We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch after Uffizi”

Enoteca Pitti Gola e Cantina
Ranked #31 of 2,722 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $85
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Pitti
Description: Thank you for your interest in Enoteca Pitti Gola e Cantina. We are a cozy wine shop and wine bar located in Piazza Pitti just across from the Pitti Palace. Our mission is to select the very best territorial, cultural and traditional wines produced in Tuscany and in Italy. Focusing on small production, high-end wines that are difficult to find anywhere else. Our options by the glass strongly represent this very specific selection. Our goal is to inform our clients of the wines and wine making process of Italy. We have a limited but quite special food selection prepared daily by our chef. We offer an a la carte menu featuring Tuscan appetizers, cheeses, charcuterie and hand made first courses. Still, our dishes are designed to compliment your experience with our wines. We are not a restaurant with a full dining menu. Our kitchen is open from 1:00pm to 3:30 pm then again from 7:30 to 10:30. We are closed on Tuesdays. For reservations please let us know what date, time, name, how many people and what type of reservation you are interested in making; an a la carte lunch or dinner, a reservation for The Wine Club Tasting, Dinner With An Owner or The Wine Tasting Lunch. We are closed On Tuesdays all day. We thank you so much for expressing your interest in us and we do very much hope to get to see you at Enoteca Pitti Gola e Cantina soon!
Minnesota
Level Contributor
140 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lunch after Uffizi”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

It was a beautiful sunny day in March, we sat outside facing the Pitti palace. We each ordered a glass of wine. We knew we were going to have a large dinner, so we opted for a meat tray and a cheese tray. Both had five or six excellent choices of meat and cheese. The cheese tray also had condiments to compliment the cheese. Unfortunately my wife and I each had empty wine glasses prior to finishing our food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TTWindom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,087
    261
    57
    13
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful wine, beautiful food and wonderful service”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We went here on the recommendation of a friend. We were not disappointed. The wine, food and atmosphere were all first rate. We tried various wines, including the 2006 Brunello di Moltacino, which was my favourite, all the while Manuele took care to explain the wine, the region and the traditions of making the wines. We enjoyed the selections of cheeses and cold meats, as well as the pumpkin and ricotta ravioli which was beautifully made and was full of flavour. Had we discovered it earlier we would have gone back again. Make sure you visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria11K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Oh dear”
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Very disappointing. Food was very bland and service non existent. Staff didn't seem to care. I don't think we'll be back any time soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nunaratbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A must if you enjoy wine and food”
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

We got a table on our last night in Florence, and it was truly THE gastronmic high point of our trip. Beautiful, flavorful, interesting food paired with delicious wines.

The sommalier(sp?) Zeno, was so excited to share his passion and knowlege with us! Stories abound about each and every winery and bottle.

We tasted 1/2 glasses so we could sample many more wines. I wish I had more business cards to share with friends, it was that good. Located with a view of Pitti Palace, steps from Ponte Vechio and Santo Spirito.

Love love love this place.

We thought the cost reasonable considering the high quality. GO!

Helpful?
1 Thank Kom56
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“These young men know what you are drinking”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Already having No. 1 rank on Tripadvisor for this city, readers may expect something special. The site is exquisite: opposite the Pitti Palace and just along from Ponte Vecchio in Otrarno. This is literally a wine 'bar' and very small indeed; there are few tables and fewer chairs at the bar. Guests are inside and it seems crowded with ten present; you wonder where the rest of the wine bar is. It's very exclusive when you are let in. We were told yes, we could sit down, but the table was wanted in forty minutes. Presumably Signor Grande had a booking priority. Forty minutes was enough: we wanted to try the wine bar experience before dinner [necessarily elsewhere]. I chose two red wines from Tuscany: a Montalcino and Langhe nebbiolo. These were very interesting. No less than three elegant young men were in attendant vintage docentage: each epitomising the proverb, Fare la bella figura. They have deep knowledge of their Tuscan regional wines and can put their elegant fingers on a pebble from each vinyard. They know what you are drinking; where it came from, and just how much a scabrous knave like you deserves to be drinking it compared to their more noble guests who were coming in forty minutes. We didn't try the bites 'n' snax; there was no time. In fairness, they were very well informed and thawed out a bit later; their wines are refined and highly specific. Perhaps if I had understood the unstated game or booked a table in advance I could become part of the world-class elite who can dine in this No. 1 ranked spot for over an hour. This is a rare concept: a first-rank establishment, thriving on exclusivity and discouraging wine-loving customers. We enjoyed the forty minutes. This is a very distinctive establishment but I am surprised at the No.1 ranking which is not deserved on customer service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lungipiedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Enoteca Pitti Gola e Cantina also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Enoteca Pitti Gola e Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing