We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely apartment, but terrible noise problems”
Review of Family Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Family Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment, but terrible noise problems”
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Like most other reviewers, we found our apartment was brilliantly located, nicely decorated and the staff really friendly and helpful. We stayed for 4 nights in an apartment with an 'internal view' - i.e. windows into a small courtyard, opposite another block of apartments/rooms only a few feet away. Two of the nights we stayed we were kept up much of the night by noise from across the courtyard caused by what sounded like parties. We complained to the guys in charge of Signoria Apartments after the first time, but their only suggestion was to call the police if it happened again. But in the middle of the night in a foreign country when you don't speak the language well, this isn't that enticing a prospect. The second time it happened we had to leave at 4am to catch a flight so we didn't bother and just lay awake miserably! I'd recommend only if you have an apartment facing the street.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marriedwithkikds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danilo1, Proprietario at Family Apartments, responded to this review, April 29, 2011
Dear Guest,
we are tring to contact students made the party in some aparment in front of your's and ask then to be more respectfully, because it appened two times during your staing.
Hope to see you very soon back in Florence!
Danilo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    179
    59
    18
    9
See reviews for
434
108
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Perfect location surrounded by all the landmarks and shopping stores. Friendly staffs gave us lots of flexibility, including our last minute request, and all the nice directions how to explore this beautiful city. Our apartment has the full kitchen that we could enjoy the really relaxing vacation while cooking our *modified* Italian foods. We were all satisfied with everything except the unreliable Internet signal, but still will definitely go back if having a chance to visit Florence again!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yyang_usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2011

Stayed in a very spacious 2 bedroom apartment that's very centrally located in Florence. Just a few minutes walks to most major sites. The staff was very friendly, eager to answer all our questions and made check-in and check-out very easy. The value is also extremely good. I'm sure if I would have stayed at a conventional hotel I would have paid a lot more and gotten much less. I highly recommend Signoria Apartments.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anandste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2011

We stayed in the Rosso Apartment for three nights in late February 2011, and could not recommend it more as a place to stay in central Florence.

Facilities
The apartment has one double room, a single room with two bunkbeds, and a sofabed in the spacious living area, and was spotlessly clean throughout. Everyone slept well. We loved the little roof terrace with it's view of the tower of the Palazzo Vecchio! If the weather had been a bt warmer this would have been a great place for an apperitivo.....If you were staying for longer periods, we thought the kitchen was well equipped with hob, saucepans, dishwasher, full crockery etc. There is a washer/dryer in the bathroom. The bathroom itself was functional and very clean (shower only). Shower temperature could be a little temperamental consistent with the age of the building but nothing that letting it run for a few minutes before getting in didn't deal with. Free wifi in the room was a bonus and meant we could look up various bits & pieces (tours etc) during our trip with no hassle.

Location
I doubt you could beat this place on location- one road back from the Piazza Signoria! You are a matter of minutes walk from the Uffizi, perhaps 4-5minutes from the Duomo, 6-7 from Santa Croce, 15mins to the Accademia. You are surrounded by a range of eating/drinking establishments for all budgets. We walked everywhere all weekend. If you're arriving into Firenze San Marco Novella train station, it's about 15minutes walk to the apartment.

Services
Very friendly staff, met us for check-in/out exactly when we asked. As others had noted we were not expecting the 50euro charge for cleaning so I think this could probably be made clearer on the website. Having said that, it was exceptionally clean. There is also a 50euro deposit against the inventory; again no problems with this. Our toaster (which looked brand new) blew up whilst we were staying there but we were not charged for this which was good. Staff also recommended places for eating/drinking locally and pointed us in the right direction for supermarkets etc.

Value for money
Excellent- especially when costs are split between 6 people.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaby11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danilo1, Proprietario at Family Apartments, responded to this review, March 1, 2011
Dear Gaby! Thanks for your review!
50 euro of final cleaning are really important for keep the apartment in the condition you found, and we normally communicate it to all our guests.
Hope to see you back in Tuscany!
Danilo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertrange
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2011

We stayed 3 nights. The location couldn't be better. The apartment was very clean. The friendly owner went out to buy a new mattress for the sofa bed. More than two travellers should get the bigger rooms. I would recommend this place for anyone. I absolutely love Florence and could have stayed in Signoria Apartments much much longer.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LivenlearnMore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danilo1, Proprietario at Family Apartments, responded to this review, February 27, 2011
Dear guest, I really appreciate what you have written. Thank you for choosing us for
your holiday in Florence!
Danilo - the owner -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Ho Kus, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2011

The aprtment was very comfortable and had a great location. We enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timcor061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naypyidaw, Myanmar
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2011

We came to Florence for the 6th time to attend a friends wedding. We chose this apartment as we stayed here in 2007 & loved the location & facilities.
The owner is new but experienced (has another B&B in Florence). He is extremely helpful.
Free WiFi is a bonus.
The apartment had recently been upgraded with new dishwasher & clothes washer.
Our apartment was on the first floor & the lift only starts here & goes up so you have to carry your bags up one floor. The stairs are steep.
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rossbeckernz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 412 in Florence
2,778 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 412 in Florence
3,499 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#4 of 412 in Florence
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#61 of 412 in Florence
1,372 reviews
Duomo
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
Duomo
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
#47 of 412 in Florence
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Family Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Family Apartments

Property: Family Apartments
Address: Via Dei Cimatori 16/R, 50122, Florence, Italy (Formerly Signoria Apartments)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 310 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Family Apartments 1.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Apartments offers a selection of apartments for rent especially equipped to accommodate families during their turistic stay in Florence, providing all the comfort and a 24/7 assistance, for a peaceful holiday, away from the everyday stress. Our apartments are fully equipped for parents and children, with all the necessary for daily needs and also fun for the whole family. For you this means : Certainty from the booking not to have the usual stay in Florence, but a specific service to meet the needs of the whole family; Family Apartments guarantee the availability of its apartments and staff. Family Apartments staff is available 24 hours/24, 7 days/7 and is ready to intervene for any eventuality or need in less than 30 minutes from the call ; Family Apartments can meet the really important needs and resolve important matters in case of need of medical care for example; More rest and fun for the whole family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Family Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Signoria Apartments Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing