We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Signoria apartments - Penthouse”
Review of Family Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Family Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Went on a short break with my wife and kids. Charming building very near the Palazzo Vecchio which you can see from the roof terrace. You can hear the bells chime and the music from the square from the roof terrace also which is just charming! The apartment itself is clean and comfortable and well-equipped - homely rather than luxurious. Obviously it is at a top of the building up lots of stone stairs - although there is a slow lift covering some of the floors you still have to climb two flights so it wouldn't be suitable for everybody. The staff bring up your luggage though so that is no problem. They are also very friendly and would help you with anything!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danilo1, Direttore generale at Family Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2012

Dear Stelancs,
thank you for your review.
We are very happy for the success of your staying in our Amazing Penthouse.
The building has an elevator from the first floor and for access to the Penthouse is necessary to make two small flights of stairs totaling 20 steps. We believe that once there, the magnificent view from our terrace repays the effort.

See you next time in Florence!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (779)
There are newer reviews for Family Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

388 - 394 of 779 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2012

The apartment itself was roomy, comfortable and fully equipped with everything you would need!! Located in a superb location, only minutes away from all the main attractions. What made this apartment perfect was the extremely helpful staff members, offering advice on where to eat, shop and get the best views. Not many apartment owners would offer you 24hr support on your trip,truly amazing hosts! I would highly recommend staying with Signoria apartments and wound definitely visit again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunita s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danilo1, Direttore generale at Family Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2012

Dear Sunita,
Thanks for the nice words.
We are a young company, always full of enthusiasm and desire to learn, and our mission is to provide a best welcome service day by day.
Our staff is always friendly and ready to dispense godd advice to enjoy your Florentine experience.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

My family of 4 spent 5 nights in the Executive apartment, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The apartment is spacious and very comfortable, with two bathrooms, a fully-equipped kitchen, a large bedroom, and an upstairs loft reached by a spiral staircase. Best of all is the location: a half block from Piazza della Signoria and the Uffizzi Gallery. The Duomo, Bargello, and many other attractions are also just a short walk away. Florence is a fantastic city, and at the Signoria Apartments, you're right in the middle of it. Danilo and his staff are also very helpful and accommodating, and are quick to help you out with anything you may need. I think the only real drawback of this apartment is the fact that you have to climb 3 flights of stairs to get there (no lift). My son injured his knee just before we got to Florence, but was still able to manage it with our help. In general, the stairs are only a problem when you're bringing your luggage up, and they are happy to help you with that.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rfarrFromCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danilo1, Direttore generale at Family Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review.
We are happy that you enjoyed the apartment, the apartment with two bedrooms Executive is ideal for families who want an apartment in the city center and enjoy all the modern conveniences.
We're only sorry that his son could not take full advantage of the magic of Florence because of the problem in his leg, we tried with all our strength to make his stay pleasant, and we also rented a wheelchair to enable him to visit the city at least one time.

Greetings to all the family and see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at the Library apartment located close to the river, great restaurants and bars. The apartment itself was very clean, comfortable and roomy, making one feel right at home! Further, it offered loads of linens, towels and kitchen supplies for the duration of our stay!

I can't say enough about the staff, especially Danillo along with Lucas who were very helpful in initially booking the apartment along with providing excellent advice as to how to get around and what to see, eat and do. I had my reservations booking online at first, but the caring and courteous customer service provided by these two will make it a easy choice the next time I have the opportunity to visit Florence!

Room Tip: Our apartment accommodated 4 very easily and had two skylights which opened up!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karny21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danilo1, Direttore generale at Family Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2012

Dear Guest, thanks for the review.
Our Library Apartment is in the Santa Croce District, an area filled with shops, bars, restaurants and a few minutes walk from the Basilica of Santa Croce.
Our staff is always friendly and helpful, the stay of our guests begins for us with the first contact by email.
Best wishes and see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We spent 3 days at the Signoria Apartments. The staff was helpful and welcoming. The apartment was clean and our windows were on the skylight side instead of the street. The advantage was, of course, a lot less noise, but the view was boring. For 3 days, it was not a problem for us since we were out most of the time. There is an elevator but it starts on the 2nd floor, so beware if you have big suitcases, although the young man who was at the reception, upon our arrival, took care of both our suitcases. The kitchen was furnished with the usual kitchen equipment and it was OK, nothing exceptional though. It was nice to have a washer. The neighborhood is perfect for tourism. You are in the middle of everything. You can walk at the Gallery of the Offices in 2 minutes. There was a small supermarket nearby. It was impossible to get a cab the day we left, so we walked to the train station with our luggages; it's about a 15-minute walk.

Room Tip: We were on the fifth floor and we were fine. As I said, the view is boring, but the most important...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MontrealOceanLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danilo1, Direttore generale at Family Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thanks for writing us.
The apartments with one bedroom is cozy and silent, with view on the internal countyard is just to allow guests to be in the center with confidence.
Our staff is always ready to help guests with luggage.
I remember that during your stay there was the event PittiUomo, an exhibition of fashion apparel, and why was it so difficult to find a taxi, however we are also very close to the station, and can be reached with a delightful walk of 15 minute passing characteristic monuments as the Church of Orsanmichele, the Dome and the Basilica of Santa Maria Novella.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed in the library apartment. Spacious, kitchen reasonably stocked but lacking in sharp knives and chopping boards for preparing food. Location great and even though on a road with many bars and restaurants the apartment was very quiet and calm and we had no problems with noise at all. Worth noting that although on the ground floor it felt more like a basement apartment as the only windows were sky lights – not a biggy as we were out most of the time!

Felt very stung by the 50 Euro ‘cleaning fee’ I had assumed when I made the booking that this was a deposit. I do feel, particularly with a shorter reservation (ours was 3 nights), that this is a bit much as it adds significantly to the per-night rate and stopped the apartment being as cost-effective as we’d planned..... And 50 Euro to clean a one bedroom appartment? Those are some well paid cleaners!!!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
Thank BKtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danilo1, Proprietario at Family Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2012

Dear BK, thank you for your review. The Library apartment is our latest addition and we are very pleased that you enjoyed. The apartment is located on ground floor and large and modern skylights ensure that the apartment is incredibly bright. It's located just on the middle of an important building of 17th century. We also give the opportunity for guests to use our booksharing service.
The cost of final cleaning is indicated clare in our rental agreement, as well as in all the major OTA where our apartments are promoted as well as on our website. The cost is given by the hours used by the housekeeping staff (and since it's apartments, is never less than two hours) and of course the products. We cannot include that 50€ in the total cost as it has a differen administration bill.
However, for short periods (one to three days), we are always available to meet customer needs and offer a possible reduction. We hope to welcome you again in the future
Greetings from Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed in the one room apartment with our 2 kids. Really was impressed with the superb wifi and modern facilities. We have been around lots of historical places and stuff the whole holiday so it was such a nice surprise that the decor was contemporary, comfortable and tasteful. The apartment was spacious enough for us, our (a lot) of luggage and shopping. The toilet is spacious and modern. Electronic keys are used for the doors.

The location really couldn't be better as well! It is right next to Piazza Signoria, with the open exhibition of statues, Palzzo Vechio, Uffizi and a 5 min walk to Ponte Vecchio.

The only small downside is the stairs... there is a lift but it starts only after 1 flight of stairs. That said, the service is great. There are 2 Danielos and they were so friendly and helpful. They even helped us with the luggage.

Had a wonderful time in this apartment. Thanks to the staff for making this happen.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreenieSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#11 of 411 in Florence
3,520 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#61 of 411 in Florence
1,410 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 411 in Florence
2,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#4 of 411 in Florence
532 reviews
Uffizi
San Firenze Suites & Spa
San Firenze Suites & Spa
#8 of 411 in Florence
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Family Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Family Apartments

Address: Via Dei Cimatori 16/R, 50122, Florence, Italy (Formerly Signoria Apartments)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 311 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range: $117 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Family Apartments 1.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Apartments offers a selection of apartments for rent especially equipped to accommodate families during their turistic stay in Florence, providing all the comfort and a 24/7 assistance, for a peaceful holiday, away from the everyday stress. Our apartments are fully equipped for parents and children, with all the necessary for daily needs and also fun for the whole family. For you this means : Certainty from the booking not to have the usual stay in Florence, but a specific service to meet the needs of the whole family; Family Apartments guarantee the availability of its apartments and staff. Family Apartments staff is available 24 hours/24, 7 days/7 and is ready to intervene for any eventuality or need in less than 30 minutes from the call ; Family Apartments can meet the really important needs and resolve important matters in case of need of medical care for example; More rest and fun for the whole family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Family Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Signoria Apartments Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing