We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A luxurious & magical experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Villa San Michele

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Belmond Villa San Michele
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Fiesole
Certificate of Excellence
California
1 review
“A luxurious & magical experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

I absolutely loved this hotel. I've stayed in some of the loveliest hotels in Italy, and I can say without question that Villa San Michele was my favorite. Firstly, the setting is remarkable, the views stunning, and the vibe, utterly charming. We had just spent the last week at the Lungarno and we'd heard of the Villa's lush scenery. From the minute we arrive we were treated as if we were the only guests there. We were given the utmost of attention by all the fabulous staff who consistently made it their business to ensure we have everything we needed to make our stay comfortable. Everyone who worked there, from Managers to waiters to housekeepers were incredibly friendly and lovely. The food was impeccable (yet pricey), and the rooms were large and comfortable. I should mention that the design of this Villa is not at all modern. It's very modest and old world, but very clean and charming. They also have free internet in the rooms and ALSO outside in the gardens! This hotel certainly isn't cheap, but if you want to treat yourself even for a couple of nights, you will not be disappointed! This is PERFECT honeymoon hotel!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LMM35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    46
    13
    5
    8
See reviews for
59
184
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

what an amazing trip! We stayed 5 nights at Villa San Michele at the beginning of october to celebrate our anniversary. We had an incredibe time in Italy, the hotel staff could not have been nicer and always ready to comply with any request. Luca the manager met us on arrival and provided an unexpected free upgrade to a junior suite with private garden with a huge marble bathroom. Housekeeping service was very good.Vittorio the restaurant manager organized an unforgettable private dinner under the star with spectacular view of Florence, the food was great and especially the tagliolini with white truffles.We had dinner also the following day by the terrace restaurant, excellent again,The pool was stunning and had good lunch there. We used the complimentary shuttle to go shopping to Florence, the ride is 20 minutes, it was very efficient.Did not tried the cooking school.We will defenately be back..

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueApple1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

I'd like to be really positive about the Villa San Michele but I think that it does not deliver what it should. It is a very expensive 5 star hotel but it seems to be trading on the fact that the view and setting is fantastic and so has lost sight of providing good service. The rooms are nothing wonderful. They are large but the furniture is not particularly nice or even comfortable. The bathrooms are lovely and the Bulgari toiletries are lovely but when I turned on the basin tap I had to wait for some time before the water stopped running brown. So maybe they need new plumbing. They also have an insect problem. There are mosquitos in the rooms and at breakfast there were dead insects in the stewed fruit and on the pastries. Service was off and on. At times there was no one at the pool to give you a towel or put a cushion on a lounge and you had to do it yourself. One morning at breakfast we were just ignored - no dirty dishes removed or menus offered. If you made any comment to the staff about service faults they suggested the fault was somehow yours. For example we waited 20 minutes one night for a drink that had been ordered and when we asked about it we were told it was because they were squeezing fresh juice for it as they didn't use bottled. It was implied that we were just impatient when it was quite clear they had just forgotten. The hotel has a no mobile phone policy in public areas but this wasn't enforced and everyone seemed to be either on their mobile phones and or taking pictures of themselves, which was annoying and not very relaxing.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davies72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

This hotel is expensive but worth every cent! The view can't be beat. The staff is very gracious. The facility is gorgeous. I can't wait to go back. Every room is beautiful and the food in the restaurant was fantastic. Another beautiful Orient-Express property.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank love4vacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2009

No place in Florence can you get an experience like San Michelle. Ive stayed in many hotels in the city, but staying in Villa San Michelle is a totally different experience. We had the most peaceful stay & couldn't help but continue to stare at the views overlooking the city... just beautiful! The staff was everything you'd expect from a 5 star hotel as every single need is waited on... even if you love being in the city itself the hotel makes it so easy to get back and forth. Nothing beats spending a busy morning in the city and a peaceful afternoon relaxing in San Michelle... perfect combination! if you love Florence but also want to feel like you are relaxing on vacation San Michelle is the place to go.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NLJfromNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

We stayed in early May and the air conditioning had not been turned on for the summer. When we arrived I thought that the heating unit had been left on, the room was so hot. The temp outside was in the mid 80's and at night we had to keep the windows open (sunrise around 4:30 am with lots of bugs coming into the room) to get relief from the heat. Other patrons at the hotel experienced the same discomfort . Given the price of the room, in excess of 1,000 euros a night, I think that we paid too much.

The meals were expensive given the quality of the food and be sure to get a quote for a taxi, we spent 40 Euros for a trip that was less than one mile.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lv2trvl609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

I stopped here for lunch a few years back and decided to stay next time i went. We stayed in the napolean library suite. It was very original. I wouldn't say that the hotel is on par with a four seasons, because it is a different animal. If you are looking for traditional european elegance with incredible views of Florence this is the place to stay. very romantic setting. The staff was sufficient, but not by any means over the top with service. If you are in Florence for a few nights or even one I highly recommend staying.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UPtraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fiesole
Villa Fiesole Hotel
#3 of 11 in Fiesole
4.0 of 5 stars 392 reviews
Pensione Bencista
#2 of 11 in Fiesole
4.5 of 5 stars 307 reviews
Villa Cora
#6 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
#11 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 1,201 reviews
Il Salviatino
#53 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 665 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#1 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Villa San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Villa San Michele

Property: Belmond Villa San Michele
Address: Via Doccia 4, 50014 Fiesole, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Fiesole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Fiesole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Villa San Michele 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short distance from the centre of Florence, Belmond Villa San Michele is housed in a 15th-century monastery with a façade designed by Michelangelo. It is surrounded by a large, wooded park and lush terraced gardens boasting magnificent views of the city and the Arno Valley below. The 45 bedrooms and suites are simple, peaceful and elegant while the Renaissance splendour of Florence is a mere 15 minutes away with the complimentary shuttle service, running every 20 minutes. La Loggia Restaurant provides a unique dining venue where guests can enjoy their lunch or dinner, based on Italian and Tuscan cuisine, while admiring the view over Florence. For a light lunch or a snack, the Pool Restaurant, situated directly by the hilltop panoramic swimming pool, is the ideal place. For food lovers, the renown Cooking School offers hands-on lessons to learn how to prepare the best Italian specialties. A Kids' Club and a dedicated Kids' Concierge are available to make the stay of younger guests truly unforgettable. The new Davanzati Room offers privacy and tranquillity thanks to its exclusive location, and a spacious terrace with a view for small banquets, cocktails and coffee breaks. Ideal for hosting meetings, launches and presentations, it also serves as a space for banquets for up to 100 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Belmond, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Otel and Odigeo so you can book your Belmond Villa San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa San Michele By Orient-Express Hotel Fiesole
Hotel San Michele
San Michele Hotel
Belmond Villa San Michele Fiesole, Province Of Florence, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing