We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belmond Villa San Michele
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Fiesole
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Extraordinary.”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

VillaSanMichele is a gem. From the moment we entered the building to when we drove off, it was flawless. At the check-in, the receptionist showed us couple of room alternatives and ended up upgrading us. The room that we stayed in had a wonderful garden.

We had both lunch and dinner in VillaSanMichele, which were great. Especially the dinner is a true gastronomic experience with a lot of flavors, and a huge wine list. Again next morning, the breakfast was amazing, loads of very fresh. very delicious stuff, it was hard to refrain myself from overeating.

Pool area is absolutely stunning. So calm and relaxing.The hard thing is to choose between staying in the pool for the entire day vs going to Florence.

Indoor spaces are full of character. A lovely, lovely place. we will definitely go back there. In my review i always add some negatives to balance the review out a bit but it is very hard to find a negative about this place.

Please keep it as it is forever!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G_AKAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    52
    14
    6
    8
See reviews for
76
219
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I spent an evening at the hotel and we had dinner which in my opinion was Michelin standard. The staff are very attentive and the food was equally fabulous. it was nice to get out of the centre of Florence and experience what I would describe as an amazing hotel with a breathtaking view.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidayjunkie2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

If you want a special place it doesn't get any better than the Villa San Michele.! The room are very spacious,the bathrooms are the best I've ever been in, and all the people that work here cater to you. I can't thank Marcello,Adriano,Dennis and chef Attilio and Danielo for making our cooking class so fun and informative. Can't thank you all enough for making our trip very special! And did I mention the views of FlorenceWOW! Everywhere you look is breathtaking. Xxxooo

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Probably one of the nicest luxury hotels I have ever stayed in. The old world ambiance combined with the beautiful gardens and outstanding view of Florence makes this a once in a lifetime experience. Ask for the Cardinal's suite for a little bit of a twist for your stay. The views of Florence are absolutely outstanding. It is a bit of a distance from the center of Florence but well worth the few extra blocks to get there.

Room Tip: Ask for the Cardinal's suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LastFlightOut21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

If you want the "most perfect", "most romantic", "best service", and "greatest food", then make a reservation at the Villa San Michele for lunch or dinner. The sommeliers do not "talk down" to you and the waiters are efficient and not pretentious. Now to the food: Everything that came to our table of six was delicious. The risotto was the best of all and from the fresh and tasty salad to the excellent desserts it was the best of the best. Cannot say enough in praise of this lovely spot.

Room Tip: We did not stay here but we enjoyed our very best dining experience here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Wonderful staff. Magnificent hotel with view over Florence. Glorious gardens. A really luxurious hotel with 5 star staff attention wonderful food . Beautiful rooms. Great views over Tuscany luxurious place to stay with amazing service. Would recommend to anyone wanting a luxurious hotel in Florence.great food and service.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teresian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My wife and i had the pleasure of staying a couple of days just recently in Villa San Michele and considering this to be my 3rd visit to Florence, this has to be the most amazing one by far..

The Hotels is impeccably presented inside and more importantly outside as well as the property is situated in the hillside on a little mountain next to a forest. caters to a discerning customer who appreciates comfort, quality and peace and quiet(apart from the birds)

The views are unrivalled.

The amenities are quality driven.

Service is amazing from the first step into the property, to attending to our needs, to the complimentary transport to and from Florence centre......amazing.

Definitely will go back again.

Room Tip: we walked throughout the property and no matter which property/room you take you will be amazed. an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gazzzadubai69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fiesole
Villa Cora
#7 of 411 in Florence
907 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
#10 of 411 in Florence
1,480 reviews
Il Salviatino
#93 of 411 in Florence
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 411 in Florence
779 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#11 of 411 in Florence
1,260 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#28 of 411 in Florence
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Villa San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Villa San Michele

Property: Belmond Villa San Michele
Address: Via Doccia 4, 50014, Fiesole, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Fiesole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Fiesole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Villa San Michele 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short distance from the centre of Florence, Belmond Villa San Michele is housed in a 15th-century monastery with a façade designed by Michelangelo. It is surrounded by a large, wooded park and lush terraced gardens boasting magnificent views of the city and the Arno Valley below. The 45 bedrooms and suites are simple, peaceful and elegant while the Renaissance splendour of Florence is a mere 15 minutes away with the complimentary shuttle service, running every 20 minutes. La Loggia Restaurant provides a unique dining venue where guests can enjoy their lunch or dinner, based on Italian and Tuscan cuisine, while admiring the view over Florence. For a light lunch or a snack, the Pool Restaurant, situated directly by the hilltop panoramic swimming pool, is the ideal place. For food lovers, the renown Cooking School offers hands-on lessons to learn how to prepare the best Italian specialties. A Kids' Club and a dedicated Kids' Concierge are available to make the stay of younger guests truly unforgettable. The new Davanzati Room offers privacy and tranquillity thanks to its exclusive location, and a spacious terrace with a view for small banquets, cocktails and coffee breaks. Ideal for hosting meetings, launches and presentations, it also serves as a space for banquets for up to 100 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Belmond, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Belmond Villa San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa San Michele By Orient-Express Hotel Fiesole
Hotel San Michele
San Michele Hotel
Belmond Villa San Michele Fiesole, Province Of Florence, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing