We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low cost without a sacrifice”
Review of Casa Billi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Billi
Ranked #93 of 303 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Miami
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Low cost without a sacrifice”
Reviewed October 25, 2011

I've been travelling around Italy for 15 days now and I must say that this is probably the best guesthouse/hostal I've encountered so far. Despite the 2 floors with no elevator in Casa Billi you will find comfortables beds and basic spacious rooms that won't make you feel like a mouse in a trap. Staff was friendly, professional and helpful. Bathrooms are modern and always flawlessly clean and location is unbeatable, only a 5 minute walk to all major museums, train stations and cathedrals. Wifi connection is also great. Definitely staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    37
    10
    6
    7
See reviews for
10
47
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
147 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Just completed a 10 day vacation to Italy. We stayed at the Casa Billi in Florence for three nights. We were looking for basic accommodations, and we found it. Casa Billi is one of several "hotels" in the building. It was very convenient to the train station, about two blocks away. When we arrived, we buzzed the proprietor. They let us in, and told us to walk up the the second floor. REMEMBER, in Europe, they start counting at "0". So, for us Americans, 2nd floor is really three flights up. So, if you're carrying heavy suitcases, you'll have to lug them up three flights of stairs, even though there is an elevator. Casa Billi does not have access to the elevator. Why not, I don't really know. The room was very basic, but Florence is expensive, and we paid 70 Euros per night. The room was clean. The bed was good. Pillows at hotels never are good for me. Our room was down a long hallway, which was fine with me, overlooking an inner courtyard. The bathroom was toilet, shower, and sink all in one room. So, when you shower, everything gets wet! Make sure you move the toilet paper out of the room before you start. Water pressure was good! Fixtures looked pretty new and clean. TV was Italian, only. All in all, it was a good, inexpensive (compared to other Florence hotels) place to sleep. Wireless, which was provided by the hotel did not work in my room. But, fortunately, another hotspot was open, and worked in our room. If on a budget, this place works!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeffb1650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Casa Billi. Our double room was basic but spacious and had everything we needed. The shared bathroom was right across the hall and was very modern & clean. The location is great if you're planning any day trips as the train station is just around the corner. Everything else is within easy walking distance & there are plenty of restaurants nearby (highly recommend Trattoria da Guido next door). There's also a laundromat and supermarket on the same street.

My only dislike would be that the cleaners don't bother to clean the squished mosquitos off the walls from previous guests and it's quite gross as they're splattered all over the walls & ceiling. And the wi-fi only works in the reception area. But otherwise a pleasant place to stay in a beautiful city.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back face a small courtyard & are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yenniva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

There's not many hotels in European cities where you have both easy access to the train station and the city's sights. Casa Billi is in a great location for a very well priced guesthouse. The room was spacious and clean with nice furnishings. The shared bathroom was modern. This is not a full service hotel so don't expect things like 24 Hour reception. However, the people there are nice and provide you with a map upon arrival.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beingnotdoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2011

This place is a great older property with a phenomenal location. It is ideal for discovering Florence or indulging in an old world experience without being overwhelmed by service; the rooms are comfortable. The overall feel is good. Our room had a garden view, and that was very nice

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steph m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2011

The location is very central , which was ideal for me as it was just an overnight trip. The cost was also very good value for a hotel in the centre of the city. Casa Billi was very comfortable, the staff very helpful and friendly. I often make trips to the city, and I would certainly check out this hotel again, and I would also recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frank t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Excelent, very family friendly hotels, we' ve a great stay in Florence, staff very helpful
we stayed only 2 days - The place was beautiful and clean. The owners were great. Upon arrival they made sure we had a map of Florence and knew were all the sights were. we recommend Casa Billi

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rae m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Soggiorno Annamaria
Soggiorno Annamaria
#291 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Machiavelli Palace
Hotel Machiavelli Palace
#195 of 420 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,128 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Ferretti
Hotel Ferretti
#263 of 420 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Globus
Hotel Globus
#61 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
San Lorenzo
Affittacamere Alba
Affittacamere Alba
#195 of 675 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
San Lorenzo
Affittacamere Vanessa
Affittacamere Vanessa
#268 of 675 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Billi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Billi

Property: Casa Billi
Address: Via Faenza 12, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 303 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Casa Billi 1.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Billi is a cheapest (quality/price) choice centrally located, in Florence, from 1951: Casa BIlli provides private rooms with private or shared bathroom, and apartment.Our rooms provided with conditioner, sat tv, wi fi, heating and much moreCasa Billi is a typical, small guest house, opened year round; so, our check in time starts from 11 to 15 but we can arrange your check in if you write us in time - check in after 19 o'clock are not possible - before must be confirmed by us) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Casa Billi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Billi Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing