We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best archeological place we have been to” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museo Civico e Area Archeologica

Museo Civico e Area Archeologica
Ranked #2 of 21 things to do in Fiesole
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
135 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Best archeological place we have been to”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We visited this site and were amazed by the beautiful surroundings and the excellent state of the excavations. The park is surrounded by the hills of Tuscany and is very picturesque. It had excellent walkways and lifts for those in wheelchairs and many explanations in Braille for the partially sighted. The museum was set into the hillside around former excavations which were visibly accessible through glass panels. We learned a lot about the Langobard people who had originally settled the area. A peaceful, tranquil retreat. Caught the number 70 bus from San Marco Square. 4.70 euro for two return tickets purchased from the local tobacconist.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Waiariki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    137
    35
    18
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Worth a visit but needs more informative displays”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

This 2000 year old Roman amphitheatre and other ruins are an easy short bus trip up the hill to Fiesole from the centre of Florence. Some well designed signs or audio tour would have enhanced the explanation of the various sites while walking around unless you can read Italian or Italian Braille. It was fun for the kids to run around unhindered through all the ruins and the amphitheatre steps to let off steam after a long lunch. The rapid bus ride down the hill was certainly worth the two euro return bus ticket for thrill seekers.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We have just returned from a week in Florence and I'm so glad we took the number 7 bus to explore Fiesole, including the Roman Amphitheatre and Museum in particular. It was one of our favourite things during the whole week! The admission, and the bus fare, were both covered by our Firenze cards. The bus was busy but we got seats both ways, and the journey didn't take very long. We spent a very enjoyable half day looking at the ruins, the beautiful scenery and the many fascinating artifacts in the museum (there seem to be more explanatory signs in English now than earlier visitors say they found). We had a very nice lunch sitting outside at the cafe within the site (they offer a 10% discount to those with admission tickets). After lunch we went back to the town square and took the steep path up to the Monastery - fabulous views over Florence from up there, and the Monastery was also very interesting as we were able to see some tiny monks' cells.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heather J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“amazing out of the way jewel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

beautiful view and not crowded. A hidden jewel in a small hilltop town 20 minutes from Firenze. You can stop at a cafe next to the site and view it while having a cool drink or a light meal.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lino S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is a lovely break from the business of Florence. As well, the temperatures are much more manageable in the high hills if you travel in hot weather. We travelled in August, and the temperatures in Florence were sweltering. We spent the day in Fiesole, and we were virtually alone as few tourists venture this way. It was easy to take a bus from Florence, and it was well worth the trip. The museum features a sizable collection of Roman and Etruscan art. I especially appreciated the pottery collection. There is a beautiful Roman theater that made the entire trip worth it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank deschweizify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo Civico e Area Archeologica also viewed

 
Fiesole, Province of Florence
Fiesole, Province of Florence
 

Been to Museo Civico e Area Archeologica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing