We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tradtional italian elegance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belmond Villa San Michele
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Fiesole
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“tradtional italian elegance”
Reviewed May 17, 2009

I stopped here for lunch a few years back and decided to stay next time i went. We stayed in the napolean library suite. It was very original. I wouldn't say that the hotel is on par with a four seasons, because it is a different animal. If you are looking for traditional european elegance with incredible views of Florence this is the place to stay. very romantic setting. The staff was sufficient, but not by any means over the top with service. If you are in Florence for a few nights or even one I highly recommend staying.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UPtraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    52
    14
    6
    8
See reviews for
77
219
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2009

My husband and I just came back from spending 5 glorious nights at Villa San Michele. It was my first tiem to Italy an they made it spectacular! I envisioned being in the country and in privacy and surrounded by beauty...and that's exactly what I got there. Our room was magnificent, the staff was very accomodating, our view was out fo this world, and the food and drinks were outstanding. Some of the best meals I've ever had, and we've dined in alot of fine restaurants. I highly recommend the cooking class they offer. We had so much fun, the Chef was great, and the kitchen the class is held is gorgeous! It's an old greenhouse and while cooking you have an amazing view of Firenze. It doesn't get any better then this! This should be a MUST DO on anyone's list.

Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JacksMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2008

Second time at this hotel and a pleasure 2nd time around. The location is fabulous - above the hussle and bussle and heat of florence but only a 20min drive away from the centre. The atmosphere is very welcoming, the staff are delightful over the top italian....everyone is beautiful, nothing is too much trouble and all make an effort to ensure you have a fabulous stay. i think the service is probably the best part of this hotel which nowdays has many other fabulous venues to compete with (the one small michaelangelo isn't enough to tempt you to stay here..). food was very good although not as excellent as i remember. the pool area and pool lunch bar are fabulous, the freshest of pasta or fish served with a spectacular view and the staff here are probably the best of all. the two downsides are 1. the cost, it is not worth what you pay and 2. the rooms, they are so small and bog standard "orient express". i stayed with a friend who had been twice before and between us we've stayed in 4 rooms/suites....all small and uninspiring. we had a junior suite which was probably the size of a superior room in most places. you pay for the service, the location and probably the michaelangelo.....

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — the room and the price
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gascony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2008

Me and my partner stayed at Villa San Michele for 3 nights in May 08.
The hotel is beautifully located on the hillside of Florence but it does need some updating when it comes to furnishings. Our room had a gorgeous view of Florence but knowing how expensive the hotel is the room looks more like a 3,5* than a 5 * hotel costing nearly 1000 euros a night. The bathroom was nearly as big as the bedroom with 3 different brands of toiletries including Bulgari and Molton brown. Really need some updating though.
We arrived late and were hungry so we asked to order some food when we checked in.. sandwiches (ham/cheese and roast beef) were delivered to our room - 20 euros and 29 euros each.. for sandwiches - no truffles no foie gras.. just plain sandwiches and not even that nice.. incredible!

Breakfast was served on the terrace with the wonderful view. There is a la carte which also includes the buffet. All very good. Do ask for a latte or cappuchino instead of the nearly cold coffee they put on the table.

The hotel also runs a shuttle bus every 20 min or so down to central Florence. Very efficient and punctual - and free of charge :-) Takes about 20 min each way.
Had dinner one night in Florence - wonderful restaurant called la Giostra.. the best spagetti with white truffles... highly recommend. We also had dinner one night in the hotel on the terrace.. very beautiful and romantic. The food is good but over priced for what it is and service is a bit hap hazard.. the hotel staff did remind me a bit of Faulty towers..so willing to please but easily confused. Quite endearing.
The hotel has got a very nice pool and gardens.
Highly recommend the outlets outside of Florence - easily reachable by hire car about 30-40 min drive from Florence.. The Prada outlet in particular was excellent and massive.

It was a nice experience staying at Villa san Michele because of the views.. but i'd rather stay somewhere else next time i go to Florence.

  • Liked — the views
  • Disliked — needs a refurb
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Malin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2008

Unfortunately we didn't stay at the hotel but I took my husband to Florence for his 40th birthday and booked dinner on the balcony at VSM. I had spoken with the hotel previously to arrange a special dessert as a surprise. The hotel was fantastic in helping arrange our special evening. I chose the Limoncello Souffle to which there was great pomp and ceremony when the dessert came out and deservedly so. It was outstanding and I have yet to have a better dessert anywhere in the world.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2007

If you have more money than sense, and don't mind a trip back to the 1970s, then you'll love Villa San Michele. If you are under 50, and not yet a millionaire, save your money and look elsewhere.

Our bedroom was as well furnished as my grandmother's. Quality, I suppose, but of another era. The old-fashioned TV rising out of a chest at the end of the bed prompted me to look for a long-haired white cat to stroke.

The restaurant has a fantastic view, but the food was simply good and not what you'd expect for the price. You are, after all, paying for the view.

I recommend staying in Florence and taking a trip up to Fiesole for the views. Take a picnic from Procacci, Via Tornabuoni, if you want fab food up there.

Overall, this place is completely out of touch with modern hotel standards, and needs new owners for a new lease of life.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
14 Thank bombduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2007

I took my boyfriend here for 3 nights for his 30th birthday and had a wonderful stay apart from the first day. We arrived after our flight being delayed for 3 hours and our baggage being badly damaged and ready to relax! The receptionist took us all the way up a winding path to the little chapel and got inside the room and discovered it was the wrong room and guests clothes were in there! After waiting outside for 20 minutes they eventually came back and showed us to the right room in the main building. Later that night we had a 20 minute wait (we asked 3 waiters for menus) just for a drink. i was upset and the receptionist was extremely nice and couldnt do enough. The next day they upgraded us to the Michaelangelo suite (2100 euroes a night) and the meal in the restaurant that night was exceptional. The setting is beautiful - breaktaking view over florence, gorgeous pool and overall good service. Dont go there without money to spend. They booked us in to museum and added a heft booking fee ontop! Great shuttle service to and from town.

  • Liked — Unique hotel steeped in history, Bulgari bathroom toiletries, views and food
  • Disliked — Got bitten twice
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fiesole
Villa Cora
#6 of 411 in Florence
909 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
#10 of 411 in Florence
1,485 reviews
Il Salviatino
#92 of 411 in Florence
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#17 of 411 in Florence
782 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#11 of 411 in Florence
1,262 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#28 of 411 in Florence
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Villa San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Villa San Michele

Property: Belmond Villa San Michele
Address: Via Doccia 4, 50014, Fiesole, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Fiesole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Fiesole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Villa San Michele 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short distance from the centre of Florence, Belmond Villa San Michele is housed in a 15th-century monastery with a façade designed by Michelangelo. It is surrounded by a large, wooded park and lush terraced gardens boasting magnificent views of the city and the Arno Valley below. The 45 bedrooms and suites are simple, peaceful and elegant while the Renaissance splendour of Florence is a mere 15 minutes away with the complimentary shuttle service, running every 20 minutes. La Loggia Restaurant provides a unique dining venue where guests can enjoy their lunch or dinner, based on Italian and Tuscan cuisine, while admiring the view over Florence. For a light lunch or a snack, the Pool Restaurant, situated directly by the hilltop panoramic swimming pool, is the ideal place. For food lovers, the renown Cooking School offers hands-on lessons to learn how to prepare the best Italian specialties. A Kids' Club and a dedicated Kids' Concierge are available to make the stay of younger guests truly unforgettable. The new Davanzati Room offers privacy and tranquillity thanks to its exclusive location, and a spacious terrace with a view for small banquets, cocktails and coffee breaks. Ideal for hosting meetings, launches and presentations, it also serves as a space for banquets for up to 100 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Belmond, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Belmond Villa San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa San Michele By Orient-Express Hotel Fiesole
Hotel San Michele
San Michele Hotel
Belmond Villa San Michele Fiesole, Province Of Florence, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing