We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best dining experience in Italy so far”
Review of Villa Aurora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Aurora Hotel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Fiesole
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best dining experience in Italy so far”
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We did not stay but we had a great meal .. Excellent food my faborite was octopus lasagne , great view over Florence , the wine was superb as well, all freshly cooked and service was very good , we sat outside in sunshine , the hotel looked quite old and maybe could do with some updating but the food was fantastic

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iwant2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    46
    23
    31
    31
See reviews for
26
66
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2013

A beautiful Hotel with very friendly staff who will cater for your every need, a quite basic room but the Hotel feels very comfortable and relaxed, family orientated. The food in the restaurant was excellent and reasonably priced with a free fresh breakfast every morning. A complimentary bar in the room plus shampoo's and soaps to go with it. Large bath towels, hand towels and face cloths were provided fresh every day with a turn down service. Words cannot do justice to how lovely our stay was with the people of the Villa Aurora it was truly excellent and i will be visiting again. Many thanks

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 347michaelm347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2013

When I must host a guest or myself I prefer the fresh air above the trees over the hills below Fiesole and a view over and above the cesspool of polluted and overpopulated Florence and its mundane tourism way below.

In keeping with historical customs of elite European Nobility, Villa Aurora offers a 19th century terrace and swimming pool, greenery, historic pre-Victorian era architecture, guarded and gated private parking for carriages and automobiles, scenic jogging and hiking trails around the villa. For children there are babysitting arrangements and Etruscan, Roman, and early Christian as well as later Medieval amphitheaters, civic meeting points, museums and galleries. Of course Villa Aurora offers the situation for comfortable encounters with family, lovers, or friends - as well as professional business and diplomatic exchange areas and conference accommodations.

Every necessity is accommodated and, if necessary, suitably compartamentalized.

For several years I have hosted at the Villa aurora my Mother and a lover. My Mother is Gigliola Maria Addini eldest child and daughter of a Knight under the House of Savoy and matrilineal inheritor of two Houses of Tuscan Nobility, Guerrini and Teri. My Russian lover has been Larisa Batanina, PhD in Social Philosophy and Masters in Theoretical Mathematics, the sole inheritor of Noble status through both patrilineal and matrilineal ties to Russia's deceased Romanov family's Moscow officers' ranks that protected the Romanov, and as a result were detained in Siberia and survived the communist gulag system from Lenin through to Stalin.

Of course the Villa Aurora's external walls require maintenance through direct European Union subsidization of historical sites and points of interest. Villa Aurora was a favourite destination of European Nobility, including Great Britain's Queen Victoria Empress of the Indies. Over-riding the meddlesome and petty interests of local Italian "authorities" is a tradition here. In face of petty issues the international staff from EurAsia, Africa and PanAmerica help the international traveler navigate over local and national pettiness, ensuring a secure and pleasant stay in Tuscany.

Room Tip: Ask for a room used by such persons as Queen Victoria or one of the Nobility of Savoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ucadirector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed for five nights recently at the Villa Aurora Hotel in Fiesole. Our room was very lovely with a terrace overlooking the city of Florence. We have stayed here before but the first time the room was very ordinary, this time we were not disappointed. There is a convenient bus that stops in front of the hotel on a regular basis for a quick trip down to Florence (Piazza San Marco). The hotel staff were most helpful. My husband left his brief case in the cab on the ride up and they arranged to have to have the driver return it to us in a short period of time. Fiesole itself is a fascinating town and is a wonderful jumping off-point for exploring Tuscany as well as Florence. We definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a "Room with a View!"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florence354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I had some problems with a credit card deduction before our arrival and told the very pleasant receptionist ,Eliza. who spoke to the manager or owner and were upgraded to room 31 ,THE ROOM, overlooking Florence and the duomo.The second female receptionist was surly and argumenative and didnt apologise when proved wrong.All the staff except for previous comment were excellent,polite and obliging I agree with ALL the comments by other contributers good or bad but it is very evident that there appears to be no management exercised in this hotel.There is nothing wrong with this hotel that a new manager and a million euros wouldnt put right

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rowland s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fiesole hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed here recently and I can see why some people give it 5 stars and some give it one. Some of the rooms here are awful, small dark and no views but some of the rooms are incredible, large, bright and with amazing views of Florence below.
We checked in and were not happy with the forst room that we were shown so the guy at reception gave me the keys to about 6 or 7 other rooms and allowed us to choose which one we wanted. The rooms on the second (Top) floor are definitely better and if you can get one o the Florence side that's what ou should be looking for. Sorry, can't remember the numbers.
Breakfast is so so. Never ate any other meal here but I don't think it's supposed to be any good. Il Fiesolano across the road is great as is Vinandro next door. La Reggia, half way up the hill towards the monastery, is also lovely with amazing views.
The best thing about this hotel, and the reason we stayed here, is the location. It is right on the square in Fiesole so everything is on you doorstep. Hotel Villa Fiesole down the road is a much nicer hotel but the walk up and down the hill is tiring during the day and plain dangerous at night time.
The staff were also very nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mantaman82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paros, Greece
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We were a group of 21 Vespa owners, touring Tuscany by Vespa. Fiesole is a perfect location for a group such as ours, as it is a short bus trip into Firenze, for those who wished to see the city, without the hassle of fighting traffic and parking. The hotel is older, but very nice. The staff was very helpful. Breakfast "al fresco" with a beautiful view was great. The hotel is in the heart of Fiesole, has a good restaurant, and is convenient to other places to eat and drink. A large, on site parking lot was available for our fleet of Vespas. Yes, it is an older hotel, and furnished in a more "classis" style, but every member of the group was pleased with the Aurora.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fiesole hotels
0.4 mi away
FH Villa Fiesole Hotel
FH Villa Fiesole Hotel
#3 of 11 in Fiesole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pensione Bencista
Pensione Bencista
#2 of 11 in Fiesole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belmond Villa San Michele
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Bonelli
Hotel Villa Bonelli
#8 of 11 in Fiesole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa dei Bosconi
Villa dei Bosconi
#7 of 11 in Fiesole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fattoria Di Maiano
Fattoria Di Maiano
#6 of 11 in Fiesole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Aurora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Aurora Hotel

Property: Villa Aurora Hotel
Address: Piazza Mino 39, 50014, Fiesole, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Fiesole
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Fiesole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Aurora Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An historical villa. 24 elegant rooms, restaurant. Marvellous view to Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Fastbooking, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Villa Aurora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Aurora Hotel Fiesole, Province Of Florence, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing