We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Convenient, Comfortable, Charming”
Review of Le Cannelle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Cannelle
Ranked #4 of 17 Fiesole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2006

My husband and I stayed at Le Cannelle for three nights while visiting Florence and absolutely loved the place and the owner Sara. The room we stayed in was large and very clean. (We stayed in a front room at the top of the first flight of stairs.) The restoration of this old home, formerly a convent, was very well-done by Sara's family, and each room has been decorated very simply and tastefully by Sara herself. Sara was kind enough to show us the rest of the rooms on the one day that we were the only ones staying there, and they are just as nice. Sara was very helpful with directions and restaurant recommendations and was always very cheerful when serving us breakfast in the morning.

Le Cannelle and Fiesole are extremely convenient to Florence by the bus, just a 2 minute walk from the B&B. There are a handful of very good restaurants in Fiesole, all in or near the town square. Our favorite was La Reggia up on the hill on the way to San Francesco - make sure you have enough room for dinner and dessert! It is a very steep hike, but well worth it! We sat outside and had a view of Florence from our table. There are also several tables inside by the window from which you can see the view.

One thing you must know about Le Cannelle is that it is on a small, busy street, which is the main street in Fiesole, so it is kind of hard to park your car (in a parking lot down the street) then lug your bags up to the B&B if you have heavy or many bags. If you take a taxi, then they might be able to drop you off right in front if there is a free space across the street. In my opinion, it is a small inconvenience for the comfort you get at the B&B once you are settled, but something to be aware of. The breakfast room looks out onto the street, but it's a great vantage point for observing the locals walking by on their way to work.

I highly recommend staying at Le Cannelle and spending some time in Fiesole during your next trip to Florence. A room there is cleaner, newer, homier, and more spacious than anything you can get in Florence for the same price.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank tricky-t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 129 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2005

We stayed for four nights in late September and really found it to be a home from home. Sara who runs it was just a bundle of energy. She made my wife and I so welcome.
Breakfast was so special with good choices. The Parma ham and cheese with coffee by the cupful was just the right start for the day. And, of course, some great background music to set it off.
It's very homely but also very convenient to explore Florence. No.7 bus gets one a return for less than 2 Euro to the central bus terminus in Florence.
Why pay so much more in Florence when one can experience a warm welcome and very reasonable B'n B rate in a convenient location.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank clubman44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2005

We just got back from two weeks in Italy and I would highly recommend staying at Le Cannelle in Fiesole over staying in Florence. Fiesole is just a short bus ride on Bus #7 from Florence and it is a world apart from Florence's hectic pace. Sarah, the owner, was very welcoming and the breakfast alone was worth the trip. Fresh pastries and espresso served in a delightful atmosphere. There are only a handful of rooms so it is very intimate. I would definitely return. In fact, we tried to return to stay on our last few nights back in Florence but it was already booked. Fiesole is a small, charming town with its own ruins, museum, and other sights.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Terra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2005

We cant recommend this bed and breakfast enough! We stayed for 5 nights in August and didn't want to leave! Fiesole itself is a lovely little village which overlooks Florence with amazing views, the location was ideal - quiet but still plenty going on. A regular bus service to Florence which took 20mins was very useful but there were a few nice places to eat and drink in Fiesole itself along with an interesting museum. Our room was very spacious and very clean and the view from our window was wonderful. The lady who runs the B&B was very friendly and helpful, she went out of her way to make us feel welcome which was lovely. Breakfast was great, the best we had in Italy and the most gorgeous cappucinos! We will definately be going back!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Linz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jafaure2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Oliviero C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaraCorsi, Proprietario at Le Cannelle, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: En famille, la chambre Duplex est parfaite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Loïc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fiesole hotels
3.5 mi away
Bed and Breakfast La Martellina
1.2 mi away
Florence Country Relais
Florence Country Relais
#3 of 17 in Fiesole
70 reviews
0 mi away
Antiche Scale B&B
Antiche Scale B&B
#6 of 17 in Fiesole
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Belmond Villa San Michele
0.6 mi away
Pensione Bencista
Pensione Bencista
#2 of 11 in Fiesole
385 reviews
0.3 mi away
FH Villa Fiesole Hotel
FH Villa Fiesole Hotel
#3 of 11 in Fiesole
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Cannelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Cannelle

Address: Via Antonio Gramsci 52-54/56, 50014, Fiesole, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Fiesole
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Fiesole
Price Range: $90 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your home away from home in the heart of the ancient town of Fiesole. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Cannelle Fiesole, Province Of Florence, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing