We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First dinner on this visit to Florence”

Osteria Vecchio Cancello
Reserve a table
2
Sat, 4/13
8:00 PM
Ranked #6 of 2,718 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Piazza dell'Indipendenza
Description: Lovely family restaurant in Florence center, in a quiet street near the train station, 10 minutes to the Duomo and very close to Fortezza da Basso, with a nice indoor garden. Here you can find Own Organics Wines and Extravergin Olive Oil directly from our farm, located in the middle of Chianti hills. Our Specialties are the very good quality Meat in particular the Florentine T-Bone Steack and Game Meat, Homemade Fresh Pasta and everytime fresh vegetables dishes. The owner's daughter, has dedicated the name of this restaurant to the farm of her uncles, wher she was born and raised.
Reviewed October 4, 2017 via mobile

This is a very nice, not so small "restaurant", in a somewhat quiet neighborhood.

We had wine produced by the family - very nice. The three different pasta dishes we had were great-I love wild boar papadelle. The salads were fresh and terrific. We had 2 cold cut plates of local Tuscan style "sausages".

This is a keeper in an out of the neighborhood. A couple next to us had the bisteca fiorentino for two - cooked perfectly and presented nicely.

VG, Kinnaman's

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank JohnKinnaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (3,026)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

393 - 397 of 3,026 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2017

I hesitate to award 4 stars to this restaurant because the pasta course was so disappointing. It was supposed to be mezzaluna (half-moon shaped ravioli) with a spinach ricotta filling but one could barely taste the spinaxhnor ricotta because the dish was over sauced. On the other hand, the beef fillet secondi was delicious. Service was acceptable but not particularly warm or attentive. The family that owns the restaurant also owns a vineyard and there are several bottles from their vineyard on the wine list at modest price; totally acceptable in taste.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank MBA60302
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 29, 2017 via mobile

Again not easiest place to find but worth searching out. And the restaurant is deceptively big with a covered garden area.

We shared the beef filler with some chips and a side which was more then enough for two people.

Nice atmosphere and good service happy to find this restaurant.

Date of visit: September 2017
1  Thank mattk897
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 18, 2017 via mobile

We ate at Osteria Vecchio Cancello at the recommendation of the staff at our hotel. Even though it is a bit off the beaten track, the clientele appeared to be primarily tourists. My eggplant Parmesan was good, but my wife's pasta dish was far too heavily sauced (to the point that it obscured the pasta). My octopus was also quite good, although the portion was fairly small and the dish would have benefited from some roasted potatoes or other side. The star of the show was clearly my wife's filet mignon -- excellent. Marscapone with berries made a fine dessert, but the cheese plate leaned far too heavily on Pecorino -- three types of varying ages -- there was simply not enough variety. Notably, the restaurant is affiliated with a vineyard, and all three of the vineyard bottlings are offered at less than 20€ -- very good values.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank KingofThreePutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 17, 2017 via mobile

Just around the corner from hotel Glance. Cosy dining room helpful and knowledgeable staff in a family restaurant. Our waitress was the chef's daughter!
I had the wild boar pasta which was the best pasta I had in a two week trip. For main we all had the beef strips in red wine sauce. Expectation was a stroganoff style dish reality was a huge bone in steak sliced into strips. Red wine sauce was lovely and steak was good. If you like meat in large portions it's great.
Recommend this place for a very good meal.

Date of visit: September 2017
1  Thank steve d
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Vecchio Cancello also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Osteria Vecchio Cancello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.