We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nondescript exterior leads to a most welcoming and comfortable interior”
Review of Corte dei Medici

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Corte dei Medici
Ranked #68 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Great hotel for its price and star rating. Right in the centre , where all the beauty and action is in florence, A comfortable large room welcomed us after having to squeeze in the smallest elevator I have ever seen, Staff ooze courtesy and provide the personal touch to make you feel at home, Room rates are very reasonable for Florence and I have previously paid twice as much for a more impersonal reception. The nearby San Lorenzo market is also a welcome change from the marvels of its renaissance culture,

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank algan44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cortedeimedici, Front office manager at Corte dei Medici, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear guest,
thank you so much for your review.
All the staff members make their best to welcome our guests.
The position of the hotel, as you underline, is perfect to visit Florence.
I apologize for the small elevator, we had to adapt it to the space we have, at the end of the works we will have a larger one.
We wish to welcome you again.
Regards
Chiara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (586)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

165 - 171 of 587 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and had very good stay, cannot complaint about anything. The room we got was really spacious considering it was classic double, with lovely clean bathroom and towels changed daily. Breakfast included in the rate was good enough and varieties to chose from (bread, ham,cheese, muesli, pastries,cake,fruit) with a staff making you a cappuccino! Very good for the price we paid! The reception recommended restaurants to eat and we tried one just few minutes away and it was really nice! I would definitely recommend this hotel to the others if you look for reasonable place to stay in the heart of Florence!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mishiaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cortedeimedici, Front office manager at Corte dei Medici, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your review.
Your appreciation make us love our job.
We know it could be hard to choose a good resturant with all the Florence offer, and it is a pleasure for us to help you.
We hope to welcome you again.
Regards

Chiara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

It's difficult to imagine a more perfect location for a tourist. The hotel spills out onto a large leather market and is only 4-5 minutes walk to the Duomo and a further 8 minutes walk to the Uffizi Gallery. It's also only 5-6 minutes walk from the central train station and is surrounded by restaurants, bars and gelati shops in all directions (best vale, best food restaurant we found was Trattoria La Burrasca near the main market in Via Panicale and the cheapest gelati we found - $1.60 € - was in Via Faenza, both just one block from the hotel). Breakfast was the best we'd had in Italy and the rooms were fine. We had a family room comprising one double and two singles, with enough space and an adequate bathroom. You could also enjoy a free tea or capucinno in the dining room throughout the day ir use the communal area to sit in if needed. At 90 Euros in Winter for a family of four, we could not be happier with this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carperdiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cortedeimedici, Front office manager at Corte dei Medici, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Dear Guest,
thanks from my heart for your wonderful review.
The staff and me are delighted to know how much our guests appreciate hotel Corte dei Medici.
Hoping to welcome you again.
Best regards
Chiara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Corte dei Medici is indeed hard to find, but thanks to TripAdvisor reviews, I knew to look out for the small building with the green shutters behind the stalls of the leather market. It is actually less than a 10 minute walk from Santa Maria Novella station, all you need to do is get into the "maze" of the plaza and follow signs to "San Lorenzo Market" and there you will find the little street that the hotel is situated upon.

The hotel itself is quite small (elevator only holds 2 people) and seems to be going under renovation, as the hallways look fairly new compared to the rooms. The rooms themselves are quite spacious, bathroom is a good size (and bonus! heated towel rack!), and there is small balcony-like space. The beds are standard, kind of hard with lumpy pillows. The room is dim, wish the lighting was better, but not a huge deal breaker.

Staff is kind and helpful, breakfast is "meh", but location cannot be beat. It is an easy walk to all of Florence's main sights: Duomo, Ponte de Vecchio, Uffizi, shopping, etc.

Since TA doesn't allow half points, I gave it a 4, but it was more of a 3.5 experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cortedeimedici, Front office manager at Corte dei Medici, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Guest,
thanks for your review.
I am sorry if it was hard to find the hotel cause of the market. From 24th Genuary the stalls in front of Corte dei medici have been removed so now it is easier to find us.
At the moment we have only 14 rooms but we are working to enlarge and renewing the hotel, in the future we will have a larger lift and more moderns rooms (some are just ready, I am sorry you had not one of them).
I apologize for lumpy pillow you find, have you tried to ask a new one at reception? The staff would have been pleased to help you!
I hope you will come bak to see the result of the works!
Chiara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel on the first week of November, 2013. We were very pleased with the service quality. The location of the hotel is very central, we even walked to the Michelangelo Hill on foot!!! Piazza Signoria, Republica and Duomo are within walking distance. Our room was facing to the Medici Chapels and we could even see the Duomo from our room window! Room was large enough. The hotel is clean and staff is very helpful. In front of the hotel there is a local open-air bazaar for touristic goods. The only problem about this is that the rooms facing the Chapels are a little noisy during day time.

Room Tip: We stayed at the room 102
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ezgi b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cortedeimedici, Front office manager at Corte dei Medici, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear guest,
thanks for your kind words, to know how our guests appreciate the service we give them make us love our work.
I hope to welcome you again in the future.
regards
Chiara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Rarely can a location be both a blessing and a hindrance, but this is one such case. A blessing because it is as central in Florence as you can get, within walking distance of the station, the Duomo, Piazza Signoria, major museums, the Ponte Vecchio, etc. However it is smack in the middle of the San Lorenzo market which is teeming with stalls hawking merchandise and blocking sidewalks and reachable only by walking 50 to 100 meters from the closest place cabs can access. That said it is adjacent to the Medici Chapel and San Lorenzo Church, and has good security with modern electronic access both to rooms and through the street level door. It has a small lift to transport you to the 3rd floor lobby and breakfast area, as well as the 2d floor rooms. The staff is young and welcoming and very helpful, rooms are clean and well furnished and breakfasts offer an abundance of pastries, meats, cheeses, fresh fruit, cereals, coffees, teas and juices equal to or better than most 3 star establishments. Certainly worth a try if you can ignore the crowds and noise below as pricing is very competitive.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone who wants to experience old Florence. We stayed with our 2 daughters (10 & 13) and we all loved it. The location was close to everything (Santa Maria del Fiore) and in behind the leather market. Can be tricky to find, but if you look for the flags above the door not a problem. The room was clean, comfortable and air conditioned. The breakfasts were good. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#79 of 410 in Florence
1,248 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#63 of 410 in Florence
515 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Globus
Hotel Globus
#42 of 410 in Florence
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
#58 of 410 in Florence
892 reviews
Hotel La Fortezza
#65 of 410 in Florence
405 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#61 of 410 in Florence
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corte dei Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corte dei Medici

Address: Via del Canto Dei Nelli 2, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#89 Business Hotel in Florence
#104 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $71 - $664 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Corte dei Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Corte dei Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corte Dei Medici Hotel Florence
Corte Dei Medici Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing