We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best meal in Florence”

Ristorante Buca Mario
Ranked #124 of 2,712 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $57 - $86
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Santa Maria Novella
NAPLES
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best meal in Florence”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Food just fantastic, very friendly staff, excellent value, great location! Were in Florence & tuscany for 2 weeks and this was one of our very best dinners. Cannot recommend this enough sure to please

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TripTip101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,926 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,724
    759
    262
    98
    83
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Meal in Florence”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My goodness, what a great experience! Our hotel recommended this place; and got us reservations(a must); we were greeted by a friendly maître de, then a friendly waiter, then a friendly sommelier(do you see a pattern?); Our hotel said she like this place because locals also went there, which was true. I couldn't decide between spaghetti with Tuscan ragu, or green lasagna; so the waiter brought me half portions of each! Same with my wife, who couldn't decide between gorgonzola gnocchi, or the marinara gnocchi; so the waiter brought half portion of each!

No doubt one of the best meals of our trip to Rome, Florence, and Cinque Terra.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mickey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best meal in Florence!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Family owned for a LONG time - there were mainly locals eating there when we were there. Highly recommend - no you MUST make reservations (your hotel will do it for you) as far in advance as possible! The wait staff have probably been there for years - our waiter was excellent and helped us with food/wine selections. My mother in law was celebrating her 80th birthday and they brought out the biggest "pretend" cake with the biggest candle you could imagine. BUT, before they brought it out - they turned off the lights, announced her name and birthday and everyone sang happy birthday to her. It was the perfect ending to a wonderful meal and superb service.

An interesting fact - two separate friends of ours that do not know each other recommended this restaurant to us. Both said not to miss it - we agree, don't miss it!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SATX2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
225 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Very much enjoyed our meal at Buca Mario so much that we went back two nights later and were equally pleased. Nice food, excellent and prompt service. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NewMexicans_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Family restaurant!!!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Everytime I come to Florence I always go to Buca Mario. You are always greeted and taken to your table by the owner of the restaurants. The food is always amazing!!!! Best dish is the T-bone!!! The restaurant is always full, great food and service, great atmosphere, just amazing!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Buca Mario also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Ristorante Buca Mario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing