We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Than Perfect.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Di Campolungo Agriturismo
Ranked #1 of 18 Fiesole B&B and Inns
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Better Than Perfect.”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed here in August,with the idea of exploring the real Tuscany.We had no expectations prior to arrival,but soon became exhilarated by the beauty of the setting ,and the Villa which turned out to be Better Than Perfect.The real Tuscany unfolded in front of eyes,and stimulated all our senses.The proprietors 'bent over backwards' to make sure we were comfortable in every way.To have a fantastic breakfast consisting of locally sourced ingredients,overlooking the valley,cannot be surpassed .Thanks to Villa Di Campolungo ,we talk in raptures about our trip to Tuscany,and cannot wait to visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Di Campol... A, Proprietario at Villa Di Campolungo Agriturismo, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thanks for your review. It is a great pleasure for us to make guests feel good at Campolungo.
We are also glad, if guests appreciate the simply but quality food of our breakfast, as we select the best local ingredients and products to prepare it.
Thank again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    12
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
70
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Campolungo for a week at the end of July. It was absolute heaven. If you ever get the chance to get to Tuscany, this is the place you HAVE to stay. My husband and I are already thinking of how quickly we can get back.

To start, the property is lovely. It is down a long winding road from the main highway, on a hill, overlooking the Tuscan countryside. In the distance you can see Fiesole, bustling away. The house is gorgeous and exactly what you would expect in Tuscany. We stayed in the Annex suite and it was large, beautifully decorated, very peaceful and elegant.

Sylvia is the proprietor and she is just a gem. She helped us figure out how to get to all of our day trips (Siena, Lucca (twice), Florence, Via Reggio and Pisa). In fact, she also connected us with a tour guide in Florence, Johanna, who was incredible as well.

Sylvia is a phenomenal cook so breakfasts always include freshly baked bread, cake, proscioutto, cheese, etc. Needless to say, my husband and I ate far more then we needed to but it was just delicious. Breakfast was on the terrace outside, overlooking that beautiful view and it was just a lovely way to start the day. As well, every morning we seemed to meet some lovely people! Each morning we had lovely chats with other guests and we met people from all over Europe.

Sylvia also has one of the most beautiful dogs I have ever met ... Lilleya. I am likely misspelling her name but she is a beautiful, gentle, playful German Sheppard. We played with her every day. If we could have snuck her into our suitcases and brought her back to Canada, we would have! For those dog lovers out there, Lilleya is just a treasure.

Campolungo is a very special place - if you need to relax, are on a honeymoon or just want a special vacation, this is the spot for you. A little piece of Italian heaven.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corks73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Di Campol... A, Proprietario at Villa Di Campolungo Agriturismo, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thanks a lot to you and to your husband, we still remember those lovely mornings this summer, having, as always, such nice people at Campolungo!
Thank you again for your poetic image of a "long winding road" taking to Campolungo: it makes me dream.
Our dog Lilla is doing well and...still playing with lttle rocks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellfleet,ma
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

It's not easy to find a place that will please 16 people aged 1 to 75, coming together from many places and bringing many different tastes and desires-- but we found it. Silvia and Eric, their children and their hard-working crew have created an oasis of modern comfort and elegance --and delicious, locally produced organic food --in an ancient, timeless setting. Exquisite views, wonderful beds, abundant breakfasts, profound quiet and natural beauty --all walking distance to a really good restaurant --and a bus stop! The location made it possible for even those traveling without cars to enjoy the glories of Fiesole, Firenze, Siena and beyond, and still get back to Campolungo in time for a leisurely ping-pong game, hike or nap before dinner. Silvia's incredible Tuscan cooking and repertoire of daily cakes; the fresh flowers, and aromatic home-made soap; the welcoming hospitality and natural beauty of the setting all made Campolungo unforgettable.

Room Tip: We got to enjoy the spacious suite over the breakfast room. It had wonderful views, lovely art, lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jerushko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Di Campol... A, Proprietario at Villa Di Campolungo Agriturismo, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for having chosen our place for your lovely family reunion.
Meeting you was a great experience for all of us. Glad that you liked the efforts we put every day in welcoming our guests, for instance, with fresh garden flowers in the room and hand made soap and shampoo.
We hope to see you all again at Campolungo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aguadilla, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I researched for a summer trip to Italy around 80 or more agriturismos (for real), just looking for the perfect one in the region of Tuscany, and I definitely found it. Out of 6 hotels during the entire trip, this was the most memorable and pleasing one. The service and the rooms were impeccable! Villa Di Campolungo is everything you think Tuscany is, completely enchanting, surrounded by nature- olive groves and hills, full of greenery. The rooms had a rustic yet modern decoration, and are very spacious, the bathrooms looked like they were brand new. My family (a party of 5) stayed in the Courtyard Room, the Stable, and the Annex. We were all pleased with the accomodations and the beds were very big and comfortable. The location is perfect, around 25 min. from florence, get a gps (you'll need one for the whole tuscan region). The road to get to the agriturismo is rather adventurous, it's a rocky path...but with amazing views, and it makes part of being in vacation and doing something you dont normally do. So...enjoy it!

We had breakfast on Silvia's garden terrace with a breathtaking view. The breakfast served is not like anything you've ever had before. Trust me take advantage of it, you wont find that stuff back home! It included organic cheeses, honey, homemade breads and cake, tea and coffee, homemade jams and jellies, fresh cuts of italian hams, and a variety of yogurts. It was all very delicious, have an open mind and try everything! You will not regret it.

Silvia's service and hospitality were very friendly and welcoming, we honestly wish we could have stayed more than 3 nights. Silvia and her husband have a dog which we adored on our stay, she was lovely and we already miss her a bunch! She was also very well trained. We are already back home and we are still talking about going back to Villa Di Campolungo! Thank you so much for a wonderful experience Silvia!!!!

-Ana and the Cordero Family

Room Tip: Both the Stable and the Annex room have breathtaking views from the windows. The annex room is much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miparadiso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Di Campol... A, Proprietario at Villa Di Campolungo Agriturismo, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you, beautiful Ana, the warmth of your family is still in our hearts. Thank you again for the passionate description of your stay at Villa di Campolungo. Mentioning the 1 km dirt road is very fair from you and useful for coming guests.
Lilla is very photogenic ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, RI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed several days in this lovely agriturismo just a short drive from Fiesole. The villa was delightful inside and out. The terrace where we enjoyed a delicious breakfast each morning (as well as a magnificent dinner one night with the best tiramisu I've ever had!) overlooks the scenic Tuscan hills and Fiesole in the distance.

Silvia and Eric were perfect hosts. We enjoyed speaking with them about their work, their lovingly made products and life in Italy today. Silvia also offered several helpful recommendations on towns and restaurants to visit. She was spot on in every case.

If you are thinking of staying in Florence, think again. Florence is easily accessible from a bus in the center of Fiesole, and after a day of touring in Florence amidst the swirl of tourists and noise and the summer heat, Campolungo offers a peaceful and welcoming respite. For the cost of a mediocre hotel room in Florence, you can instead enjoy this comfortable and gracious inn. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlandKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Di Campol... A, Owner at Villa Di Campolungo Agriturismo, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Ciao Kathy, grazie. Le tue parole esprimono l'amore che nutri per l' Italia e quindi anche un po' per noi :-).
We are glad you and your party could enjoy the dinner on our private terrace on a summer night escaping the heat of Florence.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandvaux, Switzerland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We spent 5 days in April 2013 in this outstanding place in a beautiful countryside about 20 minutes away from the bustling center of Florence.
Everything is beautiful : the arrival, the garden, the quality of furniture and the perfect taste in the choice of colours in the rooms.
Silvia, the owner and charming hostess, makes you feel like at home and the breakfast she prepares with home made cakes and wonderful other sweets is a real treat !
Do not hesitate to stop by when you visit Florence and Tuscany, you’ll never regret it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cl_loertscher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Di Campol... A, Owner at Villa Di Campolungo Agriturismo, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your description of our Agriturismo and Bed and Breakfast and for sharing your feeling about it. Glad that you had a good start of the day with our homemade breakfast during your stay.
I wish you a nice summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

If you want to be away from the crowds and truly relax the Villa is an excellent choice. Our room was spacious, clean and had wonderful linens and an extremely comfy bed. The breakfast was delicious local specialties and Sylvia's breads and cakes. Having breakfast served out on the terrace was a special treat which required the staff to move all the tables and chairs outside. It is this extra effort that makes this such a great treat. Sylvia was a great help with reservations, and advice as was her husband who gave us a ride to Florence when we missed the train! This B&B is a little off the beaten path and a little tricky to find (our GPS led us astray) Our advice is to take the first left after Restaurant Mario (excellent food!) off the state road coming from Florence and watch for the sign.
Keep in mind that this B&B is out on its own. You will need a car to go to dinner or shop, but at the end of the day you feel as if you are coming home. Not complaints, but just for information, there is no television,or mini fridge. The soap in the shower (made by Sylvia) is also for shampooing,
but bring conditioner if you need it as it is not provided. Be sure to spend some quiet time lounging on the terrace enjoying the view...a glass of wine makes it perfect!

Room Tip: From other reviews, I think we were in a smaller room yet it was still one of the biggest rooms I ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmsw09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Di Campol... A, Owner at Villa Di Campolungo Agriturismo, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your review and for highlighting so many positive sides of Villa di Campolungo.

Thank you for your honest suggestion: in the future I will provide the bathrooms with hair conditioner as well, even though the shampoo - shower we provide, made with 10% of our organic extra vergin olive oil and only organic and natural ingredients, is very mild.

I'm glad that you had a relaxing stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fiesole hotels
3.7 mi away
FH Villa Fiesole Hotel
FH Villa Fiesole Hotel
#3 of 11 in Fiesole
479 reviews
3.9 mi away
Pensione Bencista
Pensione Bencista
#2 of 11 in Fiesole
356 reviews
3.6 mi away
Belmond Villa San Michele
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Agriturismo Poggio al Sole
4.1 mi away
Fattoria Di Maiano
Fattoria Di Maiano
#6 of 11 in Fiesole
117 reviews
2.5 mi away
Florence Country Relais
Florence Country Relais
#3 of 18 in Fiesole
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Di Campolungo Agriturismo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Di Campolungo Agriturismo

Property: Villa Di Campolungo Agriturismo
Address: Via Campilungo 1 | 50010 Fiesole-Caldine, 50014, Fiesole, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Fiesole
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Fiesole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa di Campolungo is the manor-house of a farming estate, surrounded by olive trees, whose origins go far back in time, so much so, that already in 1427 mention was made of it as an "elegant residence". The compound is structured as a tiny hamlet overlooking the gentle Tuscan countryside. It is situated on a hill in the heart of the Mugnone Valley, in the Municipality of Fiesole, a place of uncontaminated beauty, which falls under certain landscape and environmental constraints but which is also strategically near the centre of Florence. The Villa is owned by an Italo-Norwegian family that has devoted itself with great passion and enthusiasm to the refurbishment of the buildings, employing traditional materials and to the re-organization of the farm, which is now once again starting to produce small quantities of the most prestigious extra-virgin olive oil and wine grapes.Six charming rooms, all refurbished with the greatest of care so as not to forego the taste for local traditions, have been derived from the ancient farmhouse and orciaia. Their interiors are decorated in country style, reconciling contemporary taste with period furniture, hand made cotto and fabrics and upholstery of the Tuscan tradition. Guests are welcomed with the warmth and kindness that is normally reserved to family friends and may enjoy all the comforts of a modern accommodation while immersing themselves in nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Di Campolungo Agriturismo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Di Campolungo Agriturismo Fiesole, Province Of Florence, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing