We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Firenze Apt”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Family Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Family Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Firenze Apt”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed in Via dei Calzaiuoli 2 in the heart of Firenze.

Cons: 5 floor walk-up but worth it. But great for the legs and working off the great food in Italy. Loud street at night and early morning with cleaning crews.

Pros: Heart of Firenze. Spacious and very nice apt. Great common area for lounging and even includes a free washing machine. We were 3 people and pullout couch was comfortable. Directly around the corner from Signoria Apts home office, so returning the keys was simple and leaving our bags with them to continue our day was easy on our last day.

This is my second rental from Signoria and I would rent again without question.

Room Tip: Loud street but that's the price you pay for being in the heart of Florence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren10021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    171
    55
    16
    8
See reviews for
402
108
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed at the Signoria Apartments in Florence last week for four nights. We found the property on Tripadvisor and thought we'd give it a go; sometimes that can feel like a bit of a lucky dip but on this occasion we got lucky. The location and quality of the property cannot be faulted. It is exactly what the website says it is. The central location made us feel like more a part of the party atmosphere which is central Florence. Just be aware that there is a little noise at nights from the streets as one would expect but the windows are double glazed and you're usually so tired it doesn't matter. We could walk in under 5 minutes to the Piazza della Republica, Duomo, Ponte Vecchio and the food markets. The apartment quality was first class. Very clean and very modernised so you'll feel very at home. Fabio and company run a tight business and we felt confident in knowing if we needed something they were close by. It was nice meeting them first up and they couldn't have been more helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danilo1, Responsabile reception at Family Apartments, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Phillip,
Thank you very much for your wonderful review.

We try to do our best to satisfy any customer's needs, to make special your holiday in Florence.
In this case, we made it! We really appreciate that you enjoyed also the position, that is very central, close by all the main attractions of our city.
You have been here on October, a wonderful month for a perfect weather, but it's also a very busy period, all the streets are full of people, long line for museums etc. Therefore, in case you want to comeback once again, try Florence around February/March or November/December. Yes, it is colder, but the city looks different, and the price are lower :)

Greetings
The Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

My family stayed at Signoria Apartments for 2 nights. Wife , 3 years son and me.
Though the room was on the forth floor and a bit troublesome carried up the luggage , but their staff helped me to bring all of them. The view from the room was awesome and equipped with necessities. Since I traveled with 3 years son , the kitchen and laundry were the most useful.
Last but not the least what made my stay was special was their staff. On the check out day , my wife had left her coat , but they had quickly sent it to my next destination hotel.
Their attendance also made my travel special.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hirosix H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danilo1, Responsabile reception at Family Apartments, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Hiroshi,
thank you for your nice review.
The apartment Santa Croce with its terrace offers a breathtaking view to our guests on the red roofs of Florence, and we are confident that the outlook has repaid the "fatigue" of the stairs.
We appreciate so much your compliments, our staff is always glade to take care of the luggages and not only, we are happy to help our guests at any time, even after the ckeck out, as in your case.

With the hope to see you soon,

Kind Regards

Danilo Della Ratta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stayed at the Signoria Apartments with my husband, brother and sister. The location is fantastic, just barely a 1 minute walk from the Piazza Signoria and all of it's glory! Close walk to the Duomo and other locations a good tourist needs to see! The staff was friendly, helpful and pleasant when we needed assistance. I do have a few suggestions. I recommend that an employee accompany the newly checked in guest up to their room to explain the washer (takes forever, BTW), how to work the air (remote controls we had no idea about) and maybe how to work the coffee maker (though we did figure that out). Again, great location, clean and it was so fun to stay in an apartment rather than a hotel room with their lousy breakfasts. Would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auntieleslie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We were greeted by Fabio when we rang the doorbell. We had booked a standard 2 bedroom apartment for 5 nights but upon arrival were upgraded to a superior 2 bedroom apartment which meant a bonus 2nd bathroom! Fabio took us to our apartment and mentioned that we can come down in 5 to 10 minutes to checkin at the reception in the basement. He brought up all our luggage to our apartment and refused to let us help him with this.
Our apartment has great views out of all the windows as it's located at the corner of Via Della Condotta and Via Dei Calzaiuoli and on the 2nd floor.
Fabio told us of all the sights, restaurants and local areas to visit and he did remind us of the 50 euros cleaning fee which we were already aware of as it was part of our booking terms and conditions.
The only drawback of the place is that the lift starts from the 1st floor but the central location and space clearly makes up for it.

Room Tip: Read the reviews that the travellers write up when choosing a room/apartment. If 99% of the reviews...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melbournians_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Found these apartments to be present all of the above and found the staff to be really friendly, helpful and knowledgable about the local area & attractions with a few recommendations for restaurants and sights. I would highly recommend this place for clean and safe appartments at a good price in a brilliant LOCATION!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danilo1, Responsabile reception at Family Apartments, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Kurt P,
first of all we thank you for choosing Signoria Apartments for your stay in Florence.
Your opinion is very helpful to grow up and continue our precious work in the hospitality even better and we will appreciate your comments very much in particular those about the reception service, always ready to give good advice about the city, and to make our guests feel as at home.

Our apartments are in the heart of Florence, just a few minutes walk from all the main attractions, so as to allow our guests the feeling of experiencing Florence not as tourists, but true Florentine.

If you are planning to visit Florence again in the next future we will be pleased to welcome you, we assure you that our staff will do his best to let your stay unforgettable.

Regards

Danilo Della Ratta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level Contributor
274 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights last week. The main building was full the first night so we stayed at their second location within the grounds of a school about 10 minutes walk away.

When we checked in the rate was 90Euros for the first night and 130 for the second night.

The desk manager - I believe his name was Fabio (young guy - dark hair - thin) - told us that in addition to the room charges we would have to pay 50 Euros for the cleaning fee. He indicated this was applicable for each night because we were changing apartments but that he would only charge us once because we were only moving rooms because there was not one room available for both nights.

He then asked if we would like to pay the 50 Euro fee now and in cash. We told him we would pay it later as we didn't have cash.

Upon checking in we looked at the terms of stay on their confirmation email and on their site - nowhere did we see mention of this cleaning fee.

When it came time to check out there was another manager handling the desk so I did not have the opportunity to challenge Fabio on his cleaning fee.

The other manager made no mention of such a fee and we were not charged anything extra.

Clearly there is a scam going on here - beware.

I would hope that the owner of the property sees this post and takes appropriate action.


As far as the quality of the property goes the space is big but somewhat run down. Also the lift only covers 3 of the floors so troublesome hauling bags up and down.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Inukshukasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danilo1, Proprietario at Family Apartments, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear guest,
thanks for the tip. I'm Danilo Beltrante, the owner of Signoria Apartments. I'm really happy to respond to your review on Tripadvisor reassure you that there is no scam going.

The only thing that went wrong during your stay is that you left without paying the amount due.

First of all we are not a hotel, but a company that rents apartments for tourist use, requiring a thorough cleaning that is required to hand, as in most cases for this type of accommodation.
I think the misunderstanding is due to the speed with which you choose your stay in Florence.
I highly doubt that you have read what is clearly described on our website at the 'conditions':

You also received a mail from us with this information before your check-in, with the same information. Feel free to check your email if you want.

I analised your review:

1. We stayed at this hotel for two nights last week.

Our reason
It is not a hotel, but a company that rent self catering apt. Very big difference.You booked only one night becouse it was the only solution available. Then, once in Florence, you asked for the second night. For the second night, apartment you had is normally rented at 260 euro and Fabio (person of scam) contacted me directly to ask a special price for you, considering that the first day price was 99 euro.

2.The main building was full the first night so we stayed at their second location within the grounds of a school about 10 minutes walk away.

Our reason
You never booked apt at the main building, but exactly the apt where you went to stay the first night. Again a wrong information.

3.When we checked in the rate was 90Euros for the first night and 130 for the second night.

Our reason
99 euro the first and a very personalized price (120 euro instead of 250!) for second night. Try to book penthouse apt for october to check the price.

4. The desk manager - I believe his name was Fabio (young guy - dark hair - thin) - told us that in addition to the room charges we would have to pay 50 Euros for the cleaning fee. He indicated this was applicable for each night because we were changing apartments but that he would only charge us once because we were only moving rooms because there was not one room available for both nights.

Our reason
This should be the second time you should say thanks to fabio! It is so unfair for our receptionist.

5. He then asked if we would like to pay the 50 Euro fee now and in cash. We told him we would pay it later as we didn't have cash.
Cash payement is required becouse we have a different management for apartments cleaning. You never payed for it.

6. Upon checking in we looked at the terms of stay on their confirmation email and on their site - nowhere did we see mention of this cleaning fee.
This information is everywhere! you never checked for.

7. When it came time to check out there was another manager handling the desk so I did not have the opportunity to challenge Fabio on his cleaning fee.

Our reason
and also to say thanks for everything?

8. The other manager made no mention of such a fee and we were not charged anything extra.

Our reason
The other manager was Simone, my 18 years hold brother, and may be he just forget to ask for the fee, that is normally requested at the check in.

9.Clearly there is a scam going on here - beware.

Our reason
Clearly there is a big misunderstanding and I hope now the situation is more clear for you.

10.I would hope that the owner of the property sees this post and takes appropriate action.

Our reason
Thanks for your help, it is not necessary in this case.

11. As far as the quality of the property goes the space is big but somewhat run down. Also the lift only covers 3 of the floors so troublesome hauling bags up and down.

Our reason
For the luggage we always thake care of it at your arrival, also in your case. You did not had to carry your luggage by yourself. Strange that you complain a service that you received. It is our standard.

CONCLUSIONS
I personally think that this review is a lot unfair for my company and for Fabio, that take care of you as a long time friends.

I'm glad I was warned, but if I did not know really well fabio also with this review you could put this person in trouble, and will probably lose his job. I ask you to think more than once before writing these things defamatory.
Better read the conditions before booking instead of mounting all this unnecessary controversy.

Best Regards
Danilo Beltrante
Owner Signoria Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,419 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#21 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,670 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Uffizi
San Firenze Suites & Spa
San Firenze Suites & Spa
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Family Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Family Apartments

Property: Family Apartments
Address: Via Dei Cimatori 16/R, 50122, Florence, Italy (Formerly Signoria Apartments)
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 297 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Family Apartments 1.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Apartments offers a selection of apartments for rent especially equipped to accommodate families during their turistic stay in Florence, providing all the comfort and a 24/7 assistance, for a peaceful holiday, away from the everyday stress. Our apartments are fully equipped for parents and children, with all the necessary for daily needs and also fun for the whole family. For you this means : Certainty from the booking not to have the usual stay in Florence, but a specific service to meet the needs of the whole family; Family Apartments guarantee the availability of its apartments and staff. Family Apartments staff is available 24 hours/24, 7 days/7 and is ready to intervene for any eventuality or need in less than 30 minutes from the call ; Family Apartments can meet the really important needs and resolve important matters in case of need of medical care for example; More rest and fun for the whole family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Family Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Signoria Apartments Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing