We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tuscan Heaven on Earth”
Review of Pensione Bencista

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pensione Bencista
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Fiesole
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Breathtaking views, a warm friendly family hospitality and a real taste of Tuscany: you will pinch yourself strolling into this amazing old mansion. A good way up the hill towards Fiesole, it's a quick ride in the local #7 bus up and down to Florence. The views over the olive grove and beyond to Florence are just beautiful; and there is WIFI, go into the reading room and enjoy the ambiance of a another fabulous room. It's worth enjoying dinner in the dining room at Bencista, for some wonderful Tuscan home cooking with brilliant flavours. Take in some prosecco on the terrace at the end of a hard day's sightseeing, you will feel so at home here with Senora Beatrice who is such a gracious host. Don't miss an opportunity to experience this lovely pensione whose history has been traced back to 1400's.

Room Tip: Be specific - ask for a room with a view of Florence if possible - some rooms look out over other pa...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CHTicklet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (372)
There are newer reviews for Pensione Bencista
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 372 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

Bencista is run by the most friendly family and staff. They do everything in their power to make this the best experience you can imagine. The place is huge, but still warm, cozy - one feel at home.
We enjoyed Italian food, vineyards and a dinner celebration party . The family opened their private dining room and made ​​a big wonderful meal. Thanks to cook Piera for a wonderful taste experience.
Bencista is perfectly situated on the slopes of Fiesole with a lovely view. Enjoy quiet days on the porch, a local excursion or take advantage of the spa facility. It is a 5 minute walk to the # 7 bus which takes you to San Marco, where you can walk to the Duomo easily in 5 minutes.

I have been at Bencista several times before- and this was not my last.

Thank you all at Bencista for making this weekend to what it became.
I can just say perfect !

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heidi B N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The Pensione Bencista is a wonderful old mansion that has a very interesting history. It has been a bed and breakfast since 1925 and is still run by the same family. Beatrice is a wonderful host of this magnificent place. A nice relaxing treat after a full day in Florence. We always do half board, which includes breakfast and dinner. The food is excellent. Always fresh and organic. They even make their own wine which is delicious. If you are looking for a place to relax after a full day of site seeing, this is the place. Only a 10 minute bus ride into Florence on the #7 bus.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ctrain22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This place has a view to die for. Get away from the crowds in Firenze and stay here. Firenze is only 20 minutes away by tram (or filobus years ago). It is a 5 minute walk to #7 bus which takes you to P. San Marco where you can walk to the Duomo easily within 7 minutes. The rooms are more than adequate, but it is the common rooms and the view and terraces which warm your heart. Downstairs, there is a resto, where you have breakfast included...serve yourself, but plenty.... and then lunch/dinner extra. Dinner is 15 euros, and you can buy a bottle of wine that is there for you until it is finished. This is a family run place, so it is warm and friendly...no room service for those of you who require it, look elseqhere and do not write reviews of this place, It is a pensione. There is now a health spa attached. One of us had a face massage and a foot massage and raved for days about it. Two of us went for the baths..ie the steam, sauna and hot tub... all of good value. Too top it all off, you are near the top of Fiesole, which has an extraordinary museum and an etruscan site worth visiting. As well, there is a fabulous trattoria cave del maiano just a short distance away. Stay there for a week with friends and you will not be disappointed. You can play bridge in the evenings, play the piano, chat and wathc the sunsets over the suomo. What could be better?

Room Tip: Ido not have any tips, there is no swimming pool; I could not change the rating on the scale; the fi...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laficabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

rooms where small and overrun by mosquitoes at night.take your own repellent. evening meals were up and down.Some nights inedible.make sure you check in the morning what is on for dinner at night..There is no choice in the main coarse.Dont eat the rabbit,very bad news.

Room Tip: check the rooms offered befor accepting.some are very small.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bryce w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beatricesimoni, Proprietario at Pensione Bencista, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

I’m sorry to hear you weren’t wholly satisfied with your stay at Bencistà. As for the mosquitos, we do try our very best to keep the problem under control. We provide plug-in anti-mosquito devicesin each room , insect repellent and we do an annual chemical treatment throughout the whole building. I’m afraid that beyond this, there is not much else we can do. I’m sorry to hear you did not like the dinner here and in particular, the rabbit (if you are displeased with your meal we can always prepare you something else as quickly as possible.)You are correct in saying there is no choice for the main course. However, all our food is freshly homemade daily and is different every day of the week. There is always a choice between pasta or soup for starters, then meat or fish with two sides for main, salad, and finally a choice between dessert, cheese or fruit for your third course. When guests are unsatisfied with any service here, we always do our best to try and accommodate their needs and make their stay here pleasant and relaxing. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you here again sometime and providing you with a different and above all, better Bencistà experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Bencista has stunning views of Florence and a 180 degree view of the hills surrounding the city from three lovely terraces. Pietra, the cook, makes wonderful, simple but elegant meals; the staff is charming and helpful on just about any issue you may raise. Most important of all,you will probably never get so close to the magical experience of Florence that was available before the tourist boom. No air conditioning, mini-bars, TV; lots of wonderful views, food, interchanges and an altogether calm and lovely time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank default60890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had a lovely time at the Pensione Bencista. We drove in and passed it the first time, as we were coming from a different direction, but there were several large signs pointing to the driveway when we turned around. The hotel parking is plentiful and secure at night.
We were checked in and shown to our room, then asked if we were staying for dinner. It was later in the evening so we did (we told ourselves it would be for that first night), but then we ended up getting dinner at the hotel every night that followed because the food was so good and convenient. Dinner was 15 EUR for primi, secondi, salad, and dessert, and every course was excellent. We always left dinner feeling satisfied and like someone had just cooked us dinner in their home. Breakfast had standard European offerings of boiled eggs, breads, meats & cheese, and muesli.
You can catch the #7 bus to Florence after a 5 minute walk to the stop, just make sure you get your ticket from the hotel before you leave - we witnessed one set of tourists getting fined because they did not have a ticket.
The room was clean and had a beautiful view of the countryside and Florence. Be aware that since this IS an older building, the soundproofing isn't great, so bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper. The hotel accepted our dog without a problem or charge, and the hotel's dogs were very friendly as well. Wifi was free and fast enough for us, just ask reception for the password. There was no TV in our room, so bring a book if you get bored easily.
Overall, I would recommend this place as a relaxing getaway if you don't want to stay in the busy and crowded center of Florence.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dms9815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fiesole hotels
0.3 mi away
Belmond Villa San Michele
0.2 mi away
FH Villa Fiesole Hotel
FH Villa Fiesole Hotel
#3 of 11 in Fiesole
514 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa dei Bosconi
Villa dei Bosconi
#7 of 11 in Fiesole
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fattoria Di Maiano
Fattoria Di Maiano
#6 of 11 in Fiesole
135 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Bonelli
Hotel Villa Bonelli
#8 of 11 in Fiesole
193 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Aurora Hotel
Villa Aurora Hotel
#11 of 11 in Fiesole
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione Bencista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Bencista

Address: Via Benedetto da Maiano 4, 50014, Fiesole, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Fiesole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Fiesole
Price Range: $97 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pensione Bencista 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pensione Bencista is a 14th-century villa set in the hills above Florence and surrounded by Tuscan olive groves. The terrace offers panoramic views of the city. You have a free internet point with Wi-Fi in the lounge at Pensione Bencista. There is also a game and TV room, plus a children's play area on the grounds. Breakfast includes sweet and savory Tuscan products. Free parking is provided. The pretty town of Fiesole is just a 5 minute drive from Pensione Bencista. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pensione Bencista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Bencista Fiesole, Province Of Florence, Italy
Pensione Bencista Hotel Fiesole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing