We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, mediocre apartment”
Review of Family Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Family Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The customer service is great and so are probably some of their apartments, but unfortunately not the one we had, La Corte. It was clean, modern style furniture, the floor all marble. But, it was also dark (few and small windows), looked already a bit run down and it the neighbors food smell was hard to miss. All in all acceptable for the price, but not a place we would want to stay longer than the 2 days we did.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ihaveaname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danilo1, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Family Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Dear guest, thank for your review. Regarding the ''darkness'' we are sorry if you felt uncomfortable. Being in a historic building it is a usual structure that some of the apartments do not have the necessary brightness. Best wishes, Executive office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (785)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

313 - 319 of 787 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

The apartment was in a great location with all the amenities and the staff was accommodating of an early check in and helpful with other requests (calling for cab, restaurant recommendations etc.). We originally booked the apartment with the intention of using the kitchen to cook some meals but never did get around to doing it, so for us it turned out to be an overpriced option (we paid $1500+ for four nights for a two bedroom apartment). There was nobody on site at the office during the late hours which made us a bit uncomfortable. We had a situation of the electricity going out when we ran the washer and thankfully someone was available to help but just the thought that we'd be on our own if it had happened overnight, was a bit disconcerting. No complaints about the apartment itself -- it was clean, well equipped with all the amenities, and within stone's throw of all the major sights.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VirginiaTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danilo1, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Family Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Dear Virginia, thank you for your review. Regarding the value of the apartment, it is something that you booked and you already knew it from the beginning. We understand that being around all day after a very busy day it can be weary for someone to cook any meal, but this is up to the clients and the value of the apartment ( which is one of the most competitive prices in the city ) cannot be a negative reason for the price. As for the hours that you did not found someone at the front desk, we remind you that our structure is not a hotel, and respects an other time slot ( from 2.00 am - 8.00 am) and this is also described in our site. However for any problem you might had you could have called the emergency number which was given to you at your check in and someone of our staff within 30 minutes would have come. Best regards, Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The apartment given to us (5 people) was beautifully crafted in an old house in the third floor with all the amenities. The location was the best asset, just few steps from the Piazza della Signoria, totally worth the money we spent for three nights in Florence (around 1000$). Simon met us at the corner of the house and helped us with the luggage, a msut appreciated gesture having to get up three stories up through the narrow stairs. The he took us to the office situated at a walking distance and also fixed for us a garage to park the car. Everything worked perfect in the apartment, the AC with the remote in both the living room and in the main bedroom. The apartment has a second floor with another bedroom with a double bed and a third on with a powder room with one sinle bed. The master bedroom in the main floor has also a double bed and another single. Totally 6 people could fit in easily. I highly recommend the service provided by the Signoria Apartments if you are a family and want to be in the center of Florence.

Room Tip: I do believe all apartments share a centric location, but always call them ahead of time to secure t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rcomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danilo1, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Family Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Hi Raul, many thanks for your review!
We know that is hard to move form city to city by car, to find a parking place, to carry luggage ... it' s for this reason we help, as possible we can, our guest with their need and doubts, so once you are in the apartment you have only to think how ot enjoy Florence.
We' re also happy that everything worked perfect, we are very keen to maintenance!
Designed to be comfortable for up to 6 people, it's a great choice for parties wishing to explore the city together while returning to the seclusion of separate sleeping quarters.

Greetings,

Signoria Apartments Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

11 Borgo Santa Croce - the sidestreet to Piazza Santa Croce. The apartment suited our needs very well. Its central location made it very handy for all of the major sights - at an affordable price. The facilities were also as advertised - all very modern and 21st century, including good air conditioning. The apartment was also cleaned in the middle of the week at no extra cost too - which wasn't advertised. The office staff were also helpful for booking taxis - excellent English speakers, and sympathetic to those who like to practise their italian. Also good at telling you about local sights to visit.
On the downside, there are 72 steps up to the third floor with no elevator - but this was advertised and accounts for the reasonable price in such a central location. Some smell from the drains when sitting out on the terrace but this may have been because of the very hot weather in August 2013.
For those looking to save money, you could also fly to Pisa on the budget airline (cheaper than flying to Florence) and catch the regional train to Firenze SMN, which only takes an hour and costs about 8 euros. Taxi then costs about 10 euros to the apartment - good idea if you have suitcases - there's a taxi rank at the train station. You then just ring the office at 16 via della condotta and an English speaker will come on a bicycle and let you in - within about 10 minutes. One of you will then need to walk the 5 minutes to the office to pay when you arrive - not a chore since you pass the Piazza Signoria! .
All very transparent and honest. Bit more of the real Italy than a package holiday too!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danilo1, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Family Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Hi Ian, thank you for your comprehensive review!
As you said Pisa is the cheapest solution to get Florence by air, you need only to take a train or a bus and in one hour you are already in the middle of Florence, then you can get a taxi and in 10 minutes you' re inside the apartment!
Our apartments in Borgo Santa Croce are perfect during summer time because of their terraces, we are sorry that you were not able to make the most of them, you' re right, this August was very hot, so maybe you spent your time inside, where air conditioning helped you to forget the incredible sun of that period.
Hope to see you again in Florence, perhaps in the cold months! :)

The Staff of Signoria Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The apartment was spacious and comfortable for us as a family of four. The location is fantastic - everything you need to see in Florence is within walking distance. The staff was very friendly and helpful with everything - our luggage, travel advice, food suggestions. There is even an elevator to take your bags up to your floor, although you still have to haul it up one short flight to get to the elevator. All in all highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acfenmius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danilo1, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Family Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Thank you for your beautiful review!
Most of our apartment are thought for families like the your. We know that is not so easy to move with children and kids and we are pleased to help with luggages and to give you some precious informations about shops, restaurants ...
Florence is not so big, and to be in the heart of it help also to don' t be tired when you come back after long tours and to have also the strength to cook with typical Tuscany products you can buy in the streets around.

Regards,

The Staff of Signoria Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were a family with older children. I can still see my son looking out the window below and watching the people walking towards Palazzo Vecchio we were only a minute away. We appreciated the fact that we could cook our own meals and sleep in without being disturbed. The location was fabulous close to all the main attractions and the supermarket nearby
was efficient. The garage they recommended was a bit of a let down as we had to wait nearly an hour for the return of the car.
Other than that the facilities of the apartment were very adequate and the staff were very helpful and very attentive. Would love to stay again but longer!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danilo1, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Family Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Hi Marianna,
Thank you for your wonderful review!
We are happy that you appreciated the fantastic view of Via Calzaioli: that' s the main street of Florence which colleague Signoria Square to the Duomo, and it is full of people and shops.
Supermarket just around the corner let you buy very quality food and save some money that you can spend better in many attractions you find during your stroll.
We' re sorry for the garage, normally they are really punctual, we' ll be more careful that they respect the time we tell them.
See you again here, hope for a longer time!

The Staff of Signoria Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

For us, to stay in an apartment beats a hotel any time. The location here was excellent, a view over Piazza Della Signoria and lots of food stores and a supermarket around the corner, makes for the most relaxing city holiday you can find. Doing pretty much what you want, sightseeing, eating, resting, at any time you want since it's all at your doorstep and leisure. This is what you get here.

Service was excellent. The owner Umberto was easy to communicate with per email, and he and the housekeeper, Barbara, extended their services to make our arrival and departure as easy as possible w.r.t. time and luggage etc.

The rooms are clean and nicely equipped. Sleep quality was actually no problem for us, but it must be admitted that the square is busy until around midnight (as far as we know). In the morning the preparations and garbage men start early, but it is a nice way to wake up, hearing the city awake. Anyway, it was no problem what so ever for us to sleep.

We miss 'our' flat already.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Jan Even N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#56 of 410 in Florence
1,425 reviews
Duomo
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#12 of 410 in Florence
3,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 410 in Florence
2,829 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#5 of 410 in Florence
544 reviews
Uffizi
San Firenze Suites & Spa
San Firenze Suites & Spa
#7 of 410 in Florence
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Family Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Family Apartments

Address: Via Dei Cimatori 16/R, 50122, Florence, Italy (Formerly Signoria Apartments)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 314 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range: $111 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Family Apartments 1.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Apartments offers a selection of apartments for rent especially equipped to accommodate families during their turistic stay in Florence, providing all the comfort and a 24/7 assistance, for a peaceful holiday, away from the everyday stress. Our apartments are fully equipped for parents and children, with all the necessary for daily needs and also fun for the whole family. For you this means : Certainty from the booking not to have the usual stay in Florence, but a specific service to meet the needs of the whole family; Family Apartments guarantee the availability of its apartments and staff. Family Apartments staff is available 24 hours/24, 7 days/7 and is ready to intervene for any eventuality or need in less than 30 minutes from the call ; Family Apartments can meet the really important needs and resolve important matters in case of need of medical care for example; More rest and fun for the whole family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Family Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Signoria Apartments Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing