We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for a glass of wine”

Enoteca Pitti Gola e Cantina
Ranked #31 of 2,742 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $85
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Pitti
Description: Thank you for your interest in Enoteca Pitti Gola e Cantina. We are a cozy wine shop and wine bar located in Piazza Pitti just across from the Pitti Palace. Our mission is to select the very best territorial, cultural and traditional wines produced in Tuscany and in Italy. Focusing on small production, high-end wines that are difficult to find anywhere else. Our options by the glass strongly represent this very specific selection. Our goal is to inform our clients of the wines and wine making process of Italy. We have a limited but quite special food selection prepared daily by our chef. We offer an a la carte menu featuring Tuscan appetizers, cheeses, charcuterie and hand made first courses. Still, our dishes are designed to compliment your experience with our wines. We are not a restaurant with a full dining menu. Our kitchen is open from 1:00pm to 3:30 pm then again from 7:30 to 10:30. We are closed on Tuesdays. For reservations please let us know what date, time, name, how many people and what type of reservation you are interested in making; an a la carte lunch or dinner, a reservation for The Wine Club Tasting, Dinner With An Owner or The Wine Tasting Lunch. We are closed On Tuesdays all day. We thank you so much for expressing your interest in us and we do very much hope to get to see you at Enoteca Pitti Gola e Cantina soon!
new jersey
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice place for a glass of wine”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is a nice escape from the Florence heat. We enjoyed a sparkling wine flight and the chianti flight. We most enjoyed watching the owner's dog Toffee who wanted to interact with everyone who came in.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CANJGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,104
    260
    57
    13
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“İmpressive indeed”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

It is wine bar and "a restaurant," it is small, but has an extensive lists of wines and dishes that, I may call as home- made. It gave me the impression of a family run, old style Italian bar and restaurants, but it is most likely that run by a young team who are keen on providing a good quality food, drinks and service. it is in short a modern and well-run establishment. Their Tuscany based anti-pastas including cheeses are good quality. The wines served are originated from small producers, which is something that hard to beat. It is a good place to taste a different variety of Italian wines and get proper information from sommeliers. The Chianti wine list is really impressive and wines are moderately priced. Service is somewhat different it has a personal touch, is good but, irritating at times. The Chef Marzia Sassetti is impressive indeed. The portions are actually generous. It is a place that I hope to visit again in the near future. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank erolys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“How a winebar should be like”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Great wines by the glass and solid, classic italian food to accompany the them.

All served by a young, competent staff. Do it!

More at http://Gastromand.dk

  • Visited August 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank diedamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent! A must visit!”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We were looking for a low-key place to have some wine and light food, and they were the perfect find! We sampled 7 different Italian wines, and had the server create a tasting platter of cheese and other snacks. Everything tasted amazing, and when we still had room for more, we ordered a dish of pasta each, which in itself was fantastic.

If you want a great place to have a smaller meal but some fabulous wine, check out Pitti Gola E Cantina!

Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 6 Contributor
455 reviews
288 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“The best wine bar in Florence”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Hands down the best, great staff willing to talk to you even in English. Explained each wine, how, when, where. Wrote them all down for me and showcased unusual variaties. We visited other enotecas but because we can't speak Italian found it hard and understandably for them they weren't to enthusiastic about us! We spent 60e on pre dinner drinks and came again the following evening as we just had too much fun chatting and drinking. Small cosy and I wish I could wrap it up and bring it home with me.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SumoDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Enoteca Pitti Gola e Cantina also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Enoteca Pitti Gola e Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing