We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location - Location!”
Review of Corte dei Medici

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Corte dei Medici
Ranked #68 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Rarely can a location be both a blessing and a hindrance, but this is one such case. A blessing because it is as central in Florence as you can get, within walking distance of the station, the Duomo, Piazza Signoria, major museums, the Ponte Vecchio, etc. However it is smack in the middle of the San Lorenzo market which is teeming with stalls hawking merchandise and blocking sidewalks and reachable only by walking 50 to 100 meters from the closest place cabs can access. That said it is adjacent to the Medici Chapel and San Lorenzo Church, and has good security with modern electronic access both to rooms and through the street level door. It has a small lift to transport you to the 3rd floor lobby and breakfast area, as well as the 2d floor rooms. The staff is young and welcoming and very helpful, rooms are clean and well furnished and breakfasts offer an abundance of pastries, meats, cheeses, fresh fruit, cereals, coffees, teas and juices equal to or better than most 3 star establishments. Certainly worth a try if you can ignore the crowds and noise below as pricing is very competitive.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (588)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

170 - 176 of 588 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone who wants to experience old Florence. We stayed with our 2 daughters (10 & 13) and we all loved it. The location was close to everything (Santa Maria del Fiore) and in behind the leather market. Can be tricky to find, but if you look for the flags above the door not a problem. The room was clean, comfortable and air conditioned. The breakfasts were good. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We returned for a second stay at the Corte dei Medici and were as delighted with it as we were the first time. The location is superb - five minutes walk from Santa Maria Novella (the railway station) and five minutes walk to the Duomo. The room was very comfortable and clean, and was serviced to a high standard each day. It had excellent air conditioning - a must in the high summer temperatures in Firenze.
A couple of minor points (that do not take away from the excellent rating we've given this hotel) - 1. the entrance door to the hotel is not particularly obvious from the street - we missed it on our first stay at the hotel but knew what to look for this time (the hotel is doing renovations at present and we understand this is to include a more obvious entrance area). 2. As complete tea-drinking fanatics, we were a little disappointed that the water for making tea at breakfast time was warm to reasonably hot but not really hot enough to make a good cup of tea.

Room Tip: Hotel currently being renovated, although we didn't hear any construction noise during our stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JR_NZ42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Very nice hotels itch a lovely old style, excellent staff with fluent friendly english, great breakfast with a selection of things to suit different tastes. Great location and a great jumping off point for local sights. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TalesFromLoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Decent hotel with very nice situation and very hospital staff. They will help you all the way you need also in english. Freakfast is good enough and kitchen staff try to fulfil your hopes. We have some difficulties to find the hotel because of streetshops. You can,t see the door og the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muste56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Nice staff, perfect location, lovely and functional room, fair price. Excellent choice!
We have just stayed in Florence for 2 nights and 3 days and we have been delightfully surprised by the quality offered by this simple hotel.
This was that kind of place where you do not expect to get anything special, and instead you obtain much more. One floor of the hotel is under rennovation. Despite that we have never been bothered by noises or disfunction.
The personnel was always kind and helpful, all of them. The location is strategical: 10 minutes by foot from the train station, same distance from the main sites. Perfect!
I will definately recommend this hotel and I am planning to organize a trip for my parents to Florence so they can stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VenicePsycho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Although a bit tricky to find WELL WORTH IT! Nicest most accommodating polite, amazing staff, very sweet and FANTASTIC breakfast buffet! Rooms were very clean and beautiful, including amazing views of the leather market and church!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaliRoxMahSox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#78 of 410 in Florence
1,249 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#64 of 410 in Florence
516 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Globus
Hotel Globus
#42 of 410 in Florence
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
#59 of 410 in Florence
892 reviews
Hotel La Fortezza
#65 of 410 in Florence
405 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#61 of 410 in Florence
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corte dei Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corte dei Medici

Address: Via del Canto Dei Nelli 2, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#89 Business Hotel in Florence
#104 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $69 - $512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Corte dei Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Corte dei Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corte Dei Medici Hotel Florence
Corte Dei Medici Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing