We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Innkeeper Magnifico”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Luna Guest House
Ranked #56 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Innkeeper Magnifico”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

I stayed at La Luna on a vacation with my parents. Riccardo is the owner and Innkeeper and he just goes above and beyond. If it is your first time visiting Florence, he anticipates your needs. He reserved tickets for us to The Uffizi Museum, The Statue of David and also a day trip to Tuscany. All activities, of course were optional, but if he hadn't made reservations - we would never have been able to see these amazing sights (at least not without waiting in line for hours!) Riccardo took the time when we arrived to go over the local map, pointing out everything of interest as well as how to get there. He will assist as much as you want, or leave you in peace if you prefer. The guesthouse was immaculate, the beds comfortable. The accommodations were modest, but for the price - you really could not beat it. I want to note that La Luna is a good 15 minute walk to any of the sights in the center of Florence. There is a bus stop just 2 blocks away, but if you are unable or unwilling to walk a little, you may be better off with a hotel in the center. Also the lift was not working, so 2 flights of stairs needed to be dealt with, Riccardo is right there to assist with carrying any luggage you have. We found it to be no problem. Also located on a very quiet street with great restaurants of many diverse cuisines just 5 minutes away. Ask Riccardo about the best gelato in Florence. He is spot on!!! Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    91
    9
    7
    10
See reviews for
101
193
26
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

I had booked a room several months prior to our arrival. I contacted Ricardo days before leaving and our reservation was confirmed. Upon arrival we were met at the door and told that he had no water in two of his rooms and that he arranged for us to stay in a hotel just down the street (Hotel Leopolda, AVOID AT ALL COST). He said it was an upgrade. Well, if it was, I am glad we did not stay at his B&B. We found out (via various hotel booking websites) that where we were lodged was 25 euros less a night than his B&B. One of the clerks at the hotel admitted that Ricardo had overbooked, and so we were staying there.

We then confronted Ricardo about this and he stuck to his water story. We managed to convince him to refund us the cost of the second night, as we had no intention of spending anymore time than necessary in the Hotel Leopolda. We had to be refunded in cash as Ricardo charged our credit card upon arrival for the full amount and could not reimburse our credit card, but offered to do a bank transfer if I would provide him with my account details, um NO WAY! When asked how long he had been without water, he said over 24 hours. Why then were we not contacted? He thought it better to find us somewhere else to stay. I honestly believe this is not the first time this situation has occurred and that he and the owner of the Hotel Leopolda have some sort of scheme going as the Hotel Leopolda was basically empty.

The location of the B&B and the hotel we stayed at was dingy to say the least, having to pass by rows of garbage bins on the street and the sidewalk was full of dog poop.

This occurrence is really too bad, as Ricardo was helpful in booking museum reservations and giving us an overview of the city upon our arrival with draw instructions on the map. Perhaps if we had stay at his B&B, this would be a five * review, but that wasn't our experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatW1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

I went with a friend to La Luna based on the positive trip advisor reviews. It did not disappoint! Ricardo was great and on the first day gave us a map of Florence and showed us all the main attractions to go to. He arranged for a tour and helped us get tickets to the art galleries as well during our stay. The room was a good size and clean and the location was about a 10 min walk to the train station. I would recommend La Luna to anyone staying in Florence for the first time as it is a great introduction to the city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MariaC84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Ricardo is the best with his knowledge of the area.It was a lovely feeling like being at home. My first time in Florence with my friends and husband was great!Thank you Ricardo for such a memorable experience!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

My family and I stayed at La Luna Guesthouse in October 2012 and it was like having our own home away from home in Florence!
The B&B is located just outside the crowed tourist areas, but it’s close enough to the city center that you can easily reach the heart of Florence by taking a short walk through pleasant streets lined with all kinds of lovely shops and amazing views. If you prefer to save your energy for shopping or exploring the incredible museums and galleries, the city bus stops just one block from the Luna Guesthouse, making it so easy to arrive anywhere you want go in the Florence area.

Riccardo, the owner of this clean, safe, quiet, spacious, and beautifully decorated B&B, was extremely welcoming and helpful in making our stay very comfortable and pleasant. (He is also very proficient speaking English, in case you don’t speak Italian.) I look forward to my next trip to Florence and I will definitely return to La Luna Guesthouse.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ma03042014e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

The host - Riccardo - was such a pleasure! When we arrived in Florence, he made my wife and I feel like we were visiting family! Riccardo is such a warm, genuine and helpful person and we couldn't have asked for more in a host. He is passionate about ensuring that his guests are comfortable, safe, and have a great time while staying in Florence. He took the time out to help us with reservations and advice for museums, great restaurants and things to do in Florence - he really anticipated our needs and was there for us. And he knows a ton about Italy, about culture and about Florence. And he's a lot of fun to chat with if you like to. His English is great and he even helped us learn a few phrases in Italian! I think he's one of the nicest people I've ever met!

Now for the location - it's perfect! It's close to the city centre, the Arno River and all the attractions, museums and restaurants - all walking distance. We could spend a few hours roaming around the city, then come back for a short rest and then go back out for round two. It was ideal! And there are lots of amenities and restaurants very close by - on the same street as La Luna.

And as for the rooms - perfect! Sparkling clean, romantic, beautiful artwork, comfortable and spacious. The best sleep we had in Italy. Actually, the best sleep we've had in a very long time! La Luna is truly a delight in Florence. And to top it all off, a great breakfast each morning - very fresh and tasty and kept us energized for the day.

We wish we stayed longer!! If we are in Florence again we hope we can stay at La Luna!

Room Tip: All the rooms looked nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean_Tdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Our group flew into Italy to do some cycling in Tuscany. We allowed several days to spend in Florence on our trip. Riccardo came highly recommended to us and since he has only 3- bedrooms/baths, we made our reservations early. The lovely frescos decorating the walls/ceilings plus the wonderfully central location make LaLuna Guest House one of the premier places to stay. Riccardo is a delightful young man and is extremely knowledgable about his city, from arranging reserve tickets to visit museums at the least crowded times (saving you time and money), exchange currency locations, making your reservations at the best restaurants and serving the included continental breakfast provided with your room. We will be back to stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms with airconditioning. Wonderfully clean. Well appointed. Loved the frescos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Il Grillo di Firenze
#23 of 659 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Dimora Bandinelli
#15 of 659 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
San Marco
Residenza Johanna I - Antiche Dimore Fiorentine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leone X Guest House
#28 of 659 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
1900 Artevita
#41 of 659 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
B&B Il Palagetto Guest House
#61 of 659 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Luna Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Luna Guest House

Property: La Luna Guest House
Address: Via del Ponte Alle Mosse 15, 50144, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Luna Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Luna Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing