We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of Trattoria Sostanza

Trattoria Sostanza
Ranked #148 of 2,751 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Santa Maria Novella
Edinburgh, UK
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was one of our favourite restaurants on our trip to Florence. The staff were very attentive, the food as lovely as all the reviews, the wine was lush but what won us over was the atmosphere. Very down-to-earth and very enjoyable.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank busastep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    657
    240
    90
    41
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My Go To Restaurant in Florence”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is the one restaurant I will definitely go to when I go to Florence. The owner, Maximillianus is the best. The must orders are the Florentine Steak, Butter Chicken (to die for), for those who enjoy it, Florentine Tripe, and the Meringue Cake for dessert. Their wine selection are limited, but priced fairly well. Make a reservation before hand because they are most likely always full for dinner. Expect to sit next to other people because it is quite small. I came here with my family along with a 2 year old and on a different occasion, with my wife and friends. We sat next to strangers and had a great meal and great discussions with people next to us. All of us had a great experience. If you're not looking for a traditional meal while sitting next to strangers then I would suggest not going here. For me, this restaurant is a truly wonderful experience one must not miss in Florence.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aldwin_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“So authentic, even the locals dine here”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

After trying sostanza's famous butter chicken and florentine steak, it's no wonder this place is so popular with the locals. We've visited Florence twice and dined here 3 times. The food is wonderful, and the staff are so friendly and welcoming.

Reservations are highly suggested for dinner since they only offer 2 seatings, and yes I have seen people turned away because they pop up between seatings. Reservations aren't necessary for lunch though, and they still offer their full menu during the day. Every time I've dined here, it has been a mix of locals and tourists, but I always love dining where the locals do, and the communal tables are a good way for you to rub elbows with them. They are super friendly!

Prices are reasonable and comparable to other places in Florence, but I think the quality and portions are better here. The chicken is €16, and the steak is €25 (€50/kg).

Tips: bring cash because they do not accept credit cards. There is an ATM 3 minutes away though. Make a dinner reservation- we've made same day reservations with no problem, so I don't think it's somewhere you have to reserve days in advance. When ordering the steak, you will not be asked how you'd like it cooked; it is cooked rare, as it is anywhere else in Florence. Trust them- they know what they're doing. Although I order my meat medium rare or medium wherever I dine, I would not insist that they cook it differently from how it is automatically prepared. It is so good and tender!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Florentine steak is a thing to behold ... we split a huge steak and a butter chicken ... and wow, just wow.... Not very expensive for the kind of meal we had... a bottle of wine and some bread... one of the best meals I have ever had ... Be warned ... you will most likely not get a seat without a reservation, esp during travel season

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Themanwith1i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“always a fun night!”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Great food - interesting people to meet and sit next to...and the wait staff and cooks are the best!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Sostanza also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Trattoria Sostanza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing