We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It felt like we were in a movie - best night in Florence!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Belmond Villa San Michele
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Fiesole
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“It felt like we were in a movie - best night in Florence!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay at the hotel but made a reservation for dinner on August 10th, known as the night of the "Falling Stars". What a night it was - no words can describe te experience we had. Dinner was setup under the stars on the terrace - a baby grand piano played all night and everything from the food to the staff to the service was excellent. If we could have afforded to stay here we would have. What a place! To top it off and to add credibility to the quality of the food - British chef, Nigella Lawson, and her family were sat next to us on the terrace - if Villa San Michele is good enough for her, it's good enough for us!! Views of Florence were also amazing, make the trip and do a dinner here!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shayna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    49
    13
    6
    8
See reviews for
71
207
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was our second stop on our Italian honeymoon. We splurged on this hotel and it was the highlight of our trip. The rooms are large, and the bathrooms have a closet area, large tub, shower and sink area. The building itself and the grounds are absolutely breathtaking. The pool area is stunning and the views of the city below can't be beaten. The service was outstanding and we were greeted by name every time that was passed the front desk. They knew we were on our honeymoon and surprised us with rose petals, candles, and champagne after we arrived back to our room one evening. The candles and rose petals even continued into the bathroom and his and hers slippers were set out on opposite sides of the bed. We arranged for massages, under a canopy in the pool area. If you are staying in Florence, don't miss this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshBradley612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is one of my favorite hotels, ever. Service is absolutely impeccable - I have a lovely image in my mind of jacketed waiters walking across the garden with my bottled water on a silver tray. The food in the restaurant is excellent and again, the service was great. (And the waiters were handsome.) Amazing wine. Large, comfortable rooms. Perfectly romantic location and public spaces. Classic luxury. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rover_at_Home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Villa San Michelle was absolutely one of the highlights of our "Grand Tour of Italy". We stayed there for three days and wished it was longer. The location of the hotel is ideal and offers views of the entire Florence. The staff were absolutely wonderful and accommodating. During our stay, there was some traffic congestion due to roadworks on the road leading to the hotel and as a result, the free shuttle service was late. Instead of being made to wait, a taxi was arranged to take us to Florence for no-charge, a gesture that went down very well with us. The service at the hotel and the restaurant was impeccable and really enjoyed having dinner at Loggia. Will definitely stay at the hotel on our return trip to Florence.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThatoNeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is one of the most beautiful places in the world. Wonderful old world charm. Breathtaking views of the city. The terrace where you take most of your meals has an idyllic setting. If you book in advance you can get a table that juts out of the mountainside, feels like you are floating above Florence. There is some pressure to be 'elegantly dressed' for dinner but the food is worth it. All very expensive, but we are excited about going back again some day. We had a car and drove up but didn't really need it at all, the shuttle is convenient. All told, it's one of our happiest memories.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FaisalFarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
120 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We didn't stay at the San Michele, but one day my friend suggested we go there for lunch. We arrived by 12 and were invited for a cocktail in the gardens before going to the restaurant for lunch. It was so beautiful with such outstanding service. I would consider this paradise on Earth. During the 3 hours we were there, everybody took care of everything we needed impeccably. The food was outstanding, as it usually is in Italy, and the service was perfect. The setting was gorgeous....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParisGlenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

A true Italian classic. San Michele does not wow you with opulent rooms nor does it have amazing facilities however it has romance in abundance. If you want flashy or brand new with gym facilities, this place is not for you.
We had a garden suite which had its own garden overlooking florence. The rooms are a good size but not flashy (of course with an italian price tag). What you get here is career staff who really know how to treat you. We were looked after by Vittorio and his staff like nowhere else before. The restaurant in the summer overlooking the lights of Florence is spectacular. The food again is classical but excellent. The whole place oozes charm, from the frescos inside to the beautiful lemon garden. Having a bellini on the lawn at sunset is one of my favourite memories. It offers the perfect launch pad to visit Florence without being stuck in the sweltering heat of the city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fiesole
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Villa Cora
#7 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#25 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#28 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Il Salviatino
#87 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#16 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Villa San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Villa San Michele

Property: Belmond Villa San Michele
Address: Via Doccia 4, 50014, Fiesole, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Fiesole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Fiesole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Villa San Michele 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short distance from the centre of Florence, Belmond Villa San Michele is housed in a 15th-century monastery with a façade designed by Michelangelo. It is surrounded by a large, wooded park and lush terraced gardens boasting magnificent views of the city and the Arno Valley below. The 45 bedrooms and suites are simple, peaceful and elegant while the Renaissance splendour of Florence is a mere 15 minutes away with the complimentary shuttle service, running every 20 minutes. La Loggia Restaurant provides a unique dining venue where guests can enjoy their lunch or dinner, based on Italian and Tuscan cuisine, while admiring the view over Florence. For a light lunch or a snack, the Pool Restaurant, situated directly by the hilltop panoramic swimming pool, is the ideal place. For food lovers, the renown Cooking School offers hands-on lessons to learn how to prepare the best Italian specialties. A Kids' Club and a dedicated Kids' Concierge are available to make the stay of younger guests truly unforgettable. The new Davanzati Room offers privacy and tranquillity thanks to its exclusive location, and a spacious terrace with a view for small banquets, cocktails and coffee breaks. Ideal for hosting meetings, launches and presentations, it also serves as a space for banquets for up to 100 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Belmond, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Belmond Villa San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa San Michele By Orient-Express Hotel Fiesole
Hotel San Michele
San Michele Hotel
Belmond Villa San Michele Fiesole, Province Of Florence, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing