We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in the world”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Ranked #10 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2009

I spent 2 nights at the Four Seasons with my girlfriend recently and it turned out to be the greatest hotel stay we have every experienced. We are used to wonderful hotels but this was in a class of its own and calling it 5 star does it a dis-service.

We arrived on the friday afternoon and were taken to the Royal Suite. Usually a suite had a lounge area and possibly two bathrooms but this was larger then my own apartment in London and I genuinely got lost a few times. The bedroom was simply stunning with original painted ceilings and antiques all over the room. The bathroom had a full steam room, shower, enormous free-standing bathtub, TV in the mirror and several sinks. A hallway led to the lounge/ living room with huge TV, two full cabinets of books, a grand piano and desk area. The hallway was the best though and I urge anyone to check out the photos of the curved ceilings, original flooring and stuning furniture that adorned it. At the end was a dining room and bar for eight people, with a huge chandelier hanging down. No words can do it justics and, as Conde Nast Traveller also wrote, it can only be described as the best suite on earth.

The rest of the hotel was equally stunning. The communcal areas and lounges were all so unique and so striking. We were given a tour of the property by the best PR we have ever met and she explained the history and rationale of each area. We saw the amazing gardens, the stunning spa, the beautiful restaurant (more of that later) and two different ballrooms both the venues from heaven. This is the most palatial and tranquil hotel on the planet and yet it is within a 10 minute walk of the Duomo.

On Saturday evening the restaurant lived up to its promise. Incredible food made from the finest ingredients, attentive staff and a gorgeous setting. Five courses later and we were full but happy!

My review misses off one thing- just how amazing ever single member of staff was. They made what could maybe have been a stuffy hotel be extremely welcoming full of smiles and fantastic ambience.

I did not have a spa treatment but my girlfriend said it was the best she had experience. The food was the best I have had in a long while. This is the best hotel in the world with the best suite in the world and I would be amazed if anyone went there and could disagree.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hotel_Girl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,627)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,150 - 1,156 of 1,627 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2009

Words cannot possibly describe the Four Seasons in Florence. The hotel has only recently opened (6 months) after seven years of renovations. Even though we're in the midst of a global recession the Four Seasons spared no expense in restoring this 15th century palace.

It is set in the middle of Florence about 1.5 miles northeast of the city center on 13 acres of perfectly manicured grounds. The hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood and you would have no idea that you are in the midst of a metro area of 1 million people. The rooms are spacious and quiet. We had a premier room that looked out onto the grounds and felt while in the room we were in our own Tuscan villa.

The hotel has a spa and wonderful health club on site. The common areas and conference facilities are a museum to themselves. If you get the opportunity take a tour of the conference rooms, presidential and royal suites (adjectives meaning - Unbelievable). The floors have hand painted artwork, 15th century Chinese wallpaper adorning the walls and the artwork belongs in a Museum.

The staff is exactly what you've come to expect at the Four Seasons. Ask for Leo the assistant GM if you need any help at all. You'll also find him entertaining guests in the bar at night to ensure your stay is memorable. The business center while not expansive (why on earth you would come here to work) is adequate and again adored with 15th century art and decor that will have you drifting off to times of serfs and nobility. If you stay here, you're definitely not a serf.

The restaurant was wonderful; although Florentines do not believe that a hotel restaurant can be that good compared to other options in the city. We even had great fish, which is a special treat in Florence.

Wow, just wow.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fugawee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2009

From the moment we arrived the service and charm of the staff were impeccable
Stunning renovations that have been done to keep the feel of the original palazzo with Murano glass and stylish furnishings. The grounds were the original botanical gardens and are where you find the swimming pool and spa, ideal after a busy day sightseeing. As for location if the Boston reviewer had done his homework, he would have known it is not in the centre of the city. This is what makes it a unique hotel for its quiet location but only 5 minutes walk to the Accademia to see David

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rainbow0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2009

Upon arival my husband and I were given an upgrade to a deluxe room ,given complimentary cake and wine for his birthday the folowing date and were pampered in every possible way.Concierge was always prompt to call taxis,make dinner reservtaions,front desk was also perfect as were waiters and cleaning staff..It is hard to have a beautiful hotel feel so cozy airy and light..There s a piano playing in the bar every evening and nice iIalian music on Sunday brunchTaxis in Florence are cheap so it s easy to go downtown and back. and one of the nicest trattorias La Giostra is quie near.To top this al they have a special winter rate ..The bad thing about it is all other hotels pale for the rest of your trip.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeansãopaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2009

Having stayed in a number of Four Seasons Hotels around the world, this has gone to the top of my list. The restuarant is exceptional in a city with surprisingly few top-notch restaurants. They have done an amazing job restoring a historical palazzo and the rooms feature stunning fresoes and furnishings. The 5 acre garden is wonderful and will be a real treat when the weather warms up. The concierge can get you in to all the special places that makes sightseeing in Florenece a real treat. Great spa and pool too.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarlosNutmeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2009

I didn't stay at the hotel, but rather dined, drank and had tea at the Atrium Bar on more than one occasion. Going to several Four Seasons worldwide, I can say that Florence doesn't rate up there... Lisbon, Chicago and even Boston rate as the best service in the company. Granted, its not even a year open for Florence, but little things could have been done here and there to make up for it. Please don't stay away from the place, although the Borgo Pinto area has no shopping, no major or minor sites nor churches. Further, the dining in the neighboring area is sparce and residences are filled with student hostels. I know all this sounds negative, but please do plenty of research before booking your trip. I did...and I stayed somewhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank paul274Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2009

Stayed here Feb 13-17. All the great reviews are true! This place is a gem and one of THE BEST hotels I have ever stayed at before. Service is top notch. Everyone goes above and beyond for you whether is it the doorman, registration, maids, bartender, or concierge. For example, we didn't have tickets to the Accademia to see the the Statue of David and they offered to send somone over to wait in the ticket line for us. Unreal!

I had the basic room which was far from basic. Tons of space: walk in closet, king bad, & huge bathroom w/shower and a huge tub!!!!

If you have the chance take a cooking class from the Executive Chef Vito. He is a real treat to watch and the food was amazing.......the veal was excellent! Make sure to walk the grounds out back. My only regret is that I did not fit in a massage during my visit!

5+++ Stars for this property!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pikapptcu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#14 of 410 in Florence
1,312 reviews
Duomo
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#5 of 410 in Florence
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lungarno
#9 of 410 in Florence
1,296 reviews
Villa Cora
#4 of 410 in Florence
1,014 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 410 in Florence
3,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Firenze

Address: Borgo Pinti 99, 50121, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Florence
#4 Spa Hotel in Florence
#7 Family Hotel in Florence
#9 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#9 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $525 - $1,684 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Firenze 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Four Seasons Hotel Firenze. An enchanted city sanctuary in the midst of Florence, where an art-filled Renaissance palazzo and conventino frame a centuries-old private park. Relax amidst original frescoes and sculptured reliefs, graced by sunlight and airy garden vistas. Sip espresso under majestic trees, lounge by the open-air pool or bask in Italian spa secrets. Wonders of the Uffizi and Duomo are a stroll away. Tuscan hill towns beckon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Firenze
Florence Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing