We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously amazing food!”
Review of Ristorante I'Polpa - CLOSED

Ristorante I'Polpa
Price range: $20 - $49
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Seriously amazing food!”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Wow... blown away. Best meal I had on my Italian vacation. Had the wild boar in chocolate sauce -- sounds rather gross, but was so so so so soooooo good!!!! The kitchen is at the front of the restaurant so watched the chef prepare food while we were waiting for a seat, and got to thank her on the way out. Yummmmmm!!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vic_Canada1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

478 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    150
    30
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Quintessentially Tuscan!”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Last night I ate at Il Vegitariano and quite enjoyed it. Tonight my husband and I are returning to I Polpa for the third time in two weeks. While I enjoy the opportunity to have the wonderful local vegetables one sees at the markets, but has such a hard time finding in restaurants, our meals at I Polpa always include cinghiale and coniglio or lepre......and the wonderful local vegetables, as well. This place absolutely has it all.
For starters, it is located in beautiful, non-crowded Fiesole and quite near the Piazza Mino where the #7 bus stops. It is absolutely charming aesthetically and the staff is grand. This place exudes everything one could want in a memorable meal in Tuscany. As an added perk, the opportunity to watch the lovely matriarch in action in the kitchen is a joy to behold.
I Polpa is not to be missed!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mimi0352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wild Boar, Anyone?”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

This was a first for me, but the stew of wild boar with pine nuts, raisins and chocolate, served with spinach, that we had at I'Polpa was delicious! As was the bruschetta we had beforehand and the gelato afterwards. The service was very friendly and helpful and we would have liked to linger, but the road was being closed at 8.30 for a bike race so we had to skedaddle. This place would be very cosy in the winter when a stew would be more suitable, but we loved it even in mid-summer.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vandg_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingstone, Zambia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is an authentic Tuscan family run restaurant with tasty food and wonderful service, worlds away from the tourist traps in Florence and other restaurants in town. Everything we ate was delicious and we enjoyed it so much the first night, we went back again for another meal. The waitress and staff were incredibly helpful and made us feel like old friends when we went back. Don't stuff yourself in Florence, go and enjoy and genuine meal here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A cosy little gem”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We were very happy with the service in this tiny, family run restaurant. Fiesole has some great places to eat, and this is one of them, with authentic Tuscan food. The meals were delicious, and the young waiter very friendly, with suggestions for us to try unusual regional dishes. It seems a very popular local restaurant, and no wonder. Very generous servings, with a very warm and welcoming atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante I'Polpa also viewed

Fiesole, Province of Florence
Fiesole, Province of Florence
 
Fiesole, Province of Florence
Fiesole, Province of Florence
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing