it’s a bit far from the action.

Room Tip: waterfront views are obviously nicer than a view of the carpark, so ask for one, or book if you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This hotel was perfect for us. We landed in Pisa, went to Cinque Terre, Lucca and wine country (Bolgheri). The hotel is beautiful, room was great and the bathroom was good. The breakfast had a large selection and was good. Unfortunatly there isnt much in the area. The reception recommended Chez Rene for dinner in the area and the food was great!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Mel977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Åkrehamn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Very good hotel, nice staff nice room, perfect view.
should have heated pool , but very nice any how.
brekfast very good.
i can recomend this hotel, and always book a room with ocean view.
Livorno is not the best place in Itali , but it is ok

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Dag K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Classy looking hotel with ample parking possibilities. Easy to find by car. Nice roof garden with a terrific oceanview. Too bad the roof garden maintained no Wifi, in the room Wifi was okay. Very attractive breakfastroom, also possible to eat outside on the beautiful terrace. Good choice of food at breakfast. We didn't find something to our liking to eat at the roof garden restaurant, but the drinks were okay. Very good service at reception. Nice that they let us check out late without costs. We would visit this hotel again next time in Livorno.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Memento2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Arrived early c. 12.30 and asked if we could check in, there was no room free (which was fine), however Reception staff we found to be rude and abrupt, did not offer to hold bags until room was free. Livorno - there is nothing of note to see here, I'd recommend to move on. The nh is centrally located but the surrounding area is poor-no eateries. Rooms are nice but the pool area is not relaxing and the photos on web sites makes the hotel looks alot better than it is in reality-needs some TLC,lick of paint, new towels and staff training. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhino123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Easy to arrive with secured parking space - gates will be closed over night. We got a quiet room as requested. Room was very clean, spacious with good comfort. Best was the pool on the roof which we enjoyed after the long journey. Our dinner we could enjoy from the roof garden - excellent food and stunning sunset - the promenade in front of the hotel and looking at the sea made the short stay just wonderful. We certainly would like to come back to this hotel - specifically when we do the ferry crossing to corsica again.

Room Tip: for quiet room you need to ask for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed one night in Livorno en route from Bologna to Rome (decided to break up the trip by visiting the coast for one night).

This hotel was great, beautiful reception area, loved the rooftop pool and watching ships pass by. Staff were friendly, and helpful. I was surprised at some of the negative reviews, we didnt find it a negative experience. Staff even let us stay in the pool area after checkout as our train didnt leave till 5pm, which meant we got two days at the pool out of a one night stay, much appreciated!

The hotel is about 15 mins taxi ride from the train station. The bathroom was large with separate shower and bath. The bed was comfortable and design was opulant, if not too over the top (strong colours not my preference, but hotel was beautiful nonetheless).

The downside was that the internet was not working, and also the TV. This was a shame as we were hoping to book some tours for rome. The PC in the lobby was offered, but didnt appeal.

Breakfast was fabulous with many fruits, juices, breads, yoghurts offered. Great array of food to choose from.

Livorno itself is hard to get information on as to visit or not. We chose it as a random place to see. There are paid beaches across the road (no sand, just concrete platoons to rent a sunbed on and ladders to get into the water). But the hotel pool kept us quite happy (though if I'd stayed longer I would have had a swim in the sea). Tourists mainly come from the cruiseships that port there (big ones at that). Other than that it seems that many tourists are from italy itself. We enjoyed walking around for a few hours to get a sense of town, it is apparently one of the poorest areas of italy, but we felt safe, despite evidence of homelessness/poverty. There are quite a few casual restaurants on the street outside NH. We ate at Braceria Al Mare Livorno Pizza, cheap meal, great pizza and it reminded me of the beach resorts in Calabria, many families and large groups eating together. Great woodfire pizzas. Livorno was nice to visit for a 'sit by the pool' kind of trip, if I stayed any longer I probably would have done a day trip to pisa, or otherwise stayed at

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank inkypinkgizmo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livorno hotels
3.7 mi away
Hotel La Vedetta
Hotel La Vedetta
#3 of 23 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 stars 306 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Gennarino
Hotel Gennarino
#8 of 23 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 stars 169 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Il Romito
Hotel Il Romito
#5 of 23 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 stars 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Max Hotel Livorno
Max Hotel Livorno
#7 of 23 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 stars 388 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Universal
Hotel Universal
#1 of 23 in Livorno
4.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#6 of 23 in Livorno
4.0 of 5 stars 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo

Address: Viale Italia, 195 | Terrazza Mascagni, 57127, Livorno, Italy (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Palazzo)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Livorno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Livorno
#1 Green Hotel in Livorno
#1 Luxury Hotel in Livorno
#2 Business Hotel in Livorno
#2 Family Hotel in Livorno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo is an exquisite five-star hotel with breathtaking views of the Ligurian Sea, exuding the luxurious charm of over one hundred years of glorious history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, NHHotels and Venere so you can book your NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Livorno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing