We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bed and Breakfast La Martellina
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Olmi Firenze(Bagno a Ripoli)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Morghen(Settignano)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (280)
Filter reviews
280 results
Traveler rating
210
57
5
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
210
57
5
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsarno riverold millb bminute bus ridebike pathevery morningdifferent languagesprovided mapsfresh fruitvisit florencea wonderful place to staymakes you feelclaudiohosthammockscitygarden
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 280 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the B&B recently and it was great experience! I wish our stay was longer so we could’ve hung out at the B&B to take in the beautiful views. Claudio was great and I felt very comfortable there. We didn’t know how to get to his place – it’s the street furthest to the left when you get off the bus. Luckily, we asked the bus driver or we would’ve been walking around aimless. Even though it’s 20 minutes out of Florence – it was nice to get out of the city and have peace and quiet at night. There is also a nice traditional Italian restaurant up the street. The breakfast was amazing both days! My husband and I will stay there again if we ever go back to Italy. I would recommend this B&B to anyone who wants a true B&B experience and a need to get out of the Florence craziness. Oh…and of course Emilio was great too!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meghan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I had a wonderful time staying at la Martellina. The room, the garden, the hosts Claudio and Emilio, I will remember it all with love and sunshine in my heart. I will specially remember the breakfasts in the garden that Claudio made, different things every morning!
The connections with the bus were great and the small resturant in the village served nice italian food.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malinimalmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Claudio's B&B is great and he serves up an excellent breakfast. The place is a 15-20 minute bus ride to Florence's city center (right by the Duomo). The bus is really easy to take and runs until 1am or so, so no worries about getting stuck. Perfect if you want a romantic getaway in a beautiful landscape, but you also want to go sightseeing in Florence.

Room Tip: The shared bathroom is great if you choose one of the smaller rooms, but the ensuite room is absolutely amazing if you have the money to splurge.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveler_3933_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We were looking for a B&B experience that was a little out of the hustle and bustle, but still easily accessible to the city without a car. Only a short walk to the bus line or you can use Claudio's bikes to get to town. The constant sound of the river outside our window was one of our favorite parts. That and being greeted by Emilio each time we returned. Although we have fantastic memories of Florence, we have just as many of from La Martellina. Also, our best meal of the entire Italian trip was the local restuarant recommended to us by Claudio. Absolutely wonderful, would return in an instant.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

perfect place to retreat to after being in florenze, actually it was hard to go to the city because we enjoyed it so much in the house, just being in the lovely garden with a glas of wine. Claudio was very nice and relaxed. would love to go back. never stayed a more beautiful place. The kids loved it and particularly the dog and the pool. They will never forget that place. Got lots of tips form Claudio where to go next. All the the best to the place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews