We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Wine Bar in Florence”

Enoteca Pitti Gola e Cantina
Ranked #28 of 2,704 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $85
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Pitti
Description: Thank you for your interest in Enoteca Pitti Gola e Cantina. We are a cozy wine shop and wine bar located in Piazza Pitti just across from the Pitti Palace. Our mission is to select the very best territorial, cultural and traditional wines produced in Tuscany and in Italy. Focusing on small production, high-end wines that are difficult to find anywhere else. Our options by the glass strongly represent this very specific selection. Our goal is to inform our clients of the wines and wine making process of Italy. We have a limited but quite special food selection prepared daily by our chef. We offer an a la carte menu featuring Tuscan appetizers, cheeses, charcuterie and hand made first courses. Still, our dishes are designed to compliment your experience with our wines. We are not a restaurant with a full dining menu. Our kitchen is open from 1:00pm to 3:30 pm then again from 7:30 to 10:30. We are closed on Tuesdays. For reservations please let us know what date, time, name, how many people and what type of reservation you are interested in making; an a la carte lunch or dinner, a reservation for The Wine Club Tasting, Dinner With An Owner or The Wine Tasting Lunch. We are closed On Tuesdays all day. We thank you so much for expressing your interest in us and we do very much hope to get to see you at Enoteca Pitti Gola e Cantina soon!
Rockport,Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Best Wine Bar in Florence”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

My husband and I loved our wine and culinary experience at this cantina. The owners were so knowledgeable about the wines in their area. The chef was wonderful. She created such beautiful food. The music, of course was perfect. As I drank and ate so well, I felt like singing too, and I did, on my way to hear other opera singers. Many thanks again, Manuele, for preparing that special quick meal, so that we would not be late to the opera performance.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jazzy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,083
    257
    57
    12
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Perfect way to experience special tuscan wines”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We came here after hearing about the wonderful wine tasting dinner at this restaurant. Lucky for us, we're probably amongst the last who had the luxury of trying this AMAZING wine tasting dinner, because one of the owners, Xeno, who hosted us over the dinner informed that they were re-looking into the wine-tasting dinner, and would not be running this anymore. A shame because it was the highlight of our Florence gastronomic adventure, if not the whole of our Italian trip.

Over the course of 3 hours, an exuberant and incredibly passionate Xeno took us through the various wine regions of Italy, explaining the finer details of each of the 13 wines that we sampled. What I took away from the whole experience, is that if you are looking for more unique, specially "curated" wine selection, this is the place to go, as Xeno and his other partners only select wines that they personally love, and mostly they are not the big name wineries, rather you will hear stories of grumpy old men who own wineries that only produce 5000 bottles a year, and whom Xeno etc have to visit yearly to purchase their wines.

Our wine tasting was paired with lovely small plates of food, the focus was more on the wine after all. Since they have stopped doing their wine dinners, not much point spending too much time sharing on the details, but if our experience over the wine dinner is anything to go by, this would definitely be a must visit if you are an oenophile, looking for fellow afficianados to chat with and sample a few, select vintages.

Location is great too, right opposite the Pitti Palace, so you could make a dinner stop here after a visit to the palace. The place is tiny, so reservations are essential Do go, if I return to Florence again, I definitely will!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank YasmeenHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
137 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lunch after Uffizi”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

It was a beautiful sunny day in March, we sat outside facing the Pitti palace. We each ordered a glass of wine. We knew we were going to have a large dinner, so we opted for a meat tray and a cheese tray. Both had five or six excellent choices of meat and cheese. The cheese tray also had condiments to compliment the cheese. Unfortunately my wife and I each had empty wine glasses prior to finishing our food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TTWindom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful wine, beautiful food and wonderful service”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We went here on the recommendation of a friend. We were not disappointed. The wine, food and atmosphere were all first rate. We tried various wines, including the 2006 Brunello di Moltacino, which was my favourite, all the while Manuele took care to explain the wine, the region and the traditions of making the wines. We enjoyed the selections of cheeses and cold meats, as well as the pumpkin and ricotta ravioli which was beautifully made and was full of flavour. Had we discovered it earlier we would have gone back again. Make sure you visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria11K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Oh dear”
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Very disappointing. Food was very bland and service non existent. Staff didn't seem to care. I don't think we'll be back any time soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nunaratbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Enoteca Pitti Gola e Cantina also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Enoteca Pitti Gola e Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing