We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Steak Ever”
Review of Trattoria Tullio

Trattoria Tullio
Ranked #2 of 52 Restaurants in Fiesole
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Steak Ever”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I brought a group of 14 Americans and 2 Italians here. I remembered that the meat was good from when I lived in Italy but this time it was truly exceptional and many said it was the best steak they had ever had. Even people who do not like to eat their meat rare ate it and enjoyed it. The fried polenta with chicken livers was also very popular with the group as well as the fried zucchini flowers and fried artichokes. After a lunch here we didn't even have to think about eating dinner and the price was right as well. If you go to Fiesole, this is a must, although the drive up from Fiesole is not for the faint of heart.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank americanaatoscana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    168
    27
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, New York
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

A drive through the mountains with some of the most beautiful view of Tuscany and Florence will lead you to Trattoria Tullio. Our visit was truly a feast for all of our senses! GO.
This restaurant is family owned and operated - sister and brother, spouses and children all working together in a restaurant and attached "deli" that has been in their family for generations.
Here, "Locally Grown" has always been the norm, and was perfected long before we Americans coined the term.
Their own house wine - both red and white - and olive oil are amazing.
We split a selection of appetizers suggested by Paolo: simple, perfectly fresh, perfectly prepared Tuscan specialties. A wooden platter of assorted cured meats and cheeses with their own home made marmalade, silky smooth and delicious pate on small squares of perfectly crispy fried polenta or slices of freshly baked Tuscan bread, sweet ripe tomato bruschetta, and a "mixed vegetable platter" including lightly battered and fried zucchini flowers and olives stuffed with a beautifully seasoned meat mixture. The bean and farro soup was perfect, but then again, nothing we ate was less than that. By the time we got to the platter of local Chianina Bistecca Florentine, served on a bed of arugula and covered with fresh pecorino cheese, I knew that this was truly Heaven.
We visited on a Sunday afternoon and returned again on a Tuesday night. Both times the restaurant was busy with family groups and locals. We tried taking pictures of our food, but very shortly gave up trying and just ate!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pmisener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Eat like an Italian”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Way off the beaten path, but worth every hairpin turn. Family owned and run, the food is top notch and the entire restaurant is a labor of love. Brother and sister, respective spouses and children cook and serve here and live here as well.

Great house wine, great house olive oil. Multigenerational talian families abounded on our Sunday afternoon visit. Antipasti that goes on and on and on. Soup like grandma made. Great pasta. But the crowning glory is the Florentine Bistecca. Tastes like no beef you have ever had before. A true Florentine experience away from the hype of Florence.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jbj0ey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wappingers Falls, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Family style done exquisitely”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The location might be off the beaten track, but you are in Italy! Take the ride, enjoy the sights and learn why it is worth the trip to this restaurant. You know it's good when it's mostly locals, big families, romantic tables of two, and all served with grace and style that is truly Tuscan. The Chianina steak is the best beef I've ever eaten, and being an American, that is a strong statement. Every dish was sublime. We can't wait to return for one of the best meals I personally have ever enjoyed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RosesAreRed2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Orange County, California
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Italian Tradition”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My boyfriend’s family has been coming here for years since he was a teenager (now in his late 30’s) and myself of the last 5 years with him. My brother was visiting us from California and we wanted to treat him to a typical florence meal and bistecca fiorentina. My brother said it was the best steak that he ever had in his life and that says a lot for someone who loves steak but it was also something we already knew. The family that owns and runs the restaurant was wonderful and making having lunch or dinner there always entertaining especially if you speak italian. It is off the beat and path but a MUST because you can’t find anything even close to the service and food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaliSunshine214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Tullio also viewed

Fiesole, Province of Florence
Fiesole, Province of Florence
 
Fiesole, Province of Florence
Fiesole, Province of Florence
 

Been to Trattoria Tullio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing