We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“With that much butter, anything would taste good”
Review of Trattoria Sostanza

Trattoria Sostanza
Ranked #377 of 3,094 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Santa Maria Novella
Reviewed July 29, 2016

We visited Sostanza on a recommendation. The summary is:

- So much butter in each dish, it was overwhelming
- Dishes were very basic
- Main feature dish is chicken baked in butter - first bite tastes good, but so does KFC, or any other fried chicken. This is Italy, save the fried butter chicken for a fast food joint.
- Super packed and will have to share table with others.
- Service is ok, but very busy

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Cory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

214 - 218 of 1,279 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2016

We have been to similar restaurants where you are seated with other people at tables for six or eight and we enjoy that. You always meet interesting people and it adds to the experience of being away from home. Two seatings and a reservation is required - I recommend you have your hotel book for you. Appetizers came quickly and were fresh and delicious - meats and cheeses - incredible. Someone at our table shared a piece of their salami w/ fennel and it was fab! Wish we had ordered it. I had the highly recommended buttered chicken and it did not disappoint - ordered funghi on the side which was also delicious - my husband had a steak - excellent - our teenage daughters both had a pasta meal and thoroughly enjoyed. Extensive wine list. Staff friendly - clearly a family place, noticed lots of locals and regulars - always a good sign. We felt right at home and highly recommend dining here during your stay in Florence.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank K6014KCsusanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2016

The restaurant was a very small, typical trattoria in Florence. Very few tables so make a reservation. There were two dinner times available and we chose to come at 9:00 time slot. We were a party of 5 and were sat at a communal table with 2 others, which we did not mind. We shared several dishes on the menu, with the all stars being the Florentine steak and Butter Chicken. The pasta was a bit bland for my taste. The artichoke pie was also good, but nothing special. I enjoyed the experience at a traditional trattoria but do think the food was better elsewhere in Florence.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank smanni41390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2016 via mobile

I used to take there my best clients. In Florence Distanza is also known as "il troia" saying it nicely "the dirty" because the originale owner was also the Cook and used to greet clients with his dirty hands. The Fiorentina is just amazing: whike it is used served grilled outside and Pink in the middle, this one is just pink and so sweet and mealts in the mouth. I would order an artichoke omelette as starter. The omelette is made swiping the eggs right in the pan. I love meat and this place is something not to be missed. Reservation is almost mandatory. Credit cards are not accepted. Try!!!

Date of visit: September 2015
1  Thank Dariotrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2016 via mobile

This was a major surprise. It's a really small old fashioned restaurant. They only take cash. But the food is amazing. The butter chicken and floretine steak were incredible. Maybe some of the best menu items we had in a two week tour of Italy.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank 862wadew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Sostanza also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Trattoria Sostanza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing