We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place by the river with garden”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bed and Breakfast La Martellina
Ranked #2 of 17 Fiesole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely place by the river with garden”
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Great place to stay: relaxed, quiet, friendly, helpful, big garden, simple, clean, close enough to Florence, lovely breakfast (especially when you can eat outsite in the garden!), bikes, a good restaurant and ice cream shop within walking distance and as a plus a dog and two cats.
It was everything I hoped it would be for a short break. Can definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giggi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    55
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
59
166
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2011

About a year ago we went to Italy for the first time. We did half the time in Rome and half in Florence. Our time in Florence is memorable for several reasons, but the primary reason was La Martellina.

The property is great. The proprietor is charming and friendly--he left us our privacy yet was also so accessible! The house, a converted mill, is beautiful and historic. The layout of the guest room area has an intimacy and privacy that has set the bar high for any future B&B. We enjoyed leisurely scrumptious breakfasts, bottles of wine outside above the river, and a good nights sleep (to the sound of the flowing river) in the comfortable room.

Without equivocation I recommend La Martellina!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bd4tru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bardstown, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2011

No air conditioning needed. Cool and comfortable at night. The inn keeper was wonderful. We had the best Italian breakfast of our entire trip.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krkrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2011

As all of the other reviews have already stated - you owe it to yourself to experience the warm very hospitable ambiance of La Martellina.
Park your car and enjoy the 15 minute bus ride right to central Florence. You'll sleep very well listening to the sounds of the Arno River and eat very well enjoying the kitchen talents of Host/Chef Claudio.
Highly recommended and will be returning for a longer stay!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steviebee222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2010

La Martellina was a warm, relaxed peaceful refuge from which to take an easy and pleasant 15 minute bus ride into Florence each day or to explore smaller towns in Tuscany. Claudio was kind, knowledgeable and helpful in every way. The atmosphere he created was casual and homey. We enjoyed breakfast in the garden with him and the other guests so much at times we had to push ourselves to get up and start our day!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katinaw_to
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 22, 2010

The title says it all.
It feels like home you've never been.
The accommodation is decoratively beautiful with style.
The owner is very hospitable and his "Emilio" the dog is a real charm.
It locates out-skirt of Florence/Firenze. Ones might want to stay in the
city, but ten to fifteen minutes on bus to the city is the price you will
be willing to pay once you've seen it.
The bad thing about it...is that he also keeps a cat (or cats?), and I'm
more like a dog person.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank warytt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2010

Late middle-aged U.S. couple exited at wrong bus stop and hauled luggage through Tuscan summer heat, looking for La Martellina. Friendly family drove us to this wonderful B & B. An old mill on the Arno, biking distance from Florence. Wonderful hospitality from host Claudio, who provided maps, bikes, laundry facilities and delicious, healthy breakfasts. Favorite memory from Italy: Waking in the mornings at La Martellina to birdsongs through our open window, and in the background, the murmer of the Arno. Right below the window, we would hear Claudio making breakfast on the patio, talking in Italian to his St. Bernard mix, Emilio. Good food, friendly hosts, and wonderful service at the local restaurant--discount for Martellina guests. Easy bus access to Florence, trains, and neighboring towns. Day trips possible without a car. Great value.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtrachsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fiesole
3.3 mi away
FH Villa Fiesole Hotel
FH Villa Fiesole Hotel
#3 of 11 in Fiesole
488 reviews
3.1 mi away
Pensione Bencista
Pensione Bencista
#2 of 11 in Fiesole
366 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Bonelli
Hotel Villa Bonelli
#8 of 11 in Fiesole
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Demidoff Country Resort
Demidoff Country Resort
#1 of 1 in Pratolino
438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fattoria di Poggiopiano
Fattoria di Poggiopiano
#5 of 17 in Fiesole
98 reviews
2.0 mi away
Eridu
Eridu
#2 of 16 in Fiesole
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast La Martellina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast La Martellina

Property: Bed and Breakfast La Martellina
Address: Via della Martellina 19 | San Jacopo Al Girone, 50061, Fiesole, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Fiesole
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Fiesole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic Ancient 13th century mill, with charming garden on the river, Florence lies less than 5 Km away. Private parking. The bus stop within 200 meters for the center of Florence. Bikes available. Only the background murmur of the river you whisper in the ears! Located near a small village is completely surrounded by green countryside. A lovely outdoor garden and a hearty breakfast awaits you in the morning and you will spend a pleasant stay with family. The B & B can be both an ideal base to visit Florence or a starting point for hiking or walking and cycling in the Florentine countryside.The garden is a pleasant break after a day visiting monuments and museums. A few hundred meters guests have at their disposal, without having to use a car, an excellent restaurant, bar, pharmacy and various other shops, in addition to the movies. Availability of bicycles for walks or to Florence on the beautiful bike path on the banks of the Arno. The bus stop within 200 meters will allow you to reach the center of Florence, with departures every 15 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Bed and Breakfast La Martellina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast La Martellina Fiesole, Province Of Florence, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing