We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 to kill for dishes returning tonight”

Osteria Vecchio Cancello
Reserve a table
2
Sat, 4/13
8:00 PM
Ranked #6 of 2,718 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Piazza dell'Indipendenza
Description: Lovely family restaurant in Florence center, in a quiet street near the train station, 10 minutes to the Duomo and very close to Fortezza da Basso, with a nice indoor garden. Here you can find Own Organics Wines and Extravergin Olive Oil directly from our farm, located in the middle of Chianti hills. Our Specialties are the very good quality Meat in particular the Florentine T-Bone Steack and Game Meat, Homemade Fresh Pasta and everytime fresh vegetables dishes. The owner's daughter, has dedicated the name of this restaurant to the farm of her uncles, wher she was born and raised.
Reviewed September 7, 2017 via mobile

Thanks TripAdvisor for this wonderful culinary experience. It was so memorable that we are going back tonight. Even the others diners (USA, Belgium, Israel) were so pleased that we all became buddies and chatted happily until closing time.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Harold J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (3,026)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

401 - 405 of 3,026 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2017 via mobile

Tucked away in a quiet street is this gem of a restaurant. We came after reading reviews on tripadviser and the food did not disappoint.
We were a party of 8 and enjoyed having a variety of food on the table. We are not big eaters and like to order more dishes in small portions. As such, we didn't appreciate the English speaking waitress trying to constantly get us to order bigger steaks and more food. When we politely decline, she gave us a shrug as if to say "It's your loss".
Apart from that, the steak was one of the best we have eaten in Florence and the meat sauce pasta was cooked just right. We also had the quail risotto which was unique and the potato was somewhere between wedges and chips which was awesome.
I would return for the food and learn some Italian so I can speak to the other 2 Italian waiters which were much more polite.

Date of visit: September 2017
2  Thank ShawnBock
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 3, 2017

We had dinner here on the very first night of our stay in Florence. The restaurant is located in the retreated street. Its deco is retrospective. We ordered codfish and quail risotto, both of which are impressive. The sauce fish is fantastic and the texture of the quail is tender. We ordered red wine and white wine, which are both great.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SYhh87
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 24, 2017

We tried the pork with pici and wild boar with pappardelle and both were delicious! We finished the meal with a slice of apple cake that was also amazing!

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 19, 2017 via mobile

Absolutely excellent meal, homely, rustic surroundings and amazing staff!!
Eleanora, our waitress, was extremely friendly and made exceptional recommendations wrt wine & dessert. We had the osso bucco and beef in red wine sauce for second course, ravioli in truffle sauce for first course and meat platter as starter. The paté was exceptional on the starter...
Dessert was apple cake & chocolate cake served with ricotta cheese...and the evening ended with limoncello for me & coffee for him. ❤️❤️❤️

Date of visit: August 2017
1  Thank 544angelinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Vecchio Cancello also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Osteria Vecchio Cancello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.